Futurism logo

The Travels of Draconis Teine Part 3

What Should I do?

By Fire Dragon LitPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

During the walk to Lughvard’s home, he told me how I could make my repayment to him. He ran the orchard we were walking through. His orchard grew pluemin, the funny looking pear shaped fruit. He warned me not to eat the fruit from the tree because he would know, and then went on how to identify a ripe piece. He said I was going to be helping his employees harvest among other things he expected me to do.

I listened, still ruminating over my current predicament. It was a constant, “where am I”, “what am I doing here”, “how did I get here” type of thinking. Not that I could do anything about it.

“Draconis,” Lughvard’s rumbling voice snapped me out of my thoughts. “Are you listening?”

What a question, I thought. “Of course.”

Lughvard laughed, “Then how many trees do I have?”

I cursed myself. “Uh. Sorry. My brain was distracted.”

“Thirty. No matter. What I really need you to remember is to be respectful to my wife. I know you have memory problems with whatever happened to you, but I imagine you can still be respectful.”

Memory problems? More like not knowing where the fuck I am. He had a point though. I could still be respectful, so I agreed.

A stable and barn came into view first. On the other side stood the house. It wasn’t anything extravagant. It was a simple one story house, though taller with what appeared to be only a couple rooms. Lughvard led the way entering the house first.

I’ll admit I didn’t know what I was expecting Lughvard’s wife to look like, but it wasn’t how she actually was. Perhaps it was my mind projecting what I was used to seeing. Instead I found a woman about the same height as Lughvard and nearly as hairy if not as dense. She was neither fat nor skinny and very shapely. I definitely gave Lughvard my respect for choosing her despite all the hair. Lughvard was starting to speak so I turned my attention away from my assessment of his wife.

“This man had some sort of accident in our orchard and is having memory problems. He doesn't know where he is. He did remember his name. This is Draconis. Draconis this is my wife Adanu.

I attempted to be as respectful as I could think of so I bowed before her, “It’s a pleasure to meet you m’lady.”

Yes it was over the top but it deserved the laughter I received from her.

Adanu was still chuckling when she spoke, “You’re right. He had to have hit his head or something. Or it's more of the weird behavior of humans.”

Lughvard laughed with her. Despite the teasing they had food for me to eat and Adanu was able to alter some clothes for me. Through the even meal Lughvard and Adanu explained things attempting to spark some form of memory from me not that there was any to spark.

Overall it was a pleasant evening then they went and fucked it up. It was those damn pluemin. They brought out a bowl of them and each took one before offering me one.

I like fruit. Always been a fan of nearly all of them. As I said these looked like pears but tasted nothing like them. They were as juicy as a peach and the taste was indescribable. I bit into it and couldn’t stop. It was intoxicating.

Once I was finished with that one they happily offered me another. It was after the second bite that it hit me. Literally hit me. These damn things are literally intoxicating.

It came as a head rush. The world was spinning. I do remember hearing the pair chuckling. I can’t really describe how I felt. I’ve drank before and had smoked weed before. This sat somewhere in the realm of both at the same time.

I can’t even remember if I finished that second pluemin. What I do know is I have no recollection of what happened later except I eventually blacked out and all thoughts of trying to figure out what to do were swept away.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Fire Dragon Lit

I enjoy reading and I'm constantly attempting to write. The problem is the completion. Can't seem to find it. I hope to use Vocal as a journey to completing a piece of work. Thanks for your time and I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.