Futurism logo

I AM BROOKFIRE

Guardian of the Library

By Cat BrooksPublished 3 years ago Updated 7 months ago 11 min read
2
I AM BROOKFIRE
Photo by Tadeusz Lakota on Unsplash

"Did you hear that?" I looked down at River for his response. He looked up at me with an earnest awareness in his eyes as if to give me his answer, while his ears stayed focused on the mysterious noise ahead. Everyone always said that my dog and I had a special bond. I could always tell what River was thinking just by looking at him. We were more than just best friends. We were like brothers. I was his shadow and he was my light. We never left each other's side.

As we continued to trek deeper into the forest the sounds, which were faint and unrecognizable at first, became louder and clear enough now to distinguish. They were voices. Dozens, maybe hundreds of them bouncing in between the trees like an overloaded pinball machine. What started as whispers were now boisterous laughs or agonizing screams, resonant songs of an orchestra or thunderous bellows of war. A cacophony of life happening around us but nothing to be seen.

"Where is this coming from?" I thought aloud. I was so eager to find the source of this sonorous mystery that I would have started running if it weren't for the dense fog limiting my view to not much further than my outstretched arm. Fog was not uncommon for these woods, but there was something suspicious about this fog. It moved in a way I've never seen fog move before, like it had a mind and a purpose. It beckoned me further, driving me onward, pulling me deeper and deeper into the forest until finally it all stopped - the voices, the life noises, the booms and the cries, the sweet sad lullabies - everything went silent. The misty veil began to lift his skirt as the forest revealed to me an ancient and terrible secret.

I stood frozen, heart skipping multiple beats and yet somehow beating slower and faster at the same time. Time. What was time in this place? A place where things move and yet do not move. How is it that I feel lighter and heavier? My breathing feels labored and yet it feels like I am not breathing at all. It is me, but it is not me. I am here, but I am not here. Where am I? As I ask the question, the forest provides the answer and I suddenly found myself standing before an oddly beautiful structure. Beautiful and terrifying. Here in the heart of the forest, hidden amongst the towering redwoods and a mysterious fog lies...

"A Library?!" River looked up at me, equally perplexed by this unsuspected discovery. "What would a library be doing in the middle of nowhere?"

I knew it was a library because of the large letters etched above the entrance; LIBER, the Latin word for book. But it didn't just mean book, it also meant freedom. I had just finished reading a book on the Latin language - a book which I had borrowed from the library, no less - and I found it very interesting to learn that the word for Book and Freedom were the same. I’ve always found books to be freeing indeed; their ability to transport you anywhere you want to go or become anyone you want to be. There's quite a lot of power in a book. And that's just one book. Imagine how much power a library can hold!

This library was unlike any I had ever seen. It looked more like a castle. It was whimsical and illustrious with imagination beaming from every detail. It was infinitely tall with so many turrets I couldn’t even begin to count, each with it's own unique design. Some made of stone, some of wood, some of feathers, some even appeared to be made of candy. There were sections that looked brand new and others that looked hundreds of years old.

River and I walked up the dirt path to the entrance. As I got closer I noticed that the walls were covered with bark and there was no apparent separation between the structure and the ground, as if it just sprung up from the earth like the surrounding trees. I also noticed that there was no apparent door. "What the heck? How are we supposed to get inside if there's no door?" As soon as the words left my mouth a large door began to appear before my eyes. The bark covering the arched area of the door began to fall off until the wood became smooth. Then it began to vibrate, shaking the excess bark off of its newly formed door. There was a knot in the door that began to protrude slightly to form a doorknob. It pulsated like a heartbeat in my hand as I turned the crooked wooden notch that would lead me to my destiny.

The door swung open before me. It was so dark inside I couldn't see a thing. River seemed nervous and let out a whimper of concern. "It's okay, boy. It's just a library. What's the worst that could happen?" Slightly cautious but wildly curious, I stepped over the threshold and into the darkness, River by my side. Once inside, a light began to flicker above. I looked up to see a crystal chandelier sparking back to life. Then another chandelier to my left flickered on, then another to my right, starting a chain reaction that illuminated the towering treasure trove of literary magic.

There I stood in the center of this cylindrical castle, its walls stretched infinitely high and completely covered with books. There were books of all different colors and sizes. Some so old they looked as though the pages would fly off with just a slight gust of wind, like the dainty dried petals of a dandelion blown off with a single exhale. Some were so new I could still smell the burnt leather from the etching of the titles.

I walked up to the wall in front of me and started running my fingers along the spines of all the books. It was almost as if I could feel their stories pulsating through me with every spine-tingling touch. And then the voices returned, these guardians of the library. I could hear them so clearly now, as if they were speaking directly to me, telling me their tales. Some of them I even recognized, as I walked up to a little red book with golden lettering along the spine. I could hear the crashing of waves and thunderous roars, and then the bellows of a terrified man screaming out for his child, "Pinocchio!"

I walked around the room in sheer amazement as I was serenaded by a symphony of stories. Until I came up to a small pedestal with a singular book sitting on top, and suddenly everything was silent. I reached for the book and as I picked it up letters began to form on the cover. BROOKFIRE, it read. "Interesting title," I thought. "I've never heard of this book before." Then the book began to vibrate in my hands and the pages started to glow. Then a faint whisper called my name, compelling me to open the book. As I turned the cover over, a brilliant flash of light instantly burst out and consumed me. I was gone.

River was frantic. He began barking for my return, but nothing happened. He ran out of the library as fast as he could to look for help. After a few minutes he came upon two hikers on the main trail. "Oh, my gosh. What a cute dog," said the female hiker. "What are you doing out here all alone? Where’s your owner?" River replied with several urgent barks. "You think maybe his owner is hurt somewhere?" She said to her hiking companion. "This isn't Old Yeller, Jen. There's probably a cabin around here somewhere," the male hiker replied. "I don't know, Mike. He seems really distraught. I think he wants us to follow him." River barked in agreeance and then began to run back towards the library.

"Jen, where are you going?" Mike yelled as he ran after her. They ran until they came upon the library. The hikers stood frozen in amazement for a moment until River barked sharply, snapping them out of their gaze. They followed River through the door, into the illuminated room, and right up to the book which was now lying on the floor. He placed his paw on the book and looked up at the hikers. "You brought us here to read you a bedtime story?" Mike said sarcastically. Jen picked the book up off the floor and read its title aloud, "Brookfire. I've never heard of this book." Jen opened the book and began to read its pages. "Once upon a spacetime, hidden deep in the heart of a mystical forest, shrouded by the veil of time itself, there stood an ancient library that held within its living walls an awesome and terrible secret."

"Boring!" Mike said as he grabbed the book from Jen's hands. "Hey, Mike! I was reading that," said Jen. "Yeah, and I just saved this poor dog from having to listen to you read." Then Mike began to walk around the room until he heard something, a voice whispering his name. "Did you hear that, Jen?" Mike asked as he searched for its origin. "Stop playing around, Mike. I'm not gonna fall for another one of your stupid pranks." "No, seriously, Jen. I just heard something." He walked around until he found the source. Upon the pedestal where my book just sat, a new book appeared and it was calling for its author. "Mike," the book whispered seductively, urging him forward. In a trance-like state, Mike lifted the book off its pedestal, turned the cover, and before Jen could blink he was gone.

"Mike!" Jen called out in fear and disbelief as she ran to the book that now held Mike's destiny. She fell to her knees and clutched it in her hand. The ground began to vibrate and the books began to shake. "Ouch!" Jen exclaimed as she dropped the book which was now vibrating as well. "It shocked me." She tried to pick it up once more but again felt the slight jolt of electricity spark her fingertips. River began to bark. The walls were shaking violently now and the door was beginning to close. "Come on, boy," Jen shouted to River as they ran for the door and jumped out just in the nick of time.

Jen took a moment to catch her breath. Then she stood up and turned around to look back at the library, but it was gone. She looked all around but it was nowhere to be seen. They found the main trail and eventually made it back to the trailhead and the parking lot. Jen started towards Mike's car when she realized that he had the keys in his pocket. "Crap! The keys." River nudged her leg and started walking over to an orange and white van. "Is this your owner's van?" River barked and then lifted his paw to the front bumper on the driver's side. Jen reached under the bumper and found a key. She unlocked the door and River jumped inside.

Jen climbed up in the van and began to search for something that could tell her who this van and this dog belonged to. She popped open the glove compartment and found a thick envelope stuffed with cash. "Oh, my God!" She said in shock as she quickly thumbed over dozens of hundred dollar bills. "There must be at least $20,000 here." She fumbled through the other contents of the glove compartment when she found a small tape recorder with a note that read, PLAY ME. She pushed play and listened.

"If you're listening to this then I'm probably dead. The cancer came back and I just couldn't go through another round of surgeries and chemo and all that pain just to buy me another year at most. I didn't want to end my life in pain. So I cashed out my accounts, bought this van, and took to the road with my dog, River. If I'm going to die I'm going to do it my way. Inside the glove compartment is an envelope with whatever cash I have left. Please use it to take care of my dog. He's the best friend I've ever had. I love you, River. I'm sorry I had to leave you." River whimpered at the sound of his best friend saying goodbye.

Jen wiped the tears from her face, took a deep breath, and looked over at River who appeared to be crying himself. "Okay," was all she said. It was all she could say after everything that just happened. Mike had disappeared into a book in a library that didn't exist. Who could she tell? Who would believe her? So she started the van and drove off into the sunset, River by her side.

Thanks for sticking with me till the end. If you enjoyed the read, hit that Like button below to let me know.

Subscribe to my tribe.

And if you feel so inclined, a tip would be divine!

fantasy
2

About the Creator

Cat Brooks

Just a girl in a van with a dog and a dream, and a penchant for rhyming... and a few other things!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.