Futurism logo

Original Asajj Ventress Actress Wants To Reprise Role In The Future

She'd Be Up For It

By Culture SlatePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Star Wars animated series have many fans, and many fans are very fond of the characters and voice actors of the multiple series. One of the fan favorite villains of The Clone Wars is Asajj Ventress. However, could we ever see the return of the voice actress from the Clone Wars microseries in the role?

Asajj Ventress was a fan favorite role through The Clone Wars and its associated projects. Assajj has been featured in numerous comics, novels, and video games. While Assajj Ventress was played by Nika Futterman in the Clone Wars, she was originally voiced by legendary voice actress Grey Griffin, who indicated that she would be happy to reprise her Assajj role, given that Assajj Ventress’ story has never been concluded onscreen.

RELATED: The Most Underrated Clones In 'Star Wars: The Clone Wars'

About reprising the Assajj Ventress role, Griffin stated,

"I would adore that. I am happy with the Asajj I got to play, though, just because I’m such a fan of Genndy Tartakovsky. That’s my favorite Star Wars property. I don’t know, maybe I’m just partial to it because I was in it, but I just thought it was so beautiful. The original Clone Wars he did for Cartoon Network was so graphic and beautiful...Anyway, I am pleased with my Asajj, but I also get to be part of the Star Wars world all the time. I do Maz Kanata and I play all sorts of different things in that universe and always have a toe dipped into it. I’m in The Bad Batch as a few different little things, but they always throw me a bone here or there for which I’m grateful [Laughs]. My Asajj was in my favourite Star Wars property ever, so I’m glad about that. I’m open to more!"

In Star Wars canon, Asajj’s storyline was wrapped up in the 2015 novel Star Wars: Dark Disciple, where she fell in love with Jedi Master Quinlan Voss and sacrificed her life to save his.

Still, there could still be opportunities for the character to appear in some form. In The Clone Wars, she was one of the main antagonists to Ahsoka, and she could reappear as a villain in the upcoming Star Wars Disney+ Ashoka series, if an appearance from beyond the grave were possible. And there are future Star Wars works that we could see Asajj in as well. In her time in The Clone Wars, she built a relationship with Boba Fett, so we could see her in flashbacks in The Book of Boba Fett.

Asajj Ventress is a great Star Wars character. Her role as one of the primary villains in The Clone Wars was a key character. While Star Wars has so many characters to draw from and infinite possibilities to create characters, it would be great to see Asajj Ventress in an upcoming Star Wars live-action series. Whether Griffin, with an outstanding repertoire, is cast, or whether it be someone else like Futterman or otherwise, the use of the Asajj Ventress character would help with the continuity from The Clone Wars and continue to show other aspects of the life of a character who is familiar to the fans. It’s always hard to introduce a new villain, and when you already have a good one, it’s a luxury to be able to throw them and their already established backstory back into the plot. It would just take some creativity to figure out how to factor her in, depending on the time period.

READ NEXT: Check Out This Deleted Boba Fett Scene From ‘Mandalorian’ Season 2

Written By Dave Sacca

Source(s): Screen Rant

Syndicated From Culture Slate

Join The Team

star wars
Like

About the Creator

Culture Slate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.