Futurism logo

Solitary Senses

Space and the discovery that you're the only one you know

By Emma MartinPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Solitary Senses
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

The stars twinkle, winking at me as our spaceship floats by. I gaze at the celestial creations surrounding us as they form constellations unseen. A trip to the moon on a Thursday... or is it Sunday? Who knows, time is different here. The soft echo of Jacob’s boots on the spaceship floor is calming, and I marvel at the concept of sound in space.

“Still glued to the window I see,” He smiles down at me, extending a hand to help me up. I gladly accept it.

“What else is there to do?” I joke with him. Seriously though, there is nothing to do. Mission to planet “Red” -aka Mars- the most boring mission in the history of NASA.

As Jacob explains the duties that accompany such a privileged mission, I notice that his echo is the same tone as his voice, but whenever I speak my echo sounds like it came from a completely different person.

“Maria…are you even listening?” He is standing in front of me with his arms crossed.

I utter the same response as I do every time I get this speech, “I promise I'll take this mission seriously. Thank you for guiding me in the right direction.”

Jacob uncrosses his arms and a pleasing smile replaces his fraternal frown. He walks off, but I resume stargazing.

Later that day- I think- I meet Jacob while he is getting the days rations out of the kitchen, and on the way to the astronaut living quarters I test my echo again. After a few words, and then a few phrases, I compare my speaking voice and my thinking voice; they're the same exact sound, but my echo is completely different. I hear Jacob singing while he opens the astronaut food. He misses a few notes, and his voice squeaks once or twice, but it doesn't sound bad. I laugh anyway.

"Ugh! Jacob, you're going to break the windows and kill us if you keep singing!" I laugh

as I enter the room. He flashes a genuine smile.

" Aw, c'mon!" He jokes, "I thought I sounded pretty good," he responds with a mock offense, pretending that my jest has cut him through the heart. Then it hits me. All of my ponderings, my wonderment with sound, every thought I have had since I noticed the echo, they all come together to form one conclusion; I am the only person alive that has heard my voice for how it truly sounds. No one will know my voice but for me.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.