Futurism logo

Small Town Luck

A story about being in the right place at the right time.

By B.P.HillPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Small Town Luck
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

He reminded me of Grandpa Joe from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the truth is, I had never given any thought to my zodiac sign until I met him. One winter evening, in December 2006, I was working as a waitress at a small diner in my home town. A man by the name of Gus had come to the restaurant and asked for the manager. I told him that the manager wasn’t in at the moment, but I offered to take a message. The word “quirky” came to my mind at the time as I studied this man and listened to his request. I’m a painter, an artist, he tells me and he asks if I think it would be okay that he paints a Christmas themed picture on the outside windows. Being from this small town, I recognise immediately Gus’s artwork from other businesses as he takes some pictures out to show me. I agree, knowing my manager would be okay with this, and the quirky man gets to work outside. He paints an absolutely beautiful winter scene on the window, complete with Santa, and his sleigh, the words “Merry Christmas,” in fancy handwriting. What intrigued me the most about this man was that he wanted to do it for free, (makes for good morale in the town and the kids like it, he tells me), and he did it in under 10 minutes. He comes inside, rubbing his hands together and blowing on them, and asks for some hot coffee. I bring him his well-deserved hot beverage, and our conversation eventually takes a turn towards Chinese zodiac signs. Do you know your sign, or anything about the signs at all, he asks me? I say no, I don’t know anything about my sign. He tells me that he has many talents but being able to guess one’s sign and information about them as a person, is another talent in addition to the painting. He offers to write up “my sign” and I simply shrug and say, “sure.” What do I really care and he seems like a nice man, probably just wanting to hang out and warm up a bit too I think to myself. He pulls out a notebook and begins to write, and I busy myself with my other tables.

The restaurant gets a “rush” and I find myself unable to make my way back to Gus's table. I notice at one point, he gets up and pours himself another coffee, waving a bit at me when I look over, as if to say, “I’ve got this, you’re busy.” He sits down and continues writing, big letters in all capitals, on plain white paper, no lines. At some point, when I look over after the rush to see how he is doing, he is gone. On his table, a few white papers, written on and folded in half, lay on the middle of the table, the salt shaker holding them down. I gather them and start to read, but noticing the length, decide I better clean and lock up. I’ll read this later.

Later at home, I pull out the folded white papers, sit down and begin to read.

To Whom it May Concern,

I didn’t get to know you long, but long it doesn’t take. I see attributes in you, the one front and centre being “adaptable.” You were quite happy to sit and talk with me, but as soon as that after dinner rush started, you put on a different hat. You adapted, you adjusted, and you demonstrated flexibility. During our conversation, you displayed a quick-wit, talking with your hands without realising, but you don’t even need to do that if you can help it, you’re very expressive just with your words. I get the sense that you’re very curious and that the world, and people in general, fascinate you. I bet you’ll worry one day about not being able to do all the things you want to do in this life, only because there isn’t enough time! You harbour two personalities in one; no one can ever be sure which one they will come face to face with. You don’t like being alone, and you get bored with routines. Don’t be afraid to venture out by yourself though, you don’t need a male anchor in tow! You’re a versatile, inquisitive, fun-loving sign, always up for adventure. You make friends easily, and usually with people who are completely different than you. You are known to root for the underdog, mostly because you come across as a bit of an underdog yourself. You are very social, the life of the party but sometimes you tend to make a sudden turn into the land of seriousness! This is your duel personality coming to the surface, fighting over which one takes the lead. You don’t have many weaknesses but one is that you get nervous easily, and this has a lot to do with your high energy levels and your need to feel accomplished. You can be a bit indecisive, only because there are so many things you want to do and it is difficult to narrow that impressive list down. You’re a Gemini; and a Gemini belongs to the element of air thus connecting to all areas of the mind. You are ruled by Mercury, the planet that represents communication, writing and movement. You would do well to become a writer, a lawyer, a teacher, or an athlete partaking in a team sport. Above all career-minded things though, people will feel honoured to have you as a friend, a true ally in their corner you are.

Take care, love yourself, live your life, and be you, Gemini!

Your friend and fellow Gemini,

Gus

I stare at the paper for a while. I almost feel a bit uncomfortable as I sit in deep thought, making connections between the scripture on the pages and my own life and experiences. I research “Gemini” dates and learn that people born between May 21 and June 20 are considered Geminis. I was born June 10. I think about the wording that he uses to describe me and I form relations between what Gus writes and what is actually going on in my life. It’s true, there are so many things I want to do; I was just talking about all of the places I want to travel, the novel I want to eventually write. I recently started at the University of Winnipeg in the integrated Bachelor of Arts and Education program. How did he manage to capture so many relevant truths when he only just met me? After this, I become fascinated with my sign. I try to learn more and more about it, and I learn that I was born year of the dragon. I sign up for daily Gemini horoscope emails and I read them each morning. At first, I thought that because I read the horoscope, I would purposely make connections between what was going on in my day and what I had read, essentially making the horoscope true. But I find now that the daily reading gives me clarity and perspective. My attributes and traits, my behaviours, reactions and thoughts, my life experiences, all now have a name and they fall under one umbrella term for me. Gemini.

I wish Gus had written down some contact information. How I’d love to discuss this with him again. The next winter, I no longer work at that diner but my family is still from the same small town and I frequent the town often. I see Gus’s art work in the windows of restaurants and other businesses, even at that diner that I worked at, and I always hoped to see him doing his paintings again. The next time I see Gus though, is three years later, in the paper when I read his obituary, detailing the full beautiful life that he lived. He was born June 11, 1964. A Gemini Dragon.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

B.P.Hill

Mother to two young beautiful boys, Teacher, Horse-back rider/trainer/coach, Aspiring Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.