Futurism logo

We Have This VR Tech!

Kai's Journal

By James "Vilay" MongkhonvilayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

A long time ago the civilization from before used so many great things to make their lives much easier. Elder Zue told me that they had everything. Robots that are way better than the ones we find. Computers that could cure diseases. Cars that could fly or go underwater. She says it was an amazing time.

My tribe is a scavenger tribe. We go out and search for parts to old machines and computers to trade for supplies and weapons. A lot of the technology we find we keep so we can learn about the past. Even though I'm a kid the Elders and even Chief Onwai think I'm pretty smart for my age. I learned so much so quickly on old com devices and computers but my favorite is virtual reality.

Virtual Reality was really big back then. People could go anywhere in the world or to other worlds just from their homes. Entire classrooms of kids could take trips to old places to learn about what they were studying. We found an old VR unit from one of those times and some of us got to see an old place called Egypt. There were these giant triangle things called pyramids I think. It was so cool! I got to see another place called Paris. There is this giant tower there, or at least there used to be. People spoke a very different language but it sounded really nice.

Lawan and I use these goggles called AR goggles. It's kind of different from VR but it makes these hologram things around you instead of putting you in a different place. The goggles are not as heavy and much smaller. She likes to play this Ping Pong game with me when we put the goggles on. She calls it AR Pong or something like that. The goggles can also help us repair certain machines if the AI system in the goggles can read things right. Lawan thinks these things we find are filled with magic. I don't know. Maybe they are. I don't know.

Lawan gives me a hard time for drawing in a sketchbook. She says we have plenty of devices to take photos but then she says she likes my drawings. I wish she would make up her mind. I just like sketching what I see. Elder Zue says art is the oldest form of talking to each other. Who knows maybe someday someone will find these and show them to people. That would be awesome!

I saw a video of a man using one of those suits and a VR unit controlling a machine from his home. The robot was at a different place but he made a living doing this every day. We found some similar tech and some of the guards and warriors control these drones kind of in the same way. One of the guards found a robot that could shoot and fight but it only worked for a few days before it shut down. We ended up taking it apart for the parts. I wish it had lasted longer it was a really cool robot.

The Elders told us stories of how the civilization from before used this technology to have fun and work but they also went to war with it. We saw more images of people fighting in these scary battles from a safe place. It must have been nice to have robots fighting your battles for you. I wish we had more technology like this now. I feel so bad and scared for the warriors and scavengers who go out into the Punished Lands.

I heard there was a horrible sickness a long time ago. Called a pandemic. People were scared and didn't know what to do. They were stuck inside most of the time and too scared to go out. Somehow they made better technology and were able to make better ways of talking and seeing each other without going anywhere. After that they were seeing and feeling things that seemed real. People could be so close to each other even if they were far away. They could go anywhere and do almost anything.

Maybe this technology is made with magic. I hope we find more. I want to see and visit more places. I want to see a deer or a tiger. It would be awesome to see a Dinosaur! To pet a Dinosaur! I guess those beasts lived a long long time ago. Way before people were around. What a crazy cool time that must have been. It's sad that the civilization from before was destroyed. They built so many awesome things. I still can't figure out why the Gods were angry with them. Well I better go play AR Pong with Lawan. She's been waiting for a while and I hate it when she's angry with me. I can't wait to see what we find next so I can draw and write about it!

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

James "Vilay" Mongkhonvilay

I'm an illustrator, graphic designer, and filmmaker who loves to tell stories through a variety of media.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.