Futurism logo

Resentment at Space Colony: Alpha 15

Jealousy on a futuristic space colony.

By Perry BakerPublished 4 years ago 18 min read
1
Resentment at Space Colony: Alpha 15
Photo by Shot by Cerqueira on Unsplash

Resentment at Space Colony:Alpha 15

by Perry Baker

“How are we going to put the damn fire out?” you screamed.

“Only foam will put out an electrical fire. Go back into the substation and find some foam fire extinguishers.” I shouted back.

You slowly turned around and started walking back to the entrance door of the sub-station. And wearing that bulky spacesuit didn't make the task easy. You had plenty of air in your tanks and your suit was unscathed. It was important that your space suit was one hundred percent intact because the slightest tear could mean an agonizing death. You had to get back into the substation and retrieve the fire extinguishers. The fire at the power transformer must be put out quickly or else the entire space colony would lose power; especially if the back-up generators went down.

You turned the locking mechanism on the door and you pushed open the door. By this time I was just ten feet away from the transformer and the engulfing flames, and twenty feet away from the metal shed storing two propane cylinders.

“Hurry!” I said to you ecstatically into my radio transponder.

The fire was spreading and the flames were licking at the propane tanks storage shed. The tanks must have been getting hot and I was terrified one of them was going to explode.

“I got them,” you said at the top of your lungs. “Hold on a few more minutes Tim,” you added.

Just then I saw a flash of light and I heard a deafening explosion. Then the explosion impact hit me and I became unconscious.

**********************************************

Three days later:

My eyelids began to flutter. Small bands of fluorescent light slid into view. You were there standing next to a young man in a white coat. My mind was just beginning to register my situation. I was in pain and I was bandaged on my legs, arms and chest.

“How are you feeling?” you asked with your peculiar smile and with those pearl white teeth, nice and straight.

“What happened? I don't remember anything.” I said in agony. “I am in a lot of pain on my legs, arms, and chest,” I added while grimacing.

The man in the white coat came forward and injected a syringe into my IV line.

“Hi, I'm doctor Aronson, I just administered some more morphine for the pain. You should be feeling better in a moment or two.”

“Thanks doc,” I said

I started getting drowsy and I had trouble keeping my eyes open. You and the doctor were becoming blurry.

“Before I nod out, tell me what happened out there,” I said to you.

“The propane cylinders exploded and you were knocked unconscious. You sustained third degree burns on your legs, arms, and chest. Your helmet protected your face from the blast but you still sustained a concussion. You are lucky to be alive,” you said while pulling a strand of your beautiful red hair away from your face.

“How did I get here,” I asked you while trying to keep my eyes open.

“I came out with the foam fire extinguishers, saw you injured on the floor and I dragged you in to the substation. The fire brigade came out shortly and put out the fire. The doctor says with plenty of good nursing and rest you should be back to work in about two weeks.”

“He needs to sleep now,” the doctor said.

Lieutenant Peggy Miller, in her derriere hugging, cream colored uniform jumpsuit, walked out of my room. Doctor Aronson was right behind her looking at her ass while he walked away following her.

You, Lieutenant Peggy Miller. The hot-shot electrical engineer, only up here in this Alpha-15, Mars space colony for three months, in the year 2343, and already the same rank as me. I should be wearing captain rank insignia on my shoulder instead of these lieutenant insignia. I have been on this space colony working like a dog trying to keep the power on for six years and I am still a lieutenant. Granted, you are bright, energetic, and loved by the mostly male crew of this space colony. When I was younger, I was bright, energetic and praised by many here. Now that I am fifty-five years old and on the decline, no-one here looks to me for advice; they turn to you. You seem to enjoy the attention; especially from your young male buddies. I see them checking you out. Some of them once checked me out, but no more.

****************************************************

Later on that same evening:

You went out to the officer's club that night. The club was called The Starlight Lounge and you were dressed to slay. You had on a short red mini-skirt with a black sequined blouse and you had on red stilettos. You looked smoking hot. Most of the young officers wanted to dance with you. The musical theme for tonight's music was disco; your favorite. You loved to dance, just as I enjoyed dancing when I was younger, and before I had these bouts of depression. I was on the Tress 2143, anti-depressants again.

You were dancing with a young stud on the dance floor tonight. Your smile radiated and your red hair flowed to the music. The song, Gloria Gaynor's, I Will Survive pounded across the disco and you loved every minute of it. You loved the disco music from the nineteen seventies; almost three hundred and seventy years earlier. You were gleaming tonight because everyone on the space colony was talking about you rescuing me from the explosion and saving my life. Your pride swelled and it showed. You were sipping on Cosmopolitans all night, and after the third drink you were a little tipsy but still in control of your senses, You were always in control, even at the transformer fire and explosion where I got injured, you were in control. When you are in your office working on a program for the electrical control panel circuit board, surrounded by all your interns, you were in control, and radiant. You simply adored all the attention. I on the other hand sat by my desk watching you with all your interns surrounding you, working on a program or some other project.

You called me from the disco.

“Hello Tim, are you awake?” you said through your stupor. “I hope I didn't awaken you.”

“No, I was awake. The morphine wore off about an hour ago and I don't want to ask the doctor for more. The pain has subsided a little. Where are you Lieutenant.”

“I am at the Starlight Lounge celebrating!” you exclaimed. “About an hour ago I got promoted to captain. General Winfield pinned on my new rank in her office. She said I got promoted for saving your life. Isn't that great Tim?”

I was speechless. I didn't know what to reply. You a captain and me a lieutenant. Me answering to you. You giving me orders. Finally I said to you with some contempt in my voice: That's great...can't wait to see you with your new rank insignia on.

“Thanks Tim...talk to you soon. Gotta get back to my celebration...gotta get down, and boogy.

******************************************************************

Three weeks later:

You and I were sent by commander Winfield to repair a diode pack on the Dawn space-craft which was docking at the Pioneer docking station. The docking station was orbiting Mars at an altitude of five miles. You and I sat in the orbiter along with the pilot waiting for clearance to liftoff.

While waiting for the order to buckle up and pressurize, I thought about my relationship with my new captain supervisor. You weren't too bad as a supervisor. You never really ordered me around. For Pete's sake we were professional electrical engineers and we had to act accordingly. We were in our blue space suits, helmets off; for it was hot under the helmets with the climate control off. Your silver captain bars shone in the light, boy, I wish I had them. I worked so hard these past six years and I am still a lieutenant. I guess that's what you get for going up the ranks the hard way. I never went to officer academy; instead I was a non-commissioned officer for many years, then I went to warrant officer school and received my warrant officer “1” bar. You on the other hand went directly to officer academy right out of uni. I think you said you graduated from MIT with honors in electrical engineering. I on the other hand had graduated from Texas State; no comparison in school prestige.

Our pilot's name was Todd Parker and he was a hottie; I think he smiled and winked at me. You were too busy with the flight checklist to notice. But then you finished your checklist and began to work your charm.

“Todd, may I ask you a question sweetie?” you asked in that seductive tone while twirling your hair.

“Sure captain, fire away,” Todd replied.

“Weren't you in the Starlight Lounge this past Friday night. I think they were playing country/western music?”

“I sure was doll, did you see me when we were doing the line dance. I certainly noticed you!”

“Do you go there a lot?” you asked Todd.

Just then we got clearance for take-off. But before we put on our helmets I noticed the bulge in Todd's pants while he was talking to queen Peggy. Many years ago that bulge might have been for me.

The orbiter docked safely with the Pioneer docking station. The orbiter was there for two reasons. Firstly to repair the diode pack for the exhaust gas equalizer on the Dawn space-craft, and

secondly, to bring back much needed medical equipment. The diode pack repair should only take us about twenty minutes to complete, and loading the medical supplies onto the orbiter should only take a few minutes. The Pioneer was fully pressurized so we all took off our helmets and you and I got to work on the diode pack repair job. Todd of course hung around you watching you work and getting close to you. On one occasion I noticed that he even rubbed his package against your ass and you smiled. Like I said previously, you thrived on the attention. You took the lead in the diode pack repair. All I did was hand you a screw-driver and a pair of nose clamp pliers. We were finished in no time. We then tested the exhaust gas synchronizer and we got green lights on the display panel. Dawn was good to go.

Todd, you and I then carried the medical supplies back to the Orbiter and we were done. I couldn't wait to get back to the colony. FUCK, again you shined, now with Todd, our six foot two, blond haired hunk tailing your ass. When will this ever end.

You seemed to be hitting it off with Todd. When our shift was over at 1800 hours you could be found in the Starlight Lounge with Todd having a few drinks. I don't know if you ever considered getting married or having kids. As for me, my marriage ended in divorce many years ago, but I was blessed with a twenty-five year old daughter. I keep thinking about making changes in my life to better compete with you. Maybe if I looked younger. Maybe if I lost twenty pounds or shaved my salt and pepper mustache. I know! If I get rid of these relic, black rimmed glasses, and buy some blue contact lenses, I would look younger. Yes, I feel my energy coming back to me already. Tonight I will go to the gym and run for a half hour, then I will go to the canteen and order something healthy to eat; maybe a corn avocado salad with chicken. Yum! I will not eat your dust my princess. The time has come for Lieutenant Timothy Crenshaw to rise and shine.

*******************************************

Later on that evening you and I were at an after-action meeting being given by General

Winfield. General Winfield was an African-American woman about fifty-five, heavy set with a crew cut style hair cut. She was no non-sense and she kept her nose in the Standard Operating Procedures handbook. Todd was there and we were discussing how the diode-pack repair and medical supply retrieval mission went.

“Lieutenant Crenshaw, how would you improve the mission that you went on today,” the General inquired.

I was stuck for words, I had suddenly lost my mojo. I felt that depressive gray cloud circling overhead. Just a few hours ago I was on a high; ready to leap and rejoice. But now, I am on the other end of the spectrum. I just can't figure it. You on the other hand were ready to pounce on this opportunity to impress the General.

“”General...may I answer that question please?” you asked.

“Sure, say what's on your mind Captain Miller.”

“I feel that if we had brought with us to the Dawn space-craft a larger selection of tools, we could have shaved about ten minutes of the diode-pack replacement. I had a little trouble getting the slip ring off the retaining spring. If I would have brought a smaller pair of needle nose pliers I could have removed the retaining spring easier.”

“Did you hear that Lieutenant Crenshaw. I see you find something interesting near Captain Parker's way. Were you listening to Captain Miller's response?”

I was day dreaming about Todd. He is really cute. Too bad I wasn't twenty years younger. Although some young studs like an older teddy bear father figure.

“Yes mam, a smaller pair of needle nose pliers. Got it,” I replied.

We continued the after action meeting for about another fifteen minutes. Again Peggy answered most of the General's questions. As usual she was in the spotlight again. But that's OK. I know my place on this space colony. I will probably be here, at this out-post for one more tour, maybe two, then

I will be reassigned back to earth.

After the completion of the after-action meeting the General called me over to her desk and asked me to stay behind while Todd and Peggy left the room.

“Lieutenant Crenshaw, how have you been feeling lately?” the general asked.

“To be honest mam, I have been feeling a little down lately. I don't know what it is. I am taking the Tress 2143 anti-depressants, but I can't seem to shake off the highs and lows.,” I replied with trepidation.

“I watch all my men Crenshaw. It is very important...

Just then the general's audio transponder chirped. The general excused herself and walked away to a corner of the room to answer the call. There was a look of apprehension on her face and she spoke as if a disaster was on the horizon. After a few minutes she hung up and walked back to me.

“Get captains Miller and Parker. We have an emergency on our hands.” she shouted.

The general and I went out into the hall and found Parker and you talking nearby. The general went up to both of them and said: Let's all get to the control tower...we have an emergency I'll explain as we walk there.

All three of us ran back to the supply cage and put on our space uniforms. This took us exactly twelve minutes. As we were putting on our suits the general told us about the emergency: “The Dawn space-craft is in trouble. It is trying to land at moon base Tricor but the ships exhaust gasses are heating up. The temperatures are nine hundred degrees. I think something went wrong with the diode pack that we put in,” the general said.

Your face dropped. You made an error, impossible you thought.

“But I did a thorough test of the analytics and the tell-tale lights were all green, “ you said nervously.

“Let's just get this bird docked at the moon base and we will do diagnostics when time permits,” the general said.

After our suits were on we went out side to the land rover. The land rover was a small electric powered car-like vehicle used for transportation on the Mar's surface. It was a silver color with a sticker of the Alpha-15 space colony logo on the front hood. The land rover could hold ten passengers in it. In the land rover was me, you, Todd and the general. The top speed was fifteen miles an hour. The Mar's surface was very uneven so we had to be careful driving. Todd drove us to the control tower so we could assist the Dawn spacecraft in docking to the Tricor moon-base. There wasn't much time to go. The temperature in the Dawn space-craft was getting dangerously high. Soon it would explode and the lives of its five man crew would be lost.

Next to Todd sat the general and you and I were in the next rear seats. I tapped you on the knee and when you looked at me I gave you the thumbs up sign and you smiled at me. The smile you gave me was genuine. There might have even been a little affection in the smile. You then put your hand on top of my hand and we continued onward towards the control tower.

About ten minutes later we reached the control tower and Todd pulled into the slip. We all dismounted and then proceeded to the entrance door. The general pushed the intercom and the door slid open. We entered, the door shut behind us, and we took off our helmets.

We took the lift up to the control tower; time was precious and lives were at stake. You held my hand the whole time. You showed me you were not invincible. You showed me you were scared of failure. After all, it was you who put in that diode-pack into the Dawn space-craft. You made a mistake. You were human after-all.

We entered into the control tower. There were three computer screens in the room with two air traffic control engineers present. The general took charge because she had an advanced degree in aeronautical engineering and because she saw that you were not in any position to lead.

“What is the temperature of the exhaust gasses?” the general asked one of the engineers.

“Nine hundred and eighty degrees Fahrenheit,” one of the engineers responded anxiously. “Twenty more degrees and she'll blow.”

The general picked up the mike and said into it: “ Dawn, how long did you apply the reverse thrusters for?”

“Twenty seconds mam,” someone on Dawn said.

“Did you try installing the spare diode-pack?” asked the general.

“We don't have a spare diode-pack mam,” the voice on the other end of the mike said.

The general turned around and looked at you. Your head was bowed. You couldn't look the general or me or even Todd in the eye.

“Captain Miller, did you forget to leave a spare diode-pack on the Dawn before it took off?”

“Yes mam,” you replied'

Were you too busy flirting with Captain Parker, which caused you to forget your job?” the general snorted.

“No mam,” you replied with your eyes still on your boots.

“The temperature is inching towards the danger zone,” the excited control tower engineer said.

“Captain Todd, do you have any suggestions for the crew of the Dawn?” the general asked with an angry expression on her face.

“Keep reversing the thrusters and try to get those temperatures down before attempting a docking.”

Then the worst happened!

“Our starboard engine just caught fire. God save us. Help us please,” the Dawn crew member yelled into the mike.

You just stood there with a tear running down your face. You knew there was nothing that could be done without that spare diode-pack.

“We lost their signal mam. They must have blown,” said the shocked control traffic engineer.

***************************************************

One week later, in the back of an empty Italian restaurant named Il Fiorno, Tim and I were enjoying a nice meal and a glass of Merlot red wine. I had ordered the chicken franches and you ordered the lasagna with sausage. The food was not as good as the food prepared on Earth but it would have to do.

I was still devastated about my demotion from captain back to lieutenant. The general said I was partly responsible for the loss of life on the Dawn. She said I was guilty of dereliction of duty. It would go on my permanent record.

I did not feel so superior now; I did not feel like a top-notch electrical engineer. I felt lonely and hurt. I needed somebody.

“Tim, what do you want from life?” I asked him.

Tim looked in my eyes, he had the most beautiful, soft brown eyes and said: “I definitely want to get off this God forsaken planet. I've had enough of this space colony. I miss Earth.”

“I feel the same way Tim. I have learned a lot on this space-colony. I've learned that there are more important things in this life than being the prettiest or the smartest or for that matter the best. I have learned from this experience that family life is just as important if not more important than getting promoted.

Earth has a lot of problems. The population is diminishing because of all the novel diseases occurring. The temperature of the Earth has risen four degrees in the last fifty years. Because of Global Warming the western United States has become a desert larger than the Sahara. The ice at the North Pole, the Antarctic and on Greenland is all but gone. There are no more glaciers at the mountains. I could go on and on about the problems of the Earth, which you are well aware of, but I want to go back to Earth anyways.

I pushed back my chair got down on one knee and proposed marriage to Tim: “Darling, will you marry me?”

Tim stood up, embraced me, and then kissed me passionately.

The End

science fiction
1

About the Creator

Perry Baker

Hello everyone. I am a retired bus mechanic living in Connecticut with my wife Kim, I love to play the violin, bike ride and write short stories. I have taken many writing courses since I retired and I will put them to good use.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.