Futurism logo

Scream

Scream again

By amcreativePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Scream
Photo by Daniel Olah on Unsplash

Scream

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. The door slammed shut preventing the ball of fire, and ice from exploding in infinite directions. Staring ahead, eyes bulging for the camera wasn’t at the best angle of a yet, epithetic beginning. Lungs emptied, eyes bulging hardly the best take in the movie: if it were that? It was not. I guess I had left the safety of the container of the opening chamber to descend to the surface of this planet.

Disoriented, unaware of where my feet were. having come out of the cryogenic chambers way too quickly. They felt big and dumb, incapable of feeling where the metal beneath was cold, and tinny sounding much like when you have a mouthful of anesthetic and you can't feel where your teeth or mouth are and, are barely able to swallow. You feel vulnerable and pretty is not a word I would use right now.

It felt as if you should have a camera crew right there at this tumultuous moment of time yet most actors would cringe at that happening when in a state such as this. Every part of your being wants to scream. You imagine you are vacuuming and you had not quite managed to vacuum the dust from every centimetre of your surroundings before the hot date turned up.

Yet, it isn’t that, either is it? You are placing your numbed disassociated foot on the surface of a new planet. You are not sure which planet as you won this journey in a competition just before your home planet was demolished for a hyperspace bypass. Oh, wait that was another story. Your mouth was dry beyond imagining. No straws were allowed, and all the water had disappeared. Being parched wasn’t enough to describe the hell that beset our end. Yet, here you are, another movie.

These dreams were getting repetitive in their expression and scale. Was it a comet screeching across the plane of the horizon of the planet that you happen to escape? It seems that after being in cryogenics for this indefinite crossing of space you really can't recall how you got here. Was it the golden chocolate bar? What The Bleep, who knows? Who cares how you got here, or why you got to this moment in time? Just that you managed to avoid every apocalyptic drama that was playing out back there before reaching here.

So pretty in creams and greens with beige, are those trees? My goodness. A great decorating sense for who or what God Goddess dreamed this one up. Soft luxurious surface. Did I just get handed a drink? I think my brain is addled or having trouble adjusting to the environment. A blow-up funhouse? Do I go this way or that? Let me check the paperwork. Oh, off to the right.

Another scenario appears in my brain where I am about to scream after being eaten by some ancient creature. I really should have allowed enough time for a proper defrag before alighting as it all seems to be playing out in a holographic fashion or did I take something? I have barely found a secure footing on the surface of the planet.

I sit and put my hands in my head or is that my head in my hands? Was this even a good idea? I sit and wait for my body to catch up. A great gust comes at me swirling, twirling with little tiny trumpet-like ice cream cones with miniature needles jabbing and stabbing every surface of my skin. Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.

Author: Alie M Arjaans

Image Unspalsh

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.