Futurism logo

Strands of Existence: Island Girl by Aino Lahteva

Book review

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is Strands of Existance: Island Girl about?

Strands of Existance: Island Girl is the first of a series of two fantasy books. It’s second book, Strands of Existence 2: Sea of Shadows is not out yet, but is availible to pre-order on Amazon Kindle. It’s due to be released in September 2021.

This book focuses on Istrae who is bethrothed to Cowe, but dreams of leaving her home island. She travels to Kerth, The City of Light and Abundance. The book becomes a journey of self-discovery and self reliance as she finds both her and the city broken and dirty. Memories are lost and new ones are gained when she meets Rime, an army captain. It’s a fun fantasy story set in a different world with elements of adventure, romance, lore, magic and religion.

The majority of ratings are between 4-5 sars which I think is a fair rating.

How I found out about Strands of Existance: Island Girl?

The author, Aino Lahteva found my review of Victoria Liiv’s book, Through Hell & High Water and sent me a copy of her book because she thought I might like it. I’m also reviewing books on Goodreads and posting them on Vocal as well. You can get this book on Amazon. It is availible for free for Kindle Unlimited members and Is also availible in Finnish as the author is from Finland.

Where did I get Strands of Existance: Island Girl from?

I recieved an ACR copy through email by the author. I would like to get this on paperback at some point. I love the cover and how the colours are similar to colours you’d see on a globe. It gives a lot of nice foreshadowing.

What did I like about Strands of Existance: Island Girl?

I liked how rich the novel was in characters and world-building. In particular, I loved Istrae. She was relatable, especially at the beginning when she’s trapped in a loveless engagement and she wants to go out and explore the world and it’s amazing wonders. It reminded me so much of a lot of my favourite characters like Disney’s Belle and Ariel. I love how she shines in the story as her own character. I felt as if I was standing next to her through the pages.

I also liked Rime. I think we got to know the world through him. I liked the dynamic between him as Istrae. I expected Kerth to be a tropical utopia state inspired by Celtic myths. I was pleasantly surprised how unique it was and how like our own world it is just as rigid with it’s complicated laws and lore.

Everything feels fleshed out and well developed. It’s a book I would be happy to read again.

What didn’t I like about Strands of Existance: Island Girl?

To be honest, I don’t think there was really anything I disliked or hated about this book. I enjoyed it from start to finish. I guess some of the dialogue and tone may seem off at times, but it’s because English is not the author’s first language and that’s already been mentioned by the author and other reviews. I didn’t actually think it was that bad, because it has been professionally edited. I think it makes the author’s efforts more commendable.

How did Strands of Existance: Island Girl make me feel?

I felt it was quite intense especially towards the last third of the book. I also liked how Rime’s absence forces great character development for Istrae and shows us how strong she can be. I believe Istrae is a strong example of female empowerment and how she gets lost in this new world, keeps her focus.

Would I reccomend Strands of Existance: Island Girl?

Yes, I would. If you enjoy tales of self discovery, imaginative fantasy and world-building. If you want to support indie authors and are looking for something fresh and exciting in the fantasy genre, I reccomend you give this book a try.

book review
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.