Futurism logo

Mystic beginnings

Whimsical peace By Alecia Rayy

By Alecia Ray Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Mystic beginnings
Photo by Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

When I woke up that morning it seemed just like another day. Filled with the mundane task of my regular routine of house chores and taking care of the animals around the farm. Until I got an unusual call from a friend down the bayou who was concerned about some of her cattle gone missing. Losing your keys is one thing but a whole cow...strange. But hey mischief can strike at any moment who am I to say when things should go down. I picked up the phone sounding concerned. After hearing the news I finished breakfast and headed down that way to help. When I pulled up in the yard Rachel's face looked like she was missing more than just a cow. I reassured her that we'd find it to just take a moment and breathe...farm life ain't cheap. So I figured that's where the extra stress came from little did I know the cow was the least of our problems.

We started walking the trail by the crystal clear creek. Even though this was a stressful situation for Rachel I was enjoying the scenery. Plus a little action now and then keeps life interesting. We had made it about 3 miles down when we started to get a whiff of something rancid. I thought to myself welp there goes the cow we've been searching for. To both of our surprises we found what looked like the left overs of some type of gathering. Whatever they were burning the smell lingered in the air. There were pages of passages left in the fire not totally singed. I picked up one curiously.. The only part I could make out was "I expound my timid heresies of light". Rachel had seen enough but I felt a calling to know more. I put the paper in my pocket and we kept searching for the runaway cow. After clearing some terrain we finally found it grazing in a field. I guess it needed a scenery change. We harnessed her and guided her back home. When we got back to Rachel's I couldn't help but talking about what we found in the woods. She made it clear that she had no interest in whatever the hell they were up to. But for me it was a different story I wanted to know what the hell was up. Hell I might even want to watch depending on what it is. I've always been fascinated with mysteries and the paranormal so this was the perfect opportunity to explore and broaden my horizons.

On the way home I felt the sun burning shoulders..that day seemed particularly bright and I noticed a hawk swarming over head. When I got home I turned on my radio. I was sick of social media and tv so listening to the radio felt like I was getting back to my roots. I put some leftovers in the microwave and started some tea on the stove. I was exhausted cow searching should be a sport. As my tea pot whistled I heard something that sounded like scraping at my kitchen window. After a closer look I realized it was just the branches from my neighbor's over grown tree next door. I thought to myself I need to get a grip not everything is apart of some mystic force trying to reach out and send me signs. I sat down in my recliner ate my lunch and eventually fell asleep. Drifting off I heard the words whispered thin as air say "heresies of light". In my dream it was like I was lifted to another height of being. I could hear and see clearer, my intuition sharpened and every step I took was filled with purpose. Like I was some form of super human I let that energy restore me and guide me through meadows filled with fireflies and a moon that dripped down with a love unheard of.

I woke up to a banging at the door...Not exactly how I wanted to end that dream but whatever Hank needed it must've been of some importance. He came inside and went straight to my tv and flipped on the news. Do you know what's going on right now?! How are you not watching this?? Still wiping the sleeping crust out of my eyes I responded watching what? I've been asleep... There's been a huge accident on the interstate a truck carrying flammable chemicals exploded there are people on the scene now working on getting people out of the wreckage. Holy shit no I missed that while I was knee deep in the meadows...I hope everyone is okay. Hank has always been a concerned citizen. Im surprise he's not over there trying to pry open someone's kia with the jaw's of life. I guess the hero in him decided to sit this one out. We talked and shared our concerns and prayers when the paper I found in the woods fell out of my pocket. Hank picked up the paper and read it out loud. Jokingly he said this is a new look for bunny ears. I laughed and took the paper out of his hand. You're funny... but this is a clue to something. Rachel and I found this galavanting in the woods looking for her wandering cow. What is it supposed to mean replies Hank..to me he sounds interested. I don't know but I Intend to find out. After talking to Hank for a few hours he decides that we should take our investigation to the next level and bring it to someone who might be able to shed some light on the situation. Everyone has a village crazy lady who lives in the woods with a cat hoarding issue right? Or is that just a southern thing? Nevertheless we were on our way to getting some answers. Ms. Viola wasn't always a crazy cat lady in a cottage she used to be a prize winning beauty pageant contestant but after doing some soul searching and dancing under the moon light butt naked she realized that society couldn't offer her the same things the woods could. We knocked 3 times on her door I felt like we were about to fall in Narnia from the aesthetic of her house. She hollered with a groggy irritated rattle. Who is it and what do you want??

It's Lena and Hank Ms. Viola we just want to come in and visit for a little while. She perked up and opened the door. Well you should have just said that. What can I help y'all with? I don't take too kindly to visitors but seeing y'all keeps me on my toes. Hank pulled out the piece of paper and gives it to Ms.Viola. Her eyes squinting ohh someones been busy I see. Busy with what...we both wait eagerly for her response. This seems like a passage to some sort of manifestation. But manifestation to what though..all this vague terminology was starting to get to me and my patience was wearing thin. Ms. Viola grins and says she really can't say cause it's about the practitioners intentions. But from the looks of it it doesn't seem harmful. Hank fascinated himself with grabbing bottles and messing with things that he probably shouldn't but oh well he's responsible for himself if he turns himself into a frog. I on the other hand know better..Ms. Viola teach me what you know. She looked at me with love I could see the wisdom in her eyes and she replied teaching you what I know would be pointless when you have magic in your own heart. Let that not go to waste. It was starting to get dark and I figured it would be smart to start heading out so we could get back home without too much trouble. There's been known to be wolves that prowl around in the dark. I grabbed Hank gave Ms. Viola my love and left.

Hank seemed like he had something on his mind but he was reluctant to tell me and I didn't bother to dig and find out. We were walking by a large cow pasture when I heard a bone chilling howl. In the pasture their barn house light was left on flickering with a huge white owl perched on a pillar that sat outside. I grabbed Hank and hurried the rest of the way home. He sat down and took his shoes off on the couch. I guess I'm staying here to tonight unless you want the wolves to devour me. I reassured him that they had better things to eat other than Hank flambé. But since he's a good friend I let him stay for the night. We finished the night by watching some classic horror movies. Falling asleep next Hank didn't feel out of place. But I don't think he's ever looked at me in that light. But I couldn't really say...I let fate decide.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alecia Ray

Just another southern girl from the bayou

with a big heart, imagination and dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.