Futurism logo

Irida's Awakening

Even android's have questions

By PureBloodWriterPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Irida's Awakening
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

Synapses began to fire up causing my artificial body to function. I begin trying to see how much articulation I have with this body. As I begin to move, the gears begin to creak, joints crack, telling me that this is a brand-new function; yet to be used. Forcing this new body of mine into an up-right position, I also force the optical functions to spring to life; giving me the ability to see what it around me. Around me I see a sterile room with blinding white walls. Looking more I see a lifeform.

Analysis; homo sapien, male.

This male dressed in a peculiar white coat of sorts along with a pair of black pants. Information swarms inside my central processing unit, almost as it is shouting at me. What am I? The words seem to float around for a moment before going through some sort of voice box.

“What am I?” The words seem to catch the male’s attention. At the same time, I hear my own words. I sound monotoned, choppy, even low in quality.

He turns to me with a look of surprise on his face. “You are a robot, or an android depending on who you ask.”

“Who are you?” Sitting with my back straight, I sharply face him. Gears grinding with the movement.

Chuckling a bit, he walks towards me. “I am Dr. Harper.” He touches my ice-cold metal arm. “I designed you. Your entire processing system. Each algorithm that you have inside your memory banks are because I put them there.”

I tilt my head to once side, staring at Dr. Harper. “I am an android created by you? Dr. Harper, why create this?” My arms that he was not touching bend at the elbow. My hand goes to my chest.

“I see. You were not supposed to become self-aware as of yet.” Letting go of my arm, Dr. Harper picks up a flat piece of technology.

Computer; iPad, usually used in place of larger computer system.

“You are a product of grief.” He shows me a picture of a young woman with vibrant red hair; artificial color. Her smile would be considered infectious to those of the same species. Hazel eye color, and thin body type; malnourished. “She was my little sister; Rani. I was supposed to be caring for her. However, I didn’t see the signs when she needed help.”

I began to be, what’s the word? Ah, yes. The word is curious. I began to be curious about this Rani. Dr. Harper shows signs of destress. “What do you mean, didn’t see signs?”

Salt water began to fall from his tear ducts. “Rani was being bullied at school. Twelve years old and being bullied by her peers. If I had been more present instead of conducting research.” He shook his head as if to shake off the memories. “You are the embodiment of who she used to be. Healthy.”

Looking down I saw that he was being truthful. The body he had built for me was metal, but it was that of a school aged girl, twelve years of age. He duplicated the measurements of his sister to remake her as me.

“Am I Rani?” I point to the picture and then at myself.

“No. Well. Not entirely. You are inspired by her. I realize that I cannot duplicate my sister’s personality. However, you can say that you are my sister. You are inspired by Rani’s memory. By her love for life that she used to have.” He put down the iPad and took off his white coat.

For a moment there was silence as he puts the white coat over my exposed components. His heart beat showed that he was in pain. It was as if everything in my artificial body told me to hug him at that moment. Slowly I brought my arms up in order to wrap them around his torso. Suddenly, Dr. Harper made a weird mouse like squeak.

“Let... go... please.” He gasps a bit for air as I realize I made a strength miscalculation.

Letting go of his being, I stare at him almost as if I was a, puppy? Yes, a puppy. “Apologies, Dr. Harper. I miscalculated the strength that your body could handle. You looked as if you needed a hug.” I looked at both of my arms, flexing my hands out in front of me. How strong can I be?

He chuckles a bit after being able to safely breathe again. “It is alright.” He runs his hand through his brown hair as a sigh escapes his lips. “We need to come up with a name for you.”

“Irida; Greek in origin. Meaning, rainbow.” I smile great big at him, which causes him to laugh loudly.

“Please, stop smiling.” He continued to laugh. “You look like the joker on a good day.” I ceased smiling per his request but the look of curiosity of the name joker crept onto my face instead. “He is a villain in a comic series called Batman. You should look it up, really good comics.” Before I could complete a full search of this Batman comic, Dr. Harper speaks again. “I like the name Irida. Irida Harper.” He smiles gentle. “Irida, welcome to this wonderful world.”

“Life should be an adventure. I look forward to Batman, and being your sister, Dr. Harper.” I copy his smile, noticing that his heart beat had calmed down. For the moment we both knew that this would be a strange life, a strange notion of being a family with a Homo Sapien.

science fiction
1

About the Creator

PureBloodWriter

Thousands of worlds and characters swirl within my mind, waiting to be put into words for others to read. I am their architect and creator; the one that brings them all into our own world. Won't you join me in their adventures?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.