Futurism logo

The Other Side

War soldier

By Gsd Vibe Published 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Soldier sneaking into a military base at night 

The year is 2100. The world is a hellhole. The Third World War has ravaged the planet for 20 years, unleashing nuclear fire, biological plagues, and cyber terror. Billions of people are dead, and millions more are dying. The survivors live in fear and misery, under the tyranny of the Eurasian Alliance, a bloc of European and Asian countries that sought to conquer the world.

I am a soldier, one of the last rebels who resist their oppression. I belong to the United African Federation, a coalition of African nations that fought for their sovereignty and dignity. We were allies with the American Union, a federation of North and South American states that defended their freedom and democracy.

We fought bravely, but we failed. The Eurasians had the upper hand, with more resources, more technology, and more power. They launched a final assault that obliterated most of our bases and cities, forcing us to surrender. Now, we live under their occupation, exploited and enslaved by their brutal regime.

I am part of the resistance, a secret network of fighters who still hope to overthrow the Eurasians and restore our liberty. We operate in the shadows, sabotaging their facilities, assassinating their leaders, and spreading propaganda among the people. We are outnumbered, outgunned, and outmatched, but we are not afraid. We have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Today, I have a mission. I have to infiltrate a Eurasian military base and plant a bomb that will destroy their main communication tower. This will disrupt their command and control, and create an opportunity for a massive uprising. I have been planning this for months, gathering intelligence, acquiring weapons, and studying the layout of the base. I know it is a suicide mission, but I don't care. I am ready to die for my cause.

I sneak into the base at night, wearing a stolen uniform and a mask. I avoid the patrols and the cameras, using my skills and gadgets to evade detection. I reach the tower, where I find a guard standing outside. I shoot him with a silenced pistol and drag his body inside. I place the bomb at the base of the tower, setting the timer for 10 minutes. I then make my way out, hoping to escape before the explosion.

But as I reach the exit, I hear a voice behind me. "Stop right there, soldier." I turn around and see a Eurasian officer pointing a gun at me. He has a scar on his face and a badge on his chest. He is General Zhao, the commander of the base and one of the most wanted men by the resistance. He is also my brother.

We were separated when we were children, after our parents were killed in a raid. He was taken by the Eurasians and raised as one of them. He became a loyal soldier and a ruthless leader, rising through the ranks and earning their respect. I was rescued by the Africans and raised as one of them. I became a rebel and a hero, fighting for justice and freedom. We have not seen each other for decades, until now.

He recognizes me, despite my disguise. He lowers his gun and smiles. "Hello, brother," he says. "It's been a long time."

I stare at him, feeling a mix of emotions. Anger, hatred, sadness, and love. He is my enemy, but he is also my family. He is the reason why I fight, but he is also the reason why I live. He is the past, but he is also the future.

I have to make a choice. Do I kill him, or do I spare him? Do I complete my mission, or do I abort it? Do I end the war, or do I prolong it?

I look at him, and I make my decision.

I pull the trigger.

fact or fictionhumanityfuture
1

About the Creator

Gsd Vibe

creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.