Futurism logo

The Marenghis cross the Mountains

Ma says surviving the winter is easy. As long as you stay away from the bad people...

By Ameya PhadkePublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

The Marenghi family sticks together, through thick and thin. Always have, always will. That’s what my Ma says. It’s a bullshit saying. I remember our family used to be much larger when I was a kid; I had uncles, aunts, cousins and grammies and we all used to live together and travel together. Back on the coast we used to go fishing with Uncle Terrence.

Uncle Terrence isn’t here with us today. He died in the crossing some months back. A lot of us did. But Aunt Giselle - Ma calls her a capital B sometimes - she up and left taking Little Clara , back to the coast. We used to play a lot together when I was a kid. I miss them. She used to say we’d never make it across. She wasn’t the only one. Uncle Tom and Aunt Prakrithi – they’re all gone now.

The world’s far from how it’s supposed to be, Ma says. She remembers the olden days, when we used to have electricity. Now, it’s just a scramble for food and water. That’s why we’re going west, across the mountains. There’s plenty of food on the Great Plains, enough for the whole family.

These days though, it’s just the four of us: Me, Grandpa Kim, Issy who’s five years younger, and Ma. Tonight, the storm won’t die down. Grandpa is shivering, even though we’ve given him most of the blankets. Me, Issy and Ma just cuddle up under one and that’s enough most times. Our house is not the best place to live in, but Ma says winters are most dangerous because of other people. She says desperation can make people do horrible things.

Ma made canned soup today on the portable stove. Usually, the cans are reserved for special occasions, but she says I won’t find any game this week. Issy is happy because she gets biscuits. Ma feeds Grandpa Kim the soup. We talk about moving to the plains when the winter dies down. Grandpa Kim doesn’t talk much. He barely moves from his corner these days.

There’s nothing to do while Ma is making food. The storm hasn’t slowed at all. But wait! There’s shapes moving outside. People! Two figures, large and small. They’re yelling out, but I can’t hear over the wind. I call out to Ma. “Get the gun, boy,” she says. She knows I’m good with the rifle. I practice every day. I can shoot the small cans on the far lists now.

Ma cracks open the doorway. I poke the barrel through the left window. The wind hits my face, and I have to squint so I can see the two figures. The tall one is walking funny through the snow, holding his left hand with his right. I don’t think either one could get the jump on Ma, but the smaller one looks fast.

The two stop by the house entrance. Ma is talking to them. The wind is loud, but I can hear snatches – “Please,” the tall one is saying. They want help. He coughs violently. Ma never refuses help, but something’s wrong. She’s not looking too happy. “How many?” I hear her ask. Five, the tall one says. He something around his neck – a necklace?. Ma waits in the doorway for the longest time. I have to look away because its getting too cold. I’m about to check back in when I hear their footsteps inside.

I stash the rifle away and run down to see the new people. An old man with a grey beard wearing a big grey coat, and a girl with black hair in a jumper that’s three sizes too big. The old man does not look too good: his skin is flaky and his eyes yellow. He’s cradling his left arm with his right. The girl drags her bag from the outside. A couple of boxes and sealed bags are spilling out. They warm up by the electric heater and settle in for some food. “Here, help me with the cans. Let’s get them some food.”

I open two more soup cans, and Ma helps the old man eat. They introduce themselves as Farhan and Noor. Both the newcomers are so tired they pass out instantly. “You’re on watch duty for tonight,” Ms says. “Are we having people come round? Should I get the gun?”

“No gun. Just keep watch and wake me if you see anything. Anything at all, you come straight to me, understand?” I nod. We started keeping night watches that day onwards. I never saw anything, but Ma insisted. Better to be safe. “Is someone after us? After them?” Ma does not say, but there is worry all over her face. She has started to take long walks when the weather clears. Scoping out the area, she says.

It is four days since Farhan and Noor joined us that Ma returns from her early morning walks. “Better pack up quick, children. We’re moving out.” I have a million questions. Going where? What did she see out there? She doesn’t stop to answer, so I hurry about stashing the food into our packs, folding up the portable stove and grabbing the rifle. In little over an hour, we are ready to go. “There’s another house not five miles from here. It’s in a better spot on a hill, so we can watch who approaches. Its warmer too, and big! Like those mansions you used to read about.”

“Yay, mansion!” Issy chimes. Issy is always excited.

I am worried about Grandpa Kim. He and the old man Farhan are too weak for hiking over snow. Farhan speaks to the girl Noor in a language I cannot understand. Noor is clearly upset. She must be two, three years older than me. What could possibly be wrong? Under Ma’s direction, we begin the long march to our new home. Our pace is slow so that Grandpa and Farhan can keep up. Ma gives me the rifle and tells me to keep walking ahead while she helps them. It’s like an expedition, from Verne! But mine goes wrong immediately when I hear a cry from the back.

The Marenghis are used to hard travel, but the ice is slick, and the snow can be deceiving. As soon as I heard it I rushed back – A trail of blood leading down a snowy bank. Grandpa Kim is at the bottom. Ma rushes to his side – Grandpa yells out in pain every time she tries to dig him out. I hear Farhan saying something to Noor. He reaches for his necklace – no it’s a locket. I dash down to help them, but Ma just turns away. “Give me the gun, boy. I’ll, I’ll make sure Grandpa gets out.” She smiles, but I know something is wrong. “Go! Take them. They’re your responsibility, understand? We’ll be right behind you.” She kisses my cheek. She only does that when she wants me to be brave.

I give her the rifle and climb back up. “Come on, Issy, we’re going to look for biscuits in the new house.” Issy jumps with excitement, and we resume our march. By the time we reach, the sun has already set.

With Noor’s help, we take a good look. There’s no one here. I get the fireplace going and open a can of beans for everyone. Ma and Grandpa still aren’t back. Farhan looks at me sadly and assures they’ll be here. Everyone else sleeps while I wait. It’s midnight before she returns. Alone. She kisses me and goes straight to sleep.

The new house is both better and worse than the old one. There’s so much space we don’t have to worry about the cold. Issy is going crazy running up and down to all corners of the house. But now, Ma tells me we must be even more careful. Farhan says its closer to an old mining town – there are people nearby. The Marenghis stay away from them. That night, Farhan starts screaming in pain – his arm has gone untreated, Ma says. He needs medicine, or he will slowly die. She announces that she is planning to go to the town to get supplies.

That night, I spot a shadow lurking about near the fences. It’s barely visible in the dark; but after I rub my eyes and squint its unmistakable – two arms, two legs and a head. They’ve followed us here. Ma is not happy to hear the news. She said nothing, but I know she has taken the small revolver out of the bags. Noor is being kept inside the house now. Farhan too, but his condition is so bad he can no longer stand up. He keeps touching his locket. It’s heart shaped.

The days pass slowly. Game is rare here. We need to go scavenging, but Ma doesn’t let us. She takes long walks every day – scoping the neighborhood, she says. I know the rations will not last. We need to do something.

One morning Ma pulls me aside. She’s all packed up in her thickest coat. “I’m going out for a while. We need food, and medicine for Farhan. Without it, I don’t think he has the strength…”

“But what about the people, Ma? We’ve been keeping watch the whole week. What if they’re out there?”

Ma smiled and ruffled my hair. “We didn’t see any signs since, did we? Perhaps they’ve moved on. Besides, I’ll be careful. You know I will.” She pats her coat – the revolver. “But it might be that I won’t return tonight. Nor even tomorrow. Till then, take care of everyone. keep an eye on Issy, don’t let her out of your sight, you hear?” She kisses my cheek. “Be safe.”

And just like that, she’s gone, walking out into the snow.

She does not come back at night. Nor the second. Not even the third. This is very worrying. What if she’s lost out there? What if the bad people got her?

Every day, I sit looking out, waiting for her to come back. Every night, I keep watch hoping to see something. Today, Noor said she isn’t coming back, and I hit her. She hit me back. This continued until Issy stopped us – she was screaming her head off. Fighting makes her upset. Farhan can barely open his eyes. His wound is smelling awful. We are the Marenghis, we are tough people. But without Ma, I don’t know what to do.

Farhan does not wake up one morning, two days since Noor and I fought. His skin feels cold to the touch. Issy does not understand. Noor becomes very angry, and she starts blaming me, Ma and everyone, even Issy! I know she’s just upset, so I say nothing. After she calms down, she says to me she wants to bury him. We drag Farhan to the backyard and shovel to three feet of snow. Before we can put him in the hole we’ve dug, Noor takes his heart-locket. She is very quiet that night. I know now - quiet is bad.

My fears are realized when I wake up next morning – Noor is gone. Luckily, the rifle is still here. I rush outside; her footprints are deep. The falling snow hasn’t covered them up yet. The Marenghi family sticks together, that’s what Ma says. I rush back inside and grab Issy and the rifle. “It’s hide and seek,” I tell her. “We have to find Noor. But you have to be real quiet, understand?” Issy nods. She’s a good girl.

We follow the footprints deep into the woods. She must be heading to the town. I am wondering how far she is when I stumble upon her, and a man. She’s on the ground and he’s standing over her; he’s got a knife.

When I realize he hasn’t seen me yet, I ready my rifle. Aim down the sights. Steady my breath. Desperate people are dangerous, Ma says. I pull the trigger. The shot rings out, and misses completely. He bad man immediately crouches and looks where the bullet came from. I reload and try again – just as he spots me! This one clips his shoulder. He drops the knife. It happens in a flash.

Noor dashes forward, picks it up, and buries it deep in his chest. By the time I get to her, he’s dead. Noor drops the knife and rushes in for a hug. Food, she says. He was begging for food. We stand still for the longest time. “Let’s get back. Someone must’ve heard all that.” Noor nods. She's wearing the heart-locket; it is covered in blood. We march all the way back home. Nobody speaks. I keep looking back to see if anyone is following. No way to be sure - the shadows all jump out at me when I look away.

I half expect Ma to be waiting for us. She’s not here. Tonight, after everyone has rested, we will decide whether to stay here. The bad people will end up here soon enough; we need to get away. But I’m not too worried. It’s only a matter of time till we meet Ma again, I know it. Because the Marenghi family sticks together, through thick and thin. Always have, always will.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.