Futurism logo

My Review of "See You Yesterday"

An interesting take on the time travel genre. I found that it stumbles a little on the landing.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm in the science fiction phase of the lock down right now. I'm pretty much watching all of the Netflix sci-fi movies. They have some interesting ideas that you can tell other big movie makers didn't want to risk money on. See You Yesterday is a daring movie and for the most part fairly fun. The only thing I had against this movie was the ending.

It almost seems as though this movie was supposed to be a TV Series rather than a movie. There's a lot that goes on in this movie. In fact, there's so much in this movie that they bet on themselves to get a sequel to this movie. At least that's what it looked like by the end of the movie.

The movie starts out with the main character C.J. , played by Eden Duncan-Smith. She has a best friend by the name of Sebastian, played by Dante Crichlow. The two of them are at the brink of creating an actual time machine for their school fair. There are issues of course and it doesn't work right away.

They did eventually get it to work though. The time machine kind of works in a weird way. They travel to their determined time period and have a certain amount of time to stay there and then they have to get back to where they first traveled in order to travel back to their original time. I know it's a little confusing but so are time travel movies.

Anyways, C.J.'s older brother Calvin, played by Astro gets murdered in broad daylight by the police. They talk about police using excessive force and over-policing in Black and Latino neighborhoods. C.J. realizes that she can go back in time to prevent her brother from dying.

With the help of her friend Sebastian she's able to go back in time to prevent her brother from dying however there are even more dire consequences as the result of changing the past. C.J. then goes back in time again to try to change and even more changes happen because of the butterfly effect of her actions.

I thought this was a nice little twist to the time travel genre. It was almost nicely executed but I thought it fell on the landing. The ending of the movie almost screams to the audience that there will be a sequel to this movie when nothing has been announced. I would hate for this movie not to have a sequel because it ended on a cliffhanger. I really don't like that when the outcome of the sequel hasn't been determined.

As far as the acting goes, it was okay. There's some wooden acting by certain characters but overall they did a good job. Some of it kind of reminds me of a made for TV movie or one of those TGIF sitcom's on ABC back in the 90's.

They had some nice little Easter eggs throughout the movie. I loved the fact that they actually got Michael J. Fox to play their teacher Mr. Lockhart. It was a really nice nod to Back to the Future especially when he says, "Great Scott". That was really cool and classy way of putting that reference in.

The most important aspect of this movie was that it was fun and engaging. It was fun from start and was ramping up for the finish but it just never finished. All of the actors gave some charm to their characters. I was invested in their characters but why did you have to end it like that??

Overall, I liked this movie because it had so much potential! I was really enjoying it and I thought so much more could have been done. At least complete the darn movie instead of leaving it on a cliffhanger like you did. It's a movie not a TV show. I know the Avengers did this but at least that movie seemed like it was closing a chapter this one didn't feel like that. I have to give this movie a 6.5 out of 10. It would have gotten a better score if they actually finished the movie. As for what it is, I don't think I could recommend it until the sequel comes out.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.