Futurism logo

The Mystery of Dark

The True Mystery in the Web of Time (Major Spoilers)

By Katherine BullionPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dark is a complex German show produced by Netflix. It has many twists and turns but the biggest mystery is how Claudia's dog opened the doors. It's a tiny dog and those doors are hard to open. Who opened them for her? Did they open on their own? If that is so, then that opens new possibilities for the show. Are the doors sentient beings?

Don't even get me started on the first time the doors opened. Who opened them then? That's never explained at all. Maybe it was older Jonas. That seems like the most likely choice. Otherwise, there are no other explanations, unless older Claudia did it. It had to have been something. Unless the doors are sentient. Then again, that opens up new possibilities. It could get Jonas back home. Jonas and the doors may be linked. Everyone in the town of Winden could be linked to it—at least, all of the time travelers.

I think I'm getting ahead of myself here. Most people have never seen the show (which I highly recommend you do). While it's best to not know much about the show going in, I'll give a little detail, making sure not to spoil anything major.

There are doors in this cave that take people to different places. I can't specify what places, but the doors look pretty heavy. A dog could never open them alone. That's just not possible. And there are time travelers that are older versions of characters that have already been introduced. It's quite fascinating and I highly suggest that you check this show out. It's a thrill ride and just so good. I can't say enough about it. You'd just have to see for yourself. Also, it is in German so I suggest subs, not dubs (subtitles, not dubbing).

Anyway, there are some explanations to this unanswered question. Maybe older Jonas helped. Or Noah. Or older Claudia. That would make sense since it's Claudia's dog. Maybe it was the dog. Let me go a bit more in-depth.

Older Jonas would do it to follow the loop. He knows his mission and doesn't have a clue how to break the loop, so he might as well follow it. I don't think that goes with his character, but older Jonas's character was never explored to its full potential so you never know how time changed him.

Noah is a mysterious character so it's unclear why he would do this. Maybe it's a small part of his plan. But it doesn't seem like him and Claudia get along, especially since Claudia wants to take him down. She's warned Jonas and others about him multiple times. There must be a reason for that. And Noah must know about her by now. Overall, this theory doesn't seem that possible.

Older Claudia would have done it to give herself the dog back. Maybe she stumbled upon it and thought, "Hey, I'm gonna give myself a surprise. I deserve it with all the crap I've been through." Claudia seemed like the type of person to do that.

If it is the dog then the doors would have to be light. Jonas struggles to push them open and they also release a lot of wind when opened, so the dog must have some super strength or something for this theory to work. I highly doubt that theory but oh well.

There is one last theory that I've already stated. The doors opening by themselves is a weird concept for this show, but maybe not. The show has already done some pretty weird things so this could possibly fit right in.

Hopefully, in season two, they'll address these hard-hitting questions. I don't think they will because of the way season one ended, but you can only hope.

scifi tv
Like

About the Creator

Katherine Bullion

I write about TV and Movies or whatever I feel like. Most are set in humor so don't take most of my work too seriously.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.