Futurism logo

My Review of "Star Trek (2009)"

The J.J. Abrams remake of the Star Trek series was an instant classic to me when it first came out. This is what I thought of it watching it 10 years later.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I remember first seeing this remake of Star Trek and being in awe of it. I was a fan of the original series so I wasn't sure how the new Star Trek would pan out. It was also the time when J. J. Abrams was starting to make bigger budget movies so we didn't know what he was capable of.

This Star Trek is an alternate universe version of Star Trek and shies away from the original ensemble. For this alternate universe, an antagonist by the name of Nero, played by Eric Bana is brought back in time for some mysterious reason and wants revenge on the Star Fleet federation. When he comes back in time he meets with a Star Fleet ship and pretty much demolishes the ship as if it's a plaything.

Before the ship is totally destroyed an acting captain by the name of George Kirk, played by Chris Hemsworth, evacuates the crew which included his pregnant wife and sacrifices himself to save the escapees. George's son is born during the escape and is named James Tiberius Kirk. The audience then discovers this is not only an alternative universe but it's also a retelling of the origins of each of the characters.

So already there's changes to this timeline that change everything we know about the original crew. The main alternate reality changes are for captain Kirk. The film makers took some liberties in telling the origins of the other members of the cast.

Of course, fate would have the original crew meet with one another on the USS Enterprise. They eventually all get band together to defeat Nero and his cronies. It's essentially one really long episode but they tell it in such a spectacular way.

Watching this movie again after 10 years reminds me of the magic I remembered when I first saw this movie 10 years ago. The special effects are still as great as it was back in the day. The story and the musical score still get to me today as they did 10 years ago. It just goes to show you that good storytelling is what we need for re-watchable films.

I know a lot of people didn't like the Spock love interest relationship of this movie but it's a different universe and a different take on the story. I didn't mind it at all but i'm not a die hard Star Trek fan. Looking at this as a movie it was enjoyable. I'm one of the few that like it when film makers take the risks to go outside the box and be creative. Some would say that they're fine with creativity but just do it with another franchise. This is another article to be written.

From what I know of the original series the cast did a great job emulating their star trek counterparts. There are a lot of stars that came out of this movie and it's nice to see some of the faces that went onto do bigger and better things later in their careers.

You'll have to enjoy science fiction movies to enjoy this movie though. Anything to do with time travel and alternate universes will make certain people cringe when they start thinking about it. Some Star Trek enthusiasts will not like it either since this movie does not have all of the original Star Trek cast.

Overall, I really enjoyed this movie and still enjoyed it 10 years after I've seen it originally. I think a ton of people that enjoy science fiction movies will really enjoy this movie as well as a movie. There will always be hardcore Star Trek fans that will not enjoy it because it's not truly faithful to the original series and not contain the original cast. That's entirely fair because everyone has their own opinion on these things. I will give this movie an 8.5 out of 10. That's how much I enjoyed it. I can watch this movie over and over again and not get bored.

star trek
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.