Futurism logo

Lessons and Lions - A breakdown of my Leo traits

How my astrological sign has helped me, hurt me, and paved my path

By Dena DanzigPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Lessons and Lions - A breakdown of my Leo traits
Photo by Hans-Jurgen Mager on Unsplash

Leos. The prideful, stubborn, "know it all" of the astrological signs. I supposed the same could be said for the Taurus, except his gentle nature is likely more of a catalyst for balanced decision-making skills. Something I have been truly lacking in. At least for the first few decades of my life. Astrology has always been an interest of mine. However, if I said I was a study of the stars I would be lying. Honestly, horoscopes give me a bit of the "heeby jeebies". While I believe in the properties and characteristics I am just not a fan of seeing into my future. My anxiety allows me to haphazardly predict that enough as it is.

Putting all of that aside, I have taken a list of the 8 Key Leo Traits from PrepScholar.com and added my recollections of how they have either helped or hurt me.

Enjoy...

1.) Generosity and Big-Heartedness

This has been a blessing and a curse for me. I love to help others and would "give the shirt off my back" for just about anyone. At most points in my life, I have either been actively involved in animal rescue or community service. On the flip side, this trait has also made me vulnerable to users and abusers. In my younger years, it was hard for me to set boundaries or cut ties with toxicity. Ultimately, I had to utilize other astrological strengths to build the boundaries I have now. Don't get me wrong, I still love to help others. The difference now is that I embrace my big heart while also creating clear lines in matters of my emotional currency.

2.) Self - Confidence

Strangely, this is something I did not come with right out of the box. At least not in a physical sense. However, I definitely have suffered the "one-upper" syndrome and have a highly competitive nature. This definitely helped me in my Equestrian competition days. And definitely has hurt me in matters of relationships with coworkers and even family members. We all have to come to terms with the idea that we can't do, win, and be EVERYTHING. On the flip side, now that I have simmered down my "winner" mindset I actually am more confident in my physical appearance. Imagine that.

3.) Determination

There is a component of this in everything I do. Oftentimes, it serves me well. Other times, my determination to be right or to win has gotten me into many difficult situations. Determination is an amazing character trait. Sadly, as in anything, it can also be an aspect of our egotistical selves that is extremely hard to correct. I approach important tasks with the same amount of drive that I approach an argument. Clearly, that doesn't always end the way I'd like it to. While I am still a work in progress, I have made great strides in saving most of this trait for my career goals. Not my ego and differences with others.

4.) Natural Leadership

"If you want something done right, you've just got to do it yourself!" Ring a bell? If you consider me a leader in this sense, then yes. I have a hard time letting go or letting others take the reins. Once I was riding with a friend in her horse-drawn buggy. Her gelding spooked and I snatched the reins out of her hands out of reflex. It almost caused us to crash. Being a leader has its place. Apparently, that place isn't behind a horse.

5.) Naïveté

Now, this is one I can really commit to! For all of my stubborn nature, I can just as easily follow a blind man into a pit of fire. I tend to trust too easily, and too often. My passiveness causes me to believe the stories, recollections, and experiences of others. And, I seldom fact-check as a courtesy and belief that it would be insulting to the teller. Over time, I have learned that taking people at face value while always questioning things is the better alternative.

6.) Arrogance

I have a hard time believing I possess this trait. Perhaps that in itself is arrogance? When I am passionate about something I take pride in my ability to perform or create. And when it comes to learning a new skill, I definitely put my "all" into it. The idea of failure isn't always a viable option. Ok, I guess I am a little arrogant. Truly, I believe it serves a massive purpose. Pride in your ability is important in work, relationships, and goal setting. We could all probably be a little less "dickish" about it.

7.) Stubbornness

If I do not want to do something you will find yourself hard-pressed to make me. This is a boundary I set a very long time ago as part of my trauma healing process. Going back to me being too naive, I have now tilted the pendulum to the exact opposite side. In many ways, this has made my quality of life and peace of mind much better. However, if you were to ask my husband how likely he is to see me compromise, his answer wouldn't be in my favor. Somewhere in there, I know there is a balance between giving and standing firm. I haven't found it yet, but I am sure it's there.

8.) Inability to Accept Criticism

This is absolutely untrue! I will definitely always correct everyone and anyone who criticizes me! Well, I am partially kidding. There was a time when this trait ruled my competitive life. As well as my personal life. As I have aged I have realized that constructive criticism is a key factor in reaching all aspects of my creative and personal goals. I have also found that it stings a little less to objectively listen to criticism. Realizing that another person's way can work for you is less painful than to not listen and then find yourself realizing that you are wrong. Take it from an egotistical Leo.

So, there you have it. Apparently, I possess all of these traits on both the positive and negative sides of the spectrum. Do I need a little more balance? Absolutely. Don't we all?

The numerical list was inspired by "The 8 Key Leo Traits". The captions below are my own.

Dena Danzig is a writer and creator. You can find out more at DenaDanzig.com

astronomy
3

About the Creator

Dena Danzig

Mother. Wife. Yoga Lady. Writer. Alcohol Survivor.

My Long Form thoughts and reflections after roughly four decades of life.

www.DenaDanzig.com

All reads, likes, and tips are greatly appreciated

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.