Futurism logo

The Problem of the Lurking Pelican

Chapter 3

By Elsa RussoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I had eaten well. I had a glass of milk with dinner. I was now sipping whiskey in between applying glue to the ragged edges of porcelain before me. I had nearly reconstructed the head.

Tadpole had decided to roost on a shelf above my desk. Sitting on my shoulder he was too close to the glue fumes and it was giving him a headache. On the shelf, he scratched at a book until it was dislodged from its place between two other books. The book fell on its front cover. He diligently nosed at the edge of the book until I reached up and flipped the book open.

"Thanks," he said with a slight grumble. Then flipped the book open to where he had left off last night.

I sipped my whiskey and placed another piece on my wounded unicorn's neck.

I don't know how long he had been there. But I finally looked to the window and saw a pelican staring at me through the window. He was staring at me. I could swear he was staring straight at me with the fiercest scowl.

"How long has he been there?"

Tadpole turned and almost fell off the shelf. He was startled. "What the hell is he doing here?"

"Friend of yours?"

"No, not that one anyway."

"Enemy then?"

"No! I have never seen this pelican in my life. I have no idea why it is staring at you so intensely."

"Should I see what it wants?"

"He looks like he might snap your arm just as soon as look at you."

"I had considered that. And yet, I'm not sure how we will get him to go away unless we try to communicate with it."

"If he does hurt, I won't help you."

"I am uncertain as to how you, a hedgehog, would be able to face down a pelican. He is literally five times bigger than you."

"Sometimes I think you remember me gor what I was and not what I am."

I pressed my lips together. I stood. "That was unfair." I stepped away from my desk and walked to the front door. I could hear the wet slap of webbed feet on the muddy ground outside. So it was no surprise that the pelican was now standing directly outside my door. He pulled himself up to full height as i turned the knob.

"Can I help you?" I asked calmly.

He looked me up and down. Then spat out a box on my doorstep. I was a red box with silver overlay. I thought it looked familiar.

"This is for me?"

The pelican nodded.

I bit my lip trying to think of something to give him in return.

"Pelicans like fish!" shouted Tadpole from the library.

"Should I feed him you then my dear TADPOLE?"

"Your humor is not appreciated!"

I reached for the box on the floor.

The pelican nipped at my thumb.

I pulled back quickly. "I know, I agree. You deserve something nice for bringing this to me. Give me just a second."

I walked to my fridge. I had forgotten the leftover salmon I had from the night before. I extracted it from the dish and walked back to the door. I held up the half fillet.

The pelican raised its bill and shifted from foot to foot in excitement.

I tossed the bit of fish which he caught handily in his bill.

He swallowed, flapped his wings, then turned around and waddled away.

I picked up the box and shut the door. Despite being transported in a pelican's mouth, it was remarkably dry and free of any fishy smell. I walked back into the library with it.

"Pelicans bearing gifts?" said Tadpole laying eyes on the box. "There must be some kind of saying about that."

"I'm sure I've seen this box before." I set it down on the desk next to the black velvet square and my busted unicorn.

------------------

Thank you for reading! If you're feeling generous, please leave a tip! If you are unable, please do share with those who love weird stories!

literature

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elsa RussoWritten by Elsa Russo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.