Futurism logo

The 13th Sign

Ophiuchus or Sagittarius

By Stephanie DownardPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

I’m completely aware that there are only 12 signs. I’m also no expert when it comes to all the Zodiac signs. With that being said I believe I’m a Ophiuchus and a Sagittarius.

Now if I were stay within the 12 signs I would be considered just a Sagittarius. I will admit I do have a lot of the same traits that go along with being a Sagittarius. Ophiuchus and Sagittarius do share some of the same traits as well. I won’t sit here and lie and say I’m all knowing of the sign Ophiuchus because I’m not. I will also note again it has yet to be added into the Zodiac signs. It may never be added, but here are some things I’ve read and came across so far.

Ophiuchus is the 13th Zodia sign.(just go with it) It was left out by the Babylonians because they wanted to follow the 12 calendar year. November 29th through December 17th could be considered a Ophiuchus. Fun fact about me is my birthday is December 12th. The Ophiuchus from what I’ve read is the only sign based on a real person Acient Egyptian Physician Imhotep. According to Greek mythology constellation Ophiuchus is the Serpent Bearer. Who represents the god of medicine Asclepius. Asclepius the son of Apollo was taught by Chiron (the centaur) how to bring people back from the dead. Hades wasn’t a fan of this so he asked Zeus to kill the medicine god. Zeus did strike him dead, but put the figure of Asclepius in the sky to honor him. Hence the constellation in the sky. This is probably enough history of Ophiuchus. I don’t want to bore anyone so let’s move on.

These are some of the traits and what not that go along with Ophiuchus that I feel make me the person I am. One of the main ones is the master of procrastination. I’m most definitely that kind of person. If I can I will wait until almost the last minute to do anything. Like right now I should be giving my hobo children baths and folding all that lame laundry, but here I am putting it off as long as so I can write this. I also hate peopling. I’m super awkward at holding conversations and absolutely hate sharing my feelings so being an introvert seems very fitting. I love my alone time, when I can get it. They say Ophiuchus’s best traits are being passionate and smart. I can be very passionate about the things I love and the whole being smart thing I will say I’m probably not that brightest crayon in the box. The worst quality is jealously. Now I’m not going to go out and stab someone for talking to my fiancé but he’s off limits so don’t even think about it. Which brings me to that wild temper I try to keep at bay. I’m only going to act like a total psycho if it’s absolutely necessary, so please don’t make me.

I’m super curious about things. If there is that weird abandoned house or building you could almost guarantee I’m really interested about going inside. Then there is bravery. When it comes to the right situation you can almost bet I’m going to do whatever needs to be done. Like the time I punched a dude in the face when he walked into the bar, because he beat up on his girlfriend I was just talking to. I could go on with all the similarities I have in common with the Ophiuchus sign, but I kind of want to get into my Sagittarius traits.

I am very loyal and will fight along the side of you, or be there when you need me the most. Honesty is key right, so to be honest (which i will be if I have to) if you have that big booger sticking out your nose I won’t hesitate to tell you. Being unique is also a trait I am proud to say I have. I wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t the weird and akward girl who loves being eccentric but also normalish if I have to be. Humor, who doesn’t like to laugh? It’s one of my favorite things and that’s why I love making someone laugh. Sarcastic humor is one of best ways to crack myself up. You also can’t go wrong with a good dad joke.

Now for all the fun aspects of being a Sagittarius. I will note and this is probably pretty common for a lot of people. (I think) But when I’m drinking alcohol all those entertaining qualities come out.

I will be that spontaneous and outgoing person. Oh, you want to go get breakfast an hour away at 3 in the morning, let’s go honey. I’ll keep a conversation less awkward and we can move past the current weather conditions the day has brought. I’ll hang out with all those friends they say Sagittarius’s have and we almost always have the best time. The only down fall is that’s when the worst trait they say a Sagittarius has comes out. Carelessness, you know when you decide to steal a lawn gnome walking to the hospital because you just punched out a window and need stitches. Another side note this poor innocent window was not harmed out of anger and the gnome is alive and well today. I will add a lot of my crazy fun has been dialed down since I’ve had kids. So that carelessness is more of a I probably shouldn’t drink to much when I finally have a sitter or I’m going to feel like a bag of butts tomorrow. Having a hangover with kids I believe is it’s own special kind of punishment. I honestly would not recommend it to any one. But unfortunately I’m careless and drink that one to many anyway. I’m also optimistic so regardless that next day surly will be great.

You can think whatever you want and you don’t even have to agree with me. Because I’m also open minded. So I think I will keep on being a Sagittarius and a Ophiuchus. Try and stop me!

Lastly, in case you were wondering my kids are no longer hobos who need a bath. But as for the laundry we are currently not getting along. It needs to stay on the couch a few more days to think about what it’s done.

astronomy

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Stephanie DownardWritten by Stephanie Downard

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.