Futurism logo

Un Tempo Senza Fine

A Land Without Time

By Nathan ZellmerPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Un Tempo Senza Fine
Photo by Fidel Fernando on Unsplash

Chapter 1: Where it starts

*News reporter* “So I guess you all have been through quite a lot, haven't you?”

“ Um, yeah… It wasn't all bad but, it was a lot more than we bargained for.”

*News reporter* “Well, why don't you tell us, the world, how it started?”

“Um, alright. From the beginning? We will be here for awhile”

“It all started when me and my group of friends decided to sign up for the ‘Game of a lifetime’”

“This is so sick guys! Look at this new game! They’re saying it's like.. Fully submersive. Full dive!” My friend Noah explained with excitement. It was pretty crazy, the idea of a game that took you into another world. We all were really excited to try but, well, I'm getting ahead of myself a little.

The day we signed up we weren't sure we would make it in. The line was out the door and around the building. But then again we were entering the contest to get free copies so we figured it would work.

*news reporter* “And how many friends did you have with you?” “Oh um.. We had Noah, Andy, Zach, Sam, and Justin..” *news reporter* “and yourself.” “Yeah. But that’s a given, right?”

Anyways, we were all there in line, It was insanely hot but we weren't about to miss the chance, you know?

“Guys, look at these. There's a bunch of pictures that just got released from the game.” Andy said. Everybody was wide eyed when we looked at the pictures, it was like a… a hybrid of our world. Green grass and trees everywhere, two suns beating down on the character in the picture, grass up to his knees, with a horse beside him. “It looks medieval, I bet it will be medieval!” Noah said with excitement as both Sam and I’s eyes lit up. The thing was, when it came to games, we loved medieval games because they always were fun to roleplay in. It was easy to make yourself like someone else, a new face and new backstory.

We finally got into the store and put our names on the list. We knew full well that we probably wouldn't get into the game but, it was well worth even a small chance. We got to watch a short clip of footage from the game. Might not have been worth waiting in line all day for most people, only to see a five minute clip. It was worth it to us though.

We watched with eager eyes as the clip came around to start its next loop, It was an aerial shot of the landscape with a voiceover. “Long awaited was your arrival, warriors of the new age! I, your King, have commissioned you to fight for me!” And it switched to a scene of a castle, old and worn down with noises of fighting inside. It zoomed into a training ground, men sparing one another. “If you can fight for me, i will reward you handsomely.” the King's voice continued. And then it just showed some aspects of the game, like riding horses and training animals.

“Whoa guys! This is so sick!! I’m never going to want to go to work after this!” Noah said, his voice bristling with excitement.

“It was funny really, Seeing him get so excited over a video game. Then again i was really excited too.”

*news reporter* “It seems you weren't the only one, hundreds of people bought that game and ended up paying more than they bargained for. I guess this is why we should all read the terms and conditions in the fine print!”

“Yea, I supposed I should have.”

Chapter 2: “Welcome to ‘Un tempo senza fine’, A Time Without End”

*news reporter* “So how did it feel, when you woke up that day?” “It was weird. I didn't know where I was, Or why I felt so alive. We were all instructed to have the gear that came with the game close to us all the time. ‘When it goes live you don't want to miss out’ Or some crap like that.” *news reporter* “Yes, they worked it out well, didn't they?”

When I woke up the sun was bursting through small cracks in between the shack’s wooden structure. I woke up on a bed made of straw, dust glowing as it hung in the air, it.. Well it was honestly pretty magical. I remember thinking, “Wow… where am i?” I scrambled to get up, throwing off some rough sheets and standing. I was in some white loose white pants held up by twine. I looked at my body and my surroundings were astonished. Then I heard a call “Hey kid, time to get up. We’ve got work to do. And the door opened. It was like time slowed down, a stranger entered the room, and I heard a woman's voice. “Welcome to ‘Un tempo senza fine’, A Time Without End, Today we begin your tutorial.” Then it all clicked. I had been brought into the game. I didn't really remember how it happened. I just knew it must have. “We see you've already learned motary functions, but just for good measure, try to stretch out a little, jump up and down.” So I did what she asked, I touched my toes, and then jumped as high as I could. When my feet hit the ground I had a thought, “It feels so real, the broken wood under my feet feels like I'll get splinters.” “

“Alright, look around. Should you choose to live here, this will be your room.” And I looked around. It was merely a small twin sized straw bed, a bedside table, and nothing else. No windows, just a small slab of wood that acted as the door, barely hanging on by two strings.

It was evident however i had spawned in, i wasn't rich, in fact i was probably pretty dang poor. But I figured at least I had a house. Should i choose to live there of course.

“Should I choose to live here? What does that mean?” I asked, knowing that it was the tutorial so i wouldn't get an answer. “Yes, should you choose it. You can live on the street or a brothel if you'd prefer.” The woman's voice responded

“Wait! You can hear me? What kind of tutorial is this?” I asked.

“Yes, I can hear you. I am the system AI tutorial version, I am here to teach you about the game and your options.” She responded.

This alone set the game apart from other games, I was really excited. “Okay, what next tutorial woman?” I asked.

“Well, now that you've learned to move, why don't we let you roleplay a little? What's your name, gamer?” She asked. “Does it have to be my real name? Or an in-game name?” I retorted.

“Either is fine, but it will be what others refer to you as.” She answered.

And after I thought about it for awhile I answered “Let's try Merek. I like that name.”

“Alright Merek, welcome. Remember, if you don’t roleplay your access to the game will be terminated.”

“What? Seriously?” I asked in disbelief.

“Yes, we are a ‘hardcore roleplay’ game. If you can't roleplay to our standards your access will be terminated. It is also twenty four seven, there is no breaking character.”

“I remember being so taken back by the strict rules. It made me even more excited to play though.” *News reporter* “I’m sure, they advertised premium content. And they wanted to keep it that way.”

“Are you ready Merek? Can we start your trial scenario?” The tutorial AI asked. “I guess I'll give it my best go”

Then time started to move again, the stranger walked through the door. It was an older guy, hair starting to grey. He was built, but not incredibly fit. Like an average working class man. He smiled at me when he walked in. “Alright brother, you ready?” He asked.

“Yea, well.. Let me get dressed first. But then for sure.” I responded. He smiled and then turned and walked out of the room.

I looked around again for a new set of clothes, but then he called to me from the other room. “Hey, I forgot, I got you some new clothes. Come try them on!”

So I walked out the door, just like my room it was a shabby place. The front door hung open letting light into the poorly lit house, the main room had a dirt floor with a small dining table in the center of the room, two chairs. He stood waiting for me by a pile of clothes, Slightly hunched over because of the low hanging ceiling.

“Here” He pointed at the clothes.

I walked over to start putting and threw on the shirt first, it was just like putting on real clothes, it was crazy. I could feel the roughness of the fabric, it fit really loose but who could complain?

I started taking off my pants but then the stranger turned away “Really? Don't strip right in front of me!” He said as I realised I wasnt role playing well.

“Why are you taking off your underwear anyways?! Just put them on, let's go!” He said as he turned back around.

“Right, sorry, I just.. They are getting pretty dirty.” I said, trying to cover my mistake.

Time slowed again and I heard the woman's voice. “You'll notice the AI in this game will adapt and react with appropriate responses. Things like affection, anger, even love in some cases.” She said as I looked around.

“Really? How advanced is this game?” I asked as I pulled the pants on while the stranger was still frozen in time, back half turned. “Very advanced.” The woman answered as time began to move again.

The stranger finished turning around and his eyes widened as he saw me fully dressed. “Whoa, i've never seen you so lively in the morning, how'd you get dressed so fast?” He said as he raised his eyebrow.

“Just ready to get going” I said as I slipped on the ragged boots sitting where the pile of clothes was.

“Alright then, tuck in your shirt. Who knows, there may be a pretty lady waiting out for you in town!” He said as we started walking to the door.

“To town then. This is going to be fun”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Zellmer

I never thought myself very creative until I let some friends read the book I have been writing on and off for years. I saw vocal and thought I might as well give it a shot and see if the book would capture any interest!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.