Futurism logo

what do you live for?

Do you live to dream, or do you live to live?

By BinWeiPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

On the way to live for life, if you do something for your dreams from time to time, you will feel that you are still a teenager. From the age of three or five, when people ask me what I want to do when I grow up, I always tell them firmly that I want to be a scientist. How cool is it to explore the unknown mysteries of the world and promote the development of society. In the primary school selection test, my grades were not very good at that time. Under the encouragement of my classmates, I applied for a particularly good junior high school in the district. The test questions are not easy for me, there are still a lot of empty spaces after I finish them, I don’t know where the chivalrous spirit comes out, and I feel that I must not give up until the end, so I start to look at the questions that I haven’t done yet, and see the additional questions. When I was looking for the law in the question, I suddenly remembered a word called "scientific law". I felt that I couldn't find the law of elementary school. How to find the law of the world? So, before closing the paper, I made all the questions that were looking for regularity, and was successfully admitted with a score that exceeded the admission line by 1 point. There were only 2 people admitted to this junior high school in our school that year. In the second year of junior high, we began to study physics. For the first time, we were able to work hard for our dreams so clearly that we did our best (there are science classes in elementary schools, but the science teachers and physical education teachers are always sick together, and the knowledge of physics, chemistry and biology is pitiful). ). I also don’t understand why I’m so obsessed with an illusory scientific research dream when I always do things for three minutes. This scientific research dream really helped me overcome all the difficulties in the process of physics learning. He developed an unparalleled interest in the school, and by the way maintained the first grade in the grade for 5 years. I always thought that when I went to university, I would naturally study an astrophysics-related major, so that the knowledge I accumulated in middle school would be sublimated, and then I would use them to go very high and far in my favorite field. It's a pity that when it was time to fill in the volunteers, the seven aunts and eight aunts all came out and told me with countless examples that are not true or false, that doing scientific research is starving to death, studying law is good, and studying economics is good. Study medicine well... Almost all the majors that I have heard and have not heard of have been recommended again, that is, there is no astronomy, no philosophy, no theoretical physics... There is no major that I like. After all, people can’t stop eating, and children can’t resist “experienced” adults. In a daze, I applied for a lot of “rich” majors, and because of everyone’s idea of ​​“jumping and picking peaches”, I I was admitted to a pure liberal arts college with an average admission score higher than the college entrance examination score, and was transferred to an unpopular major. There is no way, after all, I still need that diploma to make a living, and I can only stumble forward in a field that I am not good at at all. Later, I found that this major actually promotes the healthy development of society from another angle that I never thought of. Gradually calm down. If it is said that the ideal is in the starry sky, the major of the university is to be based on the land. When looking up at the starry sky, there must be a foothold. It's just that I occasionally go to the bookstore and see those books in the popular science position, and I can't help but buy a copy. Occasionally I see news related to the original dream on the Internet and I can't help but pay attention. Occasionally I hear about the family and friends. When the children of 100% earnestly describe their dreams and describe the future, they cannot help but guide them in the direction of guarding their ideals.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.