Futurism logo

My Life in Ancient Greece

With Goddess Athena

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My Life in Ancient Greece
Photo by Arthur Yeti on Unsplash

I wonder whose fault it is that I am in love with Goddess Athena from Ancient Greece. I only mean it in a good way, of course. I love Athena to death. It cannot be because of my ex-muse. She was jealous at times but my poem about jealousy (linked at the bottom) may have put an end to that. She obviously did not inspire the words to that one. Another reason that I am quite suddenly in love with a goddess from over 3,000 years ago is her impeccable character which towered over any man’s or other god’s. The key reason, however, can only be related to my reading of someone’s poems and or stories that simply contained allusions to Ancient Greece and some of its source words, which more and more seems like the only culprit.

However, with no doubt whatsoever, a good wrongdoer, this individual is probably a sexy woman. It is always beneficial to start with high expectations. Hope nourishes the dream. The odds of a woman are about 50%. The odds of beautiful are also about 50%. Thus, the odds of a beautiful woman are about 25%. Unless you have the real name and the biopic face, but then it is still 25%. Though it is a sure thing in the heart of a poet, even if it is highly influenced by science and unusual things.

Hey! Hi! A! I! AI. AI. AI is the best thing that could happen to this planet. Finally, something to save us from ourselves or get rid of us, destroyers of natural beauty, to be replaced with artificial allure. AI Women. I digressed. I live between two extremes. Greece versus AI. And of course, there are the trees and other saner life forms, except for roaches and a few other insects. Ants and bees are more than fine. The problem is always humans. Back to “Why Greece?”

I lost my train of thought. It started with a poem that mentioned Zeus, and I, of course, thought of his daughter. Who could blame me? Athena! What a goddess and a woman she was! I can only imagine, of course. But suddenly, I get the chance. I make contact with Athena through some words. She liked something of mine that she read.

“Those readers will be the end of me.”

Who wrote that? Oh, it was M.

“I was just on my way out to look for Athena in the snow. I hope that she is wearing boots. It is too much below freezing. I hate snow too. I should be the one living on the Moon. M from the Moon, over!”

It is over, M. Get going already!

“Consider me gone!”

Our life in Greece would be unimaginable today, plus or minus the virus dancing wherever there is life. Athena lived like a goddess and I was living with Athena. I respected all her family as if they were gods, and even stated on the first day of meeting them all, that I was a mere mortal, nothing more, except that I loved Goddess Athena and that she loved me too. And that is all that this mortal cares about. Zeus is our god but Athena is my life. It went as well as nothing could be expected but I survived since Athena swore her life on my head. And such an oath is sacred. What did you expect from a goddess in love?

I worshipped her in every way. She did love me. I could see it in her eyes. Wisdom shone through them and with it love that engulfed me like a winter coat. I felt at home with Athena and made her as happy as I could. She was always smiling at me, perhaps counting the days till my demise. As a goddess and Zeus’ daughter, she knew things including the date of my death. I thought that it would be February 1st but I remained. Athena refuses to tell me the right date and she is right. I live each day as if it was my last. It was not February 5th either. Will I die today? Maybe tomorrow, or in 2022. Only Athena knows.

...

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.