Futurism logo

My Review of 'Bob Lazar: Area 51 and Flying Saucers'

Debunking of a conspiracy or reaffirming old claims?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In this documentary: Bob Lazar: Area 51 and Flying Saucers, the filmmaker makes it apparent that Bob Lazar is an absolutely interesting person. Not only is he a brilliant person but his mind is curious and he has moral obligations.

I wasn't sure who Bob Lazar was prior to watching this documentary. A coworker had told me about this documentary and told me that I had to watch it. He played up the film so well that I had to give it a chance. Besides, I am a sucker for conspiracy theories. It's always so interesting to hear elaborate stories to affirm crazy beliefs. They're even more compelling when they evidence starts to make me agree with the conspiracies.

To explain who Bob Lazar is, they talk about his extensive background in jet propulsion research. In the 1980s a group had hired him to help them dissect and reassemble alien space ships that they had found. Apparently the ships were still intact and in working condition. Bob Lazar got to see a lot of secret alien technology and information that has been locked away from the public.

The film doesn't go into details of how and why he stopped working for the company. Although, when he left the group he went to the media to explain what he had saw. He claims he went to the public about this information not only to save himself, but because it was a moral obligation that he had to expose this information to the world. I agree that if the government or any private organization has any knowledge of alien technology they should expose it to the public. It's better to let everyone know so we can learn off the technology to make this world a better place.

He claimed that the technology that they had could radically reshape how we live our lives. In his interviews in the 1980s he had mentioned tons of different security details that people had thought were ridiculous and far out there. Only recently, after 30 years, some of the same security details have been exposed to the public. When the filmmaker shows Bob Lazar the findings Bob has a small sense of vindication. For years, the forces that be have been trying to keep Bob quiet. They've discredited him as well as raided his home multiple times looking for something that he claims that he does not have. Oddly enough, during the filming of the documentary, Bob again gets his house raided by the government but the details are shrouded in mystery.

When the documentary ends, there are still tons of lingering questions that might never be answered. Was Bob's memory of alien technology accurate? Did he really have the credentials that he claimed he did? Does Bob possess something that he may have stolen from the organization that had hired him?

This film is interesting and had me at the edge of my seat at times. The problem was that it did drone on about the same topics over and over again. I found that this documentary could have been half the length that it was. Close to the end of the film I started to get the sense that I understood what they're trying to tell me and it started to feel like the filmmaker was beating me over the head with the same pieces of information. It's too bad because it would have been an otherwise really fun and interesting documentary to watch.

Overall, I enjoyed the first half of the film but the last half of the film was kind of a slog. I still think that it's important that Bob Lazar's story be spread but maybe this film didn't quite hit the mark. I will have to give this documentary a 6.5 out of 10. Conspiracy film lovers will like this film but even they may get quite bored by the end of the film. I hope they get someone else to remake this documentary. It would be nice to have a more entertaining documentary because Bob Lazar's story is very interesting.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.