Futurism logo

Petals on the Sand

Point of no Return

By Deborah WalkerPublished 3 years ago Updated 7 months ago 5 min read
1
Petals on the Sand
Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

The morning sun shines through the palm trees as the shadows danced from the light that glistened on my cheeks. The sandy ground had a warmth that was comfortable like an old blanket and I was wrapped inside of it. I sat up, a bit unaware of where I was and brushed myself off as best as I could. I Looked around and saw the beauty which was before me. I didn’t know why I was there or how I got there but I was glad I was in a safe place.

I looked at the sky over the ocean and saw a bird in the distance circling watching for its prey to appear. Just then something came over me. I was scared, memories of the past crept up begging for attention I couldn’t ignore. It was as if all I could see was fog covering every living thing around me for all the horrible deeds I had committed, the pain and the guilt I carried. I squeezed my eyes so tight, afraid to open them for fear of what might come of it.

Wavering, I finally opened my eyes. The fog parted in front of me, like Moses and the red sea. Peace encompassed me as I looked around, it almost looked like my own vivid imaginations of my yesteryears, the tranquility I wanted to find one day.

I gazed upon the waves; the surface appeared like the finest material of blue-green velvet painted with smooth and silky radiance. The waves rippled whispering a lullaby that was stuck in my head I sang over and over as a child. As the wind rustled, I caught the scent of the seaweed in the salt water mist. Farther out were large rocks layered in the sea like a beautiful castle, untouched by anything tainted.

I noticed a beautiful seashell to the side of me. Seashells were the heart of my childhood days, the times that were my sweet escape being with my Aunt. We would walk the beach all day just to find impressive, unscathed shells. While searching, the seagulls would sing a concert above, as if we were going to find them a treasure to eat.

Taking in all this beauty and so many memories did something to me, something hard to explain. It was as though my feet weren’t touching the ground and I was floating in the air. I realized then I was looking at myself, through the eyes of me. I could see what I was doing almost in a slow-motion state. I could feel things I have never felt, love like I’ve never loved, so much I felt my heart could burst. I wanted to stay in this moment forever.

I gazed upon the water and walked toward the shore where there were beautiful, bright red rose petals strung along the sand. Since I had been looking at beauty all around me, I decided to follow the path to see what other wonders lie ahead. Somehow I knew those petals were meant for me.

I followed the path to an inlet around the rocks heading to the bay. Standing upon the shore near the white cliffs with sand surrounding me. I could see a horse in the distance, majestic and pure white standing tall among the reef. I stopped while the lapping waves were coming closer to my feet and looked at him in awe as I couldn’t help but stare. He motioned me to come to him. As I started to walk toward him, He then turned and started running. Beautiful and wonderfully made, he was fast as lightning. I felt as though I was in a fairy tale. I tried to walk a bit faster trying to catch up but couldn't seem to get closer. Disappointed, I stood still, frozen with anxiety as it started to overwhelm me.

Like a rushing wind, I heard someone say “be still my child.”

I looked all around me and didn’t see anyone, I looked behind me and there I saw two sets of footprints. As I stared at the two footprints side by side, they started to mesh into one and then faded away into the sand. I no longer feared what was to come and continued following the path of the petals.

I looked out over the ocean and behold, I ended up casting my eyes on an old weary ship on the horizon. It pulled me in its direction mesmerized in its history. The old boat had travelled torturous seas and storms over many years of restlessness. Some years filled with hate and bitterness and eventually, it cracked under the pressure of the ravaging waters. It was broken and frail, it had no longer served a purpose. I bitterly watched as it slowly sank beneath the surface of the sea.

I looked at the trail ahead, and there he was again. That brilliant, breathtaking horse. He motioned again for me to follow him. As I walked the path toward the him, I finally made it to where he was standing.

There, in front of him was a stairway, wide intoxicating stairs with glistening rocks and golden inlay. The stairs went on forever, endlessly heading to the sky. Then I saw her, the angel on the stairs, she was the one who dropped the rose petals for me. The horse motioned for me to look up the stairs, I looked up and saw a bright light beaming before me on the very top. It was something miraculous.

I told him “ I am not worthy of your gift.”

A tear started to run down my face. It was too generous for someone like me. You see, I had already tried to run the race but couldn’t make it. I failed. I had lost. My heart was very heavy and sad, I wanted to say more but I had nothing left in me to say. All I had was silence.

The voice above said “well done my child, well done.”

The angel held out her hand towards me. I fell on my knees, put my hand over my face and wept. I looked up and realized, that it was the stairway to heaven and I was declared worthy to climb it. Looking at that amazing horse waving me on I took the angels hand. I knew then, with gratefulness, it was time for me to go home.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Deborah Walker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.