Futurism logo

Neighbor's cat

Neighbor's cat

By SHIRLETTE DEANPublished 12 months ago 5 min read
Like

Since he was young, my father has had such a hobby that he loves to tell stories to others. Therefore, whenever relatives and friends come to my house, my father does not care about their patience and impatience, and always holds them to talk non-stop. Dad tells stories like no other. Every one of his stories is a classic. So that his audience not only listened with interest this time, but also when they left, they would book the next time. Gradually, telling stories became Dad's pride.

However, time does not forgive people, now, my father is older, some classic stories have begun to gradually forget, he can remember only a few, and few people are willing to listen to it. Only such a story is extremely exceptional, my father's memory of it is engraved on my heart, so every time like a number of precious to the new friend listen to

After working in the city hospital for 8 years, I finally saved enough money to buy a commercial house in the city. At that time, my wife and my children lived on the third floor. Because the community had just been completed, the neighbors upstairs and downstairs were all new, so we did not know each other. I am a quiet person, the most afraid is to get along with the new neighbors, because, these neighbors mean well, if you do not understand others, through their upstairs and downstairs toss, I will never have peace!

To my surprise, three days after I moved into the new house, I did not find any "movement" from the neighbors upstairs and downstairs, so I was secretly glad. But on the fourth day, what I had feared finally happened. The cat that the neighbor keeps upstairs always howls day and night, and can barely tolerate it during the day, especially at night, the cat's cry upstairs becomes louder and louder. The noise made me turn over and over in bed and I couldn't sleep well. So, I began to think of going upstairs to remind, but the thought of all the neighbors who had just moved in, how much and a little embarrassed. Later, this kind of barking continued for a week, I was really tired of it, I decided to "teach" the neighbors, trying to get them to discard the noisy cat. So I got dressed and knocked on my neighbor's door upstairs.

It was very late at night, but the family upstairs did not sleep, and the man who opened the door seemed to understand the purpose of my visit in an instant, so he invited me in with an apologetic face. The cat's meowing continued, only rising and falling, but the sound was very loud and almost hysterical. My thoughts: No wonder it's still so noisy downstairs. I took advantage of the owner to pour me water when the mouth, trying to find the cat, but I looked for a long time, also did not find the cat. Therefore, in the case of things unclear, I am not good to add blame. The host quickly brought me water, and said guiltily: "Sorry to disturb your rest, don't mind..." Just as I was about to answer, I saw the mistress of the bedroom come out of the bedroom with a tired look on her face, holding a baby in her arms for about a few months. 'Hello! She accosted me, probably because she was so loud, and the baby in her arms burst into tears. Oh, my God, I couldn't believe it, it was the cat I heard downstairs! Seeing that the child was crying, the mistress picked up the child and went to the back room. I continued to talk with the male owner, but my chest was very stuffy, and sweat oozed from my forehead. Fortunately, I did not come up and let them throw away the "wildcat", otherwise, I do not know how badly it would hurt them.

I turned to my neighbor and said, "Your children are not bothering me, I came up here to see my children!" I think there's something wrong with the baby crying! How can you not see the hospital "mentioned the child, the sad male owner could not help but burst into tears:" My daughter was only born 3 months ago, but unfortunately got congenital heart disease, usually like a healthy child when not attacked, once an illness, either breathing difficulties, dull eyes blue, or death to cry." I don't know how many doctors have told us that the heart valve is underdeveloped, and it can not be treated now, the only way is to operate when the child grows up..." The host began to choke up. I quickly comforted him, said he knew some medical skills, maybe can help, he heard here, as if met the savior, quickly stopped choking.

So, from then on, I had one more patient in my ward, and she was my neighbor's daughter. Later, for the sake of this child, I looked through medical books and finally found a treatment method - "Chinese medicine supplement therapy". So, I tried to treat the child, fortunately, a few months later, the girl's condition finally improved, and later, her condition unexpectedly moved to a complete recovery, a check, found that the heart valve has been completely repaired. Later, the girl grew up to be an adult, not only not thin after a serious illness, but also beautiful as a flower. In the end, she actually fell in love with my son and got married. She is my daughter-in-law now!

This is indeed a true story, and that girl is now my wife. Whenever referring to the past, my father always told us with deep emotion: "Fortunately, I did not recklessly and unthinkingly blame the neighbor, otherwise, not only offended a good neighbor, but also lost such a virtuous daughter-in-law!"

At the end of the story, Dad smiled with relief on his face, while the people listening to the story were deep in thought.

Yes, never think that it is the fault of others, you have to blame others, you know, maybe they also have their own difficulties, if you can think from the perspective of others, with a keen heart to help others find the root of the problem, and do your best to help them solve it, so that not only will not be reckless and bruise their hearts, May also help others at the same time, get their unexpected happiness harvest ah!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.