Futurism logo

I Remember

Who I Became

By Jordan Gabriel ClarkPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

The feeling of brisk air against my exterior during the long nights was precisely what I needed to recharge the body and rebalance the mind. Warm vibrational sensations soothed the soul, readying myself for the upcoming day. Surely, I simply loved the Moon, the sight of it, the fact that it always remained, still and watchful, but also there for me, and for us, in so many senses. I preferred to visit and regenerate when it was as dark as possible, as quiet, even though it was always silent upon the sand, besides the calm waters that rocked. For I was the only one with the knowledge and power to lie there. It was pleasant, to be alone for a moment, as throughout the day I was constantly followed. Followed by intrigue, or admiration, especially by those who enjoyed and absorbed my warming and brilliant self. It was time away, for myself, but as I said, it was also necessary because I was followed for a reason: I was the heart; I shed my regenerative cells with emission to restore and balance life; I was needed for sustainability.

The Moon gave me power and the ability to take care of my fellow dwellers. I was not born into the position, but acquired it with intrigue of my own, by determination, and desire. The want to always be close to others was always inside me — even though I needed my own time alone — to mend, to soothe, to balance souls with my very presence. I hoped one day I was able to achieve that. Little-by-little, I worked, and then worked harder at using and reusing energy that was gifted to me, that I could use through me. I absorbed as much as possible by studying others in the olden days, by venturing on my own to accomplish feats beyond comprehension, at least to most. Over time, I slowly became who I was, and when I say “over time”, I mean, a long time. Over that long period, life seemed to alter in a sense. I was the center of the world. That is what I mean by alter. It was as if everyone forgot how to take care of themselves after flocking by my side for so long. They could not survive alone without me. I was their caretaker eventually. In a way, I truly loved that fact. Not being the center of attention, but the fact I had so many beings to look after, that I cared for, and loved. Though I sincerely hoped one day they would learn from me, and I thought they would, but I only wished they could take care of themselves. It is only right. I imagined I would not be around forever.

It was absolutely lovely having the ability to talk to anyone you wanted, anyone that followed, which was basically the whole planet. The conversations were nearly endless, and I learned so much from all the individual minds that dwelled. It was pleasant, to know everyone. I enjoyed the company, and they knew I loved them, that I wanted to take care of them, but also knew that I needed time away to regenerate on the beach. They always waited for me when I returned in the early mornings, and I would nourish them, bathe them with my radiance, and my energy soothed their souls while at the same moment, mine as well — for the fact of knowing what exactly I was achieving. The gratitude behind each expression was satisfying, and I always remembered every face. It was a blessing.

Day-after-day, month and year after one another, a particular day arrived though, that I remember. It was a night when I wondered if I could ever fly to the Moon. Such an achievement that would be, I thought. I could not float in the air! That posed an issue. I left the thoughts for the night, but deep down they lingered within my consciousness. For the very next day, my mind returned to the idea. It was puzzling, knowing that I was unable to float, no idea how to even achieve that because nobody else could do it. Air was so heavy, I thought, or perhaps I was the heavy one, I thought again. The idea returned the following day, and that day I will also remember for all time, as it was the day I decided I would go to the Moon, some way or another.

Every night I used my energy, my radiance, my meditative mind to focus on rising. If I was capable of walking, I was certainly capable of floating! I constantly told myself that. Over more time, my evenings with the Moon became even more peaceful, as I focused and concentrated on it with all my soul, with every cell and fiber and my entire being. I loved my nights even further. However, during the day I noticed I became more and more absent from my fellow dwellers. Perhaps, and I discovered it later, that I simply misunderstood why I wanted to go to the Moon. If I left, how would life continue? They would find a way, I always thought. I knew they would as well. Life always found a way. Look at us. We evolved.

The additional amount of effort I put into my nightly Moon visits, and the dwellings during my days, I was completely not aware that my absences influenced others to veer away from me. They always returned, but they ventured away, which previously was not common unless for good reason. By the time I made the realization, they were evolving much like who I had become, who I was, even though their power remained limited, they seemed independent in a sense. It soothed my soul witnessing that, and the need for change in my mind seemed so right at the time of realization. I knew journeying to the Moon was the right decision for me.

The day of the realization, something miraculous happened: I levitated. At least that was how it felt like. I had my eyes closed. When I opened, I was on the sand. It was progress in my mind, as it never felt like that before. Time eased forwards, and my abilities to reach the Moon increased. I was uncertain of it then, but I believed I was waiting for my fellows to learn to radiate like I could before I departed, because it felt as if I could float away at any moment. The day came, when they could radiate, and that night, before heading to the beach, I channelled my energy across the planet, allowing everyone to know I was leaving. The amount of love that flowed was immense, overwhelming, and I adored every message from everybody. It brought tears to my eyes. I shed my last bit of regenerative cells for the remainder of the others that lingered by my side. Then I headed to the beach.

I felt the light radiate through me, I felt the heaviness subside, and the pull from the Moon was fierce. The energy surged, from me to it, and it to me, and I rose. I was free from the world, free from any worldly matter, and purely in the air. I opened my eyes to find I was floated after all, and it truly was remarkable. Such an accomplishment, and I was so proud of myself again for achieving my goal. I kept my eyes wide open, to sense my surroundings, and rose further into the cosmos, towards my end goal, the Moon. I drifted further from the planet, and as I looked down, there were lights scattered all over the surface — light from my fellow dwellers. I said goodbye once more, and eased my way up towards the light of the Moon. It was calming, I was soothed, and it was amazing. I was on my way to a new beginning, which was completely true, and I knew that.

The next thing I knew, I was opening my eyes into a new world, witnessing strange creatures that appeared completely foreign and nothing like my fellow dwellers. I recognized eyes, and they seemed calm enough, which reminded me much of the eyes within the deep abyss I once called home. They looked at me as if they loved me. Perhaps they did. How did they know me, though? Why couldn’t I move? Why was it so bright? Was that what the Moon was like?

As I familiarized myself with the creatures over time, I soon was able to observe them in a better sense, and later was capable of moving. Though they spoke to me in an odd manner, and they had some aspects, what I later learned was, their face, which moved as an unknown language echoed outwards from within themselves. It was strange. Though, as I seemed to age and be around these fellow creatures, I realized something at one particular moment, I was not who I thought I was: I took a different form. One of brownish pigment, with protruding body parts all over the place, and when I spoke, nobody answered me plainly. It reminded me of the time I was young in the abyss. When I did not know anything and I was only learning. Oh that seemed so many eons ago. For it was. How was I able to shift form so quickly?

The creatures kept referring to me as Liam. That was not my name. Where and who was I? Time passed, not long it seemed, and I think they said I was four years old, whatever that meant. I was not, because I just celebrated nine hundred and eleven million years old two years ago. A short time I learned that I was what they referred to themselves as a human being. I did not understand until later when I “grew up”. When that time came, I realized, I was indeed Liam Randell, a human being, living on a planet called Earth, and the Moon was 238,900 miles from where I was. Not only that, but I was starting over in some strange, new life. I did say I was off to a new beginning. I just did not imagine such one as this. What I do know for sure is that I remember who I became, and now I will strive to become someone similar. My soul, as I know I have as a human, will forever and always remain gifted with an energy that wants to help other fellows.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.