Futurism logo

LEO the Lion

It's In My Stars

By Andrea Corwin Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Leo Astrological Symbol

I am a Leo. Not an arrogant Leo, but a bold Leo. I entered this earthly incarnation on August 11. Never mind the year, but suffice it to say I have been here awhile. The things I have witnessed are many and I am a champion to the underdogs of the world, be they humans, animals, oceans, forests or rocks, to name a few. Leos are fierce protectors.

Leos are known for generosity; people would agree I am that. They would find me more on the shy side with strangers, but I can hold the stage to entertain those I know. However, beware the bully, as I will take you down.

When my children were young I studied astrology and did astrological charts. My rising sign is Aquarius, the opposite of Leo. Aquarians either like Leos or have a strong opposition to them. Leo is the sign of a big heart, and love. We are ruled by the sun and the lion. I have a lion’s mane of hair, love the summer months, have always owned pets and have an affinity and understanding for felines. My moon (emotions) is in Sagittarius. This explains my love of travel to far away places and meeting foreigners - my restlessness. When a small child, and still now, I wonder where the road in the distance goes, where that trail in the woods comes out.

I read all of the Tarzan books in junior high. It was fiction but it awakened my dream of seeing Africa. I was particularly drawn to lions. It came true for the first time in 2011. I was able to see the lion prides and elephant herds up close and photo them. Lions can be fierce but are loving to their family, just like Leos. Luckily I was able to return in 2015 and 2017. The wildlife and environment attract me more than cities. I am a savannah Leo, like the lion. I can swim but it’s not my favorite and I get seasick in the open sea. I am the savannah Leo lion, preferring land to water. After all these years now, comfort is more to my liking. Probably the Virgo planted so strongly in my chart stopped me from being an extreme sports person or adrenalin junkie.

Leos watch our children from afar, but woe is the person who tries to bring them harm. Once I sat on a bench in a park with my daughter and her friend playing downhill by a pond. A man was eyeballing them from afar as I kept watch. He made a beeline for their location. I jumped up and called to my daughter and when she didn’t respond, I ran down the hill toward them, veering between him and the girls. Instant protective action. Frightening to the interloper; think of a four hundred pound lion snarling and you are envisioning the Leo parent.

The astrological chart I was born into has many planets in Virgo. I can be very picky, as Virgos are known to be. This Virgo in so many places of my chart is perhaps why I am more of a shy Leo. Virgos are not showboats like Leos. Have Aquarius rising coupled with many planets in Virgo make it difficult for people to follow my thoughts and discussions. My mind is lightening quick, grasping what they say and moving on while friends are still on the previous subject. Analytical skills and efficiency expertise very often get on others’ nerves. The Aquarius makes me quirky and interested in subjects like astrology and my brain has lots of odd tidbits of information that entertains others or annoys them.

The Virgo in my chart makes me a rule follower and I just want everyone to “follow the rules” so we all can get along. It also tends toward an annoying, cloying attribute of wanting to make sure everyone knows the facts - or, to be “right.”

Not the Leo who wants a spotlight of attention, but rather appreciation for my skills and generosity, I don’t need grandiose gestures. Leos are loyal and generally kind. Brave and bold, adventurous, as well as great leaders are apt Leo descriptions.

Our bravery may seem foolish to others more timid but I have stood down a German Shepherd chasing my son on his paper route. The dog turned back. I became a third degree black belt in combat karate but was always a defensive kumite fighter. The Virgo in my chart made me a perfectionist with katas and stances of the Japanese style karate.

My supervisors in my career were always remote from me and did not feel they had to watching me. They knew the honest Leo (with the Virgo and Aquarius rising) would do her job to the best ability and call if help was needed.

Leos have stamina and can outlast others but can also be quite lazy, like lions and house cats. Like felines, we have claws, so beware making us angry. Leo women want to respected and live well. Leos are independent and want their freedom from parents early, chafing at the restriction of parental rules and many, like I, set out early. We aim to live our life independently with enthusiasm, energy, and boldness. Self-reliant, Leos are very proud of their families and history, and love to tell stories to entertain friends.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin - All Rights Reserved.

Using content without written permission is prohibited

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.