Futurism logo

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Book Recommendation

By Varun YadavPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
A song of Ice and Fire

What is the book about?

Game of Thrones is the first book in a 5 book series called A Song of Ice and Fire written by George R. R. Martin. First published in 1996, Game of Thrones is a fantasy-drama novel. The world, Westeros and the seven kingdoms are entirely Martin's imagination. Game of Thrones is a conquest between rival Houses. A feud for power, honour, justice and revenge.

Narrated from the point of view of eight major characters, the story grows on you differently each time. It commences with a brief Prologue and instantly describes the real threat to the Realm and all of the Seven Kingdoms. "Winter is Coming". But what is coming with it?

Is it worth reading?

Game of Thrones made a clamour in its genre. While most people feel it doesn't, I believe it has got the better of J. R. R. Tolkien's Lord of The Rings. For one, characters are immensely complex. Their motivations are hard to trace. Yet, those are the characters to watch out for. They are the ones responsible if you feel perturbed or betrayed!

The book comes with a map to help you make sense of the influence geographical locations have on the story: the North, the South, the Lands beyond the Wall, and the Summer Islands. But, if you think it's all kings and queens and castles and dragons, you're mistaken. Game of Thrones is rather unsettling.

It will make your flesh crawl, your stomach turn. You'll feel the chill on the Wall and smell the stench in King's Landing. Your ears will ring with the sound of steel after a duel. Once in a while, you may even want to close your eyes just to see a Direwolf staring right at you. You'll make mistakes. Trusting the wrong people will not be the biggest one. It is not paying attention to detail that will get you killed.

“Lord Petyr,” Ned called after him. “I … am grateful for your help. Perhaps I was wrong to distrust you.”

Littlefinger fingered his small pointed bearded. “You are slow to learn, Lord Eddard. Distrusting me was the wisest thing you’ve done since you climbed off your horse.”

Is it even popular?

Game of Thrones had already sold 90 million copies by April 2019. HBO has made a TV show by the same name, which you have probably heard of. You may have watched it. You may have not. In either of the cases, you must pick the book. The TV show is only the tip of the iceberg.

What did I like the most about this book?

Personally, I found the book a page-turner. It gripped me tightly. The chapters always left me hanging, and I could not help myself from turning to the next. I was astounded to see how passionately the author has explored the human psyche. No superficiality. Just human, his ugliness and his beauty. Naked as truth.

“Where to begin? I am a vile little man, I confess it. My crimes and sins are beyond counting, my lords and ladies. I have lain with whores, not once but hundreds of times. I have wished my own lord father dead, and my sister, our gracious queen, as well.” “I have not always treated my servants with kindness. I have gambled. I have even cheated, I blush, to admit…”

The characters are found accepting their follies. And denying them. Taking pride in their ethos. And succumbing to guilt. Jealousy is pronounced. Love is faked. And, even though you'll find yourself amidst the chaos, you'll also find hints of virtue. Weak as it may seem initially, but who prevails at the end is for you to find out.

book review
1

About the Creator

Varun Yadav

I’m a Psychologist, Writer, Philanthropist, Acitivist, and Social Entrepreneur.

I write a newsletter called Typerwriter: https://varunyadav.substack.com/publish

A writer has to eat! Tip below 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.