Futurism logo

The Plight of the Virgo

The Unwanted Zodiac Sign

By Christina BlanchettePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
The Plight of the Virgo
Photo by Vincent Ledvina on Unsplash

I'm a What?

When I was two years old my aunt gave me a stuffed lion. He quickly became my favourite toy and I took him everywhere (I named him Daniel, that's a whole other story). That lion led to more lions and was the start of a collector's obsession. I was ten years old when Disney released the Lion King in 1994 - my fate was sealed. It was lion everything after that.

I first heard about astrology in my early teens. My friends had gotten their hands on a Cosmo and we were reading our horoscopes. "Your birthday's in August, so that makes you a Leo!" one friend said to me. A Leo, I thought to myself, that's just perfect! That explains so much! "Oh wait... your birthday is August 27th, that means that you're actually a Virgo," she adds. "What's a Virgo?" I ask, I am already unhappy to have Leo taken away so abruptly, can it get worse? "Oh. My. God. Virgo's a virgin! You're a virgin!!" hysterical teenage girl laughter rings out as I turn bright red and try to implode from embarrassment.

Great. So not only am I not a Leo, the triumphant, magnificent, amazing lion sign, but I am instead a Virgo, the beautiful, nubile virgin. That's not going to make a good tattoo.

Could I be a Leo?

By Glen Carrie on Unsplash

If we go straight to the source, horoscope.com, a Leo is dramatic, outgoing, fiery and self-assured. I, quite frankly, am none of those things. I would like to be, who wouldn't want to live life with more confidence and be outgoing? I have certainly tried it. I've traveled all over the world, made friends with strangers, done adrenaline-filled activities that terrified me and volunteered to coach a volleyball team. Guys. Being outgoing is simply exhausting, I don't have time to be dramatic on top of it!

If I tried to describe myself as 'fiery' anyone who has ever met me would probably pee their pants from laughing so hard. I am easy-going and even-tempered. Not that I don't get angry, just that if I do it's because it's taken a lot for me to get to that point. The same goes for any extreme emotion. As a child, I would politely tell people 'thank you' when I received a gift. I have so many memories of my mother telling me to act more excited - I was excited, and happy, and I said thank you, but I didn't jump up and down and bounce off the walls. So no, fiery is just not me.

Am I a Typical Virgo?

Designed by vectorstock (Image #112098 at VectorStock.com)

Back to horoscope.com, Virgo's traits are practical, loyal, gentle and analytical. As much as I might hate to admit it, these traits are a lot more in line with my own personality. I am the kind of person who uses spreadsheets for everything, from meal planning and budgets, to summer holidays and pregnancies (yes, I had a spreadsheet for that. My husband and I do not talk about that one). If there is a more efficient way to do something, I will find it. One of the highlights of my 2020 was creating a garbage/recycling/compost area in the house that significantly reduced our household waste. Oh and did I mention that I'm an engineer? I think I have the practical and analytical traits covered.

What about loyal and gentle? These ones are trickier, I certainly want them to be a part of who I am, but I don't know if it's fair to say that they are core personality traits. I am not at all cruel and I make it a personal mission not to gossip about anyone. When it comes to loyalty, if you are part of my inner-circle, you can bet that you will be fiercely protected! I am certainly gentle when it comes to animals. My early years were spent on a farm, I tamed many a wild barn kitten in my day and cared for livestock and pets. The loyal and gentle traits are certainly aspects of a personality that I can strive towards.

What Now?

Did an accident of birth really change me from being a fiery, outgoing Leo into an analytical Virgo? If I had been born five days earlier, I would be a Leo. Would that really have been enough for me to be a wholly different person? Maybe! All I know for certain is that I read both the Leo and Virgo horoscopes because I'm still envious of the Leos out there. Oh, and I went ahead and got a lioness tattoo, regardless of my Zodiac plight!

astronomy
6

About the Creator

Christina Blanchette

Hello! My day job is spent working as an engineer, I am a mom of 6, avid reader and part-time creator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.