Futurism logo

The Midnight Agency

Characters and Storyline

By Matthew AngeloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Midnight Agency

Characters and Storylines

It was 2009 when I first came up with the idea of a half-angel private investigator. I was stuck at the customer service desk while working at Kohls and had a notebook to keep me busy. This was when I figured I would write a novel. At this point, Laurel K. Hamilton and Charles de Lint were my go-to when it came to Urban Fantasy. I've always loved the supernatural and fantasy, so if a book involved dragons or creatures of the night, then I was in.

It took me a month to outline my first Midnight Agency book, A Slaughter of Angels. It took me another four years to write. Since then, it has been through a few revisions, add in a sequel and a couple of shorts stories, and I'm where I am now. While working on my next book, I thought it was time to stop and go over who these characters are that make up my Midnight Agency novels.

First, let's talk about The Midnight Agency in general.

The Midnight Agency was started by Rian MacCaren, the main character of the series. It is a private investigative company that handles the cases no one else can take. This means other PIs and cops due to most supernatural or unique situations. Cops can't prosecute a vampire they can't find, but a PI can take care of things a cop can't handle or legally able to do. The agency honestly makes up two people. Rian MacCaren and his secretary, Lana Cole, who also doubles as his legal counsel since she's also an attorney.

Rian MacCaren

When I wrote this character, I put a lot of my personality into him—even the looks with a few more aesthetically pleasing improvements. While he is sarcastic, or as a reviewer mentioned, an insufferable asshole, he does have some redeeming qualities. He's also a Nephilim or half-angel. The idea of angels and demons has always fascinated me. The urban fantasy genre doesn't have enough half-angels as the main character. My last name is Italian for angel, so that also had a lot to do with it. With all this in mind, Rian MacCaren was born.

Lana Cole

Lana is an attorney who doubles as Rian's office manager/secretary. She's also an atheist, which puts her in an odd position due to Rian's jobs. Because of this, she's practical and logically oriented. Picture Scully from X-files meets noir blonde bombshell from a Humphrey Bogart film. She's the kind of woman seen in a typical detective movie but updated to a more modern look and attitude. She's all business, but as things get weirder at the agency, she may loosen up a bit.

Other Characters will appear in the next blog, along with other fun stuff.

Raiza Malone

Axle Erickson

Madame Troja

The PMS

The Fallen

How powerful is Rian, and where are his wings?

The books and stories in order:

Entertaining Angels (Short story – Christmas themed)

A Slaughter of Angels (Prequel – Novella)

Fake Angels (Transition story – Novelette)

Heaven's Prisoners (Book 1 – Novella)

All my Midnight Agency books will be relatively short, around novella-size. For some reason, my attention span isn't strong enough to write longer stories. I want to write more, but after a while, I come to realize it's never going to happen. At least not now. I may be intimidated by the time it'll take to write a longer story. Not sure. While this blog wasn't the most exciting to read, I'll try something a lot more entertaining for the next one.

Here are some past blogs along with links to my books in case you're interested in them.

Sign up for my monthly newsletter!

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Angelo

I am a traditional and self-published author and content/copywriter. I write in many genres like fantasy, urban fantasy, horror, cyberpunk, grimdark, romance and science fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.