Futurism logo

Inbu's Heart Epilogue

Samba's Epilogue

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Inbu's Heart Epilogue
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I knew Mei was going to win the tournament the moment I saw her. I think there times when Inbu deliberately sabotaged the contest so that nobody would win, but for some reason, Mei flourished through them. I think it teaches us an important lesson. Looks may get you far, but to truly succeed you need tragedy and open-mindedness. Mei may not have been the hottest girl, but she was by far the smartest.

Inbu was convinced that he wouldn't find the one, but he was surprised too. When I see the two holding hands, I feel like a shipper seeing their OTP become canon.

You would not believe what happened after Inbu and Mei became human again. They made a status of two pigs kissing. The statue became a selfie hot-spot. Instagram influencers flocked to take pictures. Partners even propose to each other by the pigs. My middle son proposed to his fiance there. It was so sweet; I must have embarrassed him like mad when I wept like a baby. Imagine what I'm going to be like at the wedding. Yep, menopause has turned me into an emotional wreck. My teenage self would have been so embarrassed.

I was the laughing stock of a dozen dragons that day.

Inbu and Mei often came round to my house for tea and biscuits. The real reason they stick around is that my wife makes amazing curries. Good food always brings people together. She owns several five-star restaurants in the city, so Inbu and Mei get to try her food for free. It's cheaper that way.

"I can't believe how crazy people are going over those statues," Inbu laughed.

"I think it's so sweet that we've inspired a generation of lovebirds," Mei said. Her table manners still left a lot to be desired, but since she's not technically a princess, it didn't matter. The wife and I couldn't care less as long she loves the food, makes our friend happy and appreciates us...what more could we ask for? I guess it wouldn't be too cheeky to ask if she can clean the dishes.

"Did you see Samba's face when Issac proposed to Thelma?"

"You're lucky you don't have to experience menopause," I said to Inbu.

Mei lowered her head. "I will, though..."

"It's not that bad," I told them, laughing. "You just have to accept it."

And just like that, Bulbabutt became a tourist sensation. People still considered Inbu and Mei, royalty even though the royal family didn't class them as part of the clan anymore. Must have killed Inbu, never being able to see his sisters again, but he's got us.

Meanwhile, Queen Matilda charges tourists hundreds for a selfie. Knowing that everyone loves a woman in charge, she's milking it in. The late King Baboon was put to rest. He can stay in bed he loved forever. I bet he's rolling in his grave as we speak.

As I expected, Inbu and Mei didn't end up getting married. They're young, and they want to have fun. Can you blame them? Marriage is a scary commitment, and it's not for everyone. Instead of splashing out on a fairytale wedding, they all dressed up as pirates and sailed around the world.

My eldest is a sailor, and I was glad they let him come with him. My son has more opportunities now than I ever did when I was his age. And my grandchildren will have more knowledge in their tiny heads than I will ever get in a lifetime. I truly feel there is a golden age coming.

King Baboon was a coward. His greatest fears were realised, but he wasn't around to live through it. Nobody missed him. His legacy was overshadowed. Queen Matilda was adored, even though the tax evaders pulled out a campaign for Inbu to claim his rights to the throne. It didn't succeed. He didn't want it. Inbu never wanted to be king. The historians wanted to write that King Inbu and his darling wife, Mei had millions of sons and lived happily ever after.

So glad that's not the case, it's not his style. He tried so hard to be exiled from his kingdom, why would want the crown. You think being a royal; you can do whatever you want. When Inbu was a prince, he had so many restrictions and sanctions. He doesn't have it anymore. Looking at him now, he's free. He smiles and has fun for once.

Others say it's a tragedy that they never married or had children of their own. I'm afraid I have to disagree. They took in orphans from a war-wrecked country and adopted them. Inbu gave up his status as a prince, and he had never been happier. With Mei, he finally had a drinking partner. He didn't need to spend all his pocket money at the brothels anymore. Mei was his perfect girlfriend, and as cliche, as it sounded, they suited each other. Mei's family welcomed him with open arms.

I love what Mei and Inbu are teaching the world that it's okay not to get married. They didn't need a wedding or heirs to prove that they loved each other. The vegan farm ranch was a family unit. As the old saying goes, they lived happily ever after. Not quite happily ever after their families had written out for them, but it was their own brand of success. Inbu still had nightmares of his late father beating the shit out him for not getting married, but with Mei's gentle hand, he gets by.

The world is their oyster now. Mei was the one that thawed Inbu's heart. She did a better job of saving his mental health than any of those royally appointed therapists. Sometimes the best therapy is love...and coffee. Now that coffee is legal again, Inbu's been drinking it like there's no tomorrow. Is there any wonder he gets no sleep?

As they leave our house, I can't help but feel that they've blessed my household. My daughter and granddaughters love wearing blue dresses because of Mei. My lads think Inbu is a comedy genius. The youngest once said that Prince Inbu would go far because he stuck true to himself and was right. No matter where Inbu is or what he does, he will always be a cheeky prince to me.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.