Futurism logo

Lucid Dreams are more amazing than you think...

and i should know, i've had plenty.

By Christopher Jay AgudoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
enter the realm of lucid dreaming.

Lucid Dreams are more amazing than you think...

and I should know, i've had plenty.

However, when we go to sleep and enter the dream state, most of the times we don't become lucid because the dream seems to go into an automated movement, as in we have no control over it. The dream seems to play out and we have no say over how it flows. Then we wake up and sometimes we remember our dreams and other times we don't. When we do wake up and are able to recall our dream from the previous night of sleep, most people usually think,

"wow, that was weird, what was the point of that dream?"

or...

"oh wow, i dreamt of so-and-so and we were doing blah blah blah"

You know what I mean.

There usually is no rhyme or reason to the dreams we have, at least not that we understand currently and because of this, most people don't truly care too much about dreams or give them the time of day to discuss them. Through my observations, usually 8 out of 10 people I ask, on average either don't recall their dreams, or they do but don't have the least bit of excitement over them. Which is understandable, seeing that dreams can be so sparse throughout our lives and the fact the they are so sparse is quite strange seeing that apparently we sleep one-third of our lives. That is a long time and a big chunk out of our lives. So why don't we recall our dreams all of the time since we are sleeping so often? This can be a question to ponder.

We've gotten so used to the idea of sleeping because we have done it so much due to our bodies needing it, that when a dream does come by that we recall, it's just one of those things that we accept and don't really put effort in understanding (unless you study dreams or are someone like me that is fascinated by dreams).

I mean think about it, dreams are wicked cool. They are so odd and fascinating. We have our lives here in our waking state, with our friends and family, our experiences, yet when we go to sleep, we enter an entirely different world, an entirely different reality. Why? That is another question to ponder.

But you're here to read up on the concept of lucid dreaming, not the questions I posed...

"So what is lucid dreaming?"

Lucid dreaming is when you are dreaming and are aware and conscious of the fact that you are dreaming within said dream. The experience within that dream becomes as if you are awake and physically there without an ounce of doubt, being able to control your movements and actions, along with what you think and say. It is no longer like you are watching a movie, it becomes real and tactile. The dream is no longer automated and out of your control, you are in control and can do whatever you want.

That isn't an understatement. What you just read is what lucid dreaming is. That is why it is so amazing, more amazing than you think.

If you never have had a lucid dream experience, I am truly sorry and I hope one day soon you get to experience it because it can be life changing, mind changing, and just an overall positive thing.

The cool thing is that the dream state is not bound by the laws of physics we have here that we are use to. In dreams, you may fly, levitate, teleport, materialize whatever, do whatever, there is no actual structure within a dream. If you can think it, it can happen.

I think that is what makes the dream state so amazing, in my opinion. This is what also makes lucid dreaming even more amazing than you think because when you are in the dream and become lucid, the only limit is your own mind.

I've had multiple lucid dreams throughout my life and I can tell you that they are indeed worth it. I advise you to do some research on lucid dreaming and how to possibly attain lucid dream, and different things that you can maybe do to induce one. There are loads and loads of videos, articles, books, etc. on this subject matter.

My experience however involved obsessing over lucid dreams, trying everything i could to have a lucid dream and not being able to have one. Then years passed by, i completely forgot about lucid dreaming and then I had one and as the years went on, I would encounter multiple others, randomly peppered in without me trying to have them. So through my experience when i tried too hard, lucid dreaming didn't happen. When i would least expect them, they happened. So that is my formula and has been for a while now.

Granted I hadn't had one in a while, but I know I will experience more of them throughout my life. All of this being said, I do hope you consider your dreams more, maybe try to understand them and definitely look into lucid dreaming. If you have had lucid dreams, you know what I mean. If you have not experienced one yet, don't worry, perhaps one day you will.

You should be excited by the idea of going to sleep, to possibly encounter a dream in which you become lucid. Well, have a good day or night, and whenever you do experience your first lucid dream, you should tell yourself that you desire to fly, then you shall fly.

Peace.

psychology
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Jay Agudo

I have been born. I have lived life. I have gained experience. I am a writer. Read my words and you will journey along a vast sea of thought. Be prepared to have your mind blown with all of the stories and articles I end up writing. Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.