Futurism logo

Forward the Kali Yuga

Or: I Want My Apocalypse and I Want it NOW!

By Tom BakerPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
2
AI-generated art.

Just so I can be clear on this: I DON'T SUPPORT ANY POLITICAL CAUSES. I don't give a f*ck who the godd*mned "President of the Yoo Knighted Stehts" is. One gangster is as good as any other. I'm dying of heart disease; I could wake up tomorrow, have the Widowmaker, and this whole miserable jailhouse in space will disappear. (I guess that would be my "parole.") So I'm not wasting ONE MINUTE of my precious time worrying about which group of criminals makes up the Powers That Be. IDGAF. My personal feeling is that if I could I'd siphon off MILLIONS from the military budget and give it to the poor, homeless, and needy. That would make me laugh. But, of course, that will never happen.

I don't want LESS degeneracy, I WANT MORE. Viva DEGENERACY! I want enough social malaise and rot to have the whole shithouse crumble down upon itself. You ask me if I'm a "nihilist"? The AI says I am. Whether or not I'm a solipsist is another question. I can assure you my deepest metaphysical sense is that we cannot establish a reality for ANYTHING beyond our own perceptions of it. Reality is a jump-cut, or at least memory, and the world is a molecular illusion of quantum parts.

Memory is an illusion, "reality" a perceptual delusion, the future is false and accruing moment-to-moment, and there is only NOW. It all disappears into probable darkness, leaving only YOU and the Universal Consciousness hanging in the balance. As re: mankind, I cannot LOVE humanity, in any regard, for I see humanity for what humanity is: the most destructive if intelligent hirsute beast in the entire animal kingdom, one that will destroy ALL life on this planet out of a greedy, rapacious need to MAXIMIZE PROFITS. My final philosophy revolves around how much enjoyment I can get out of, oh, the next five minutes or so.

The final battle, of course, will be a religious one. I won't name the players but I think by process of elimination, we can say it won't be the Hare Krishna versus the Mormons. Either that or AI will just decide that "human germs" need thermonuclear cleansing. In an era when computers think and are ALL HOOKED INTO EACH OTHER, I wouldn't say it's far-fetched. Far from it. Either that or the UFO people, whatever the hell they are, wherever the hell they come from, will land and take over. Bully for them. I hope they do a better job at preserving this miserable "hell fenced-in" this old world is.

The drumbeats of doom are resounding in the distance. The hoofbeats of the Final Act. Adam Parfrey said "Apocalypse is crack," commenting further that it was a "vast cloud of illusions" puffed on and puffed on until said puffer collapses. The Christian holds to the "Second Coming of Christ" (they've been expecting that one for a while now), riding a white horse, holding a flaming sword. Hindus have a similar image in the Tenth and Final Avatar, said to cleanse the world at the end of the Kali Yuga, the Age of Gloom, and the Age of Iron (our Age, arguably), the time elapsed since Lord Krishna left this Earth at the summation of the Mahabharata War. All of this may be fairy tales, human delusions--the details I mean. Behind it is a vast metaphysical truth: the perceptual world of physical "reality" is a covering for something else. The drumbeat's out of time, as a certain pop singer from the Eighties sang. Verily, we all hang by a thread over the abyss. Look down into it, oh Reader, and into YOU it will stare back with a hungry animal gaze.

Sartre, in Existentialism is a Humanism, decried a waiter who acted in "bad faith." Existentialism teaches that ALL men must act in accordance with their "true nature." The Great Beast put it thusly: "Thou hast no right but to do thy will." If the "high roads lead through hell," said another, then "so be it." Max Stirner disposed of the "spooks" in favor of the all-pervading Ego, which, to him, was sublime and all we could ever know and all that must be satisfied. As far as other people were concerned, he literally said when adversity in the form of the system or its lackeys stood in his way, "I consume them. They are my food." (How he did this seems to be a matter of conjecture, but I suppose Ted Bundy might have felt the same way.)

What of it? The entire world is one vast killing machine. From the animal species on up, and in every country, in every sovereign state, madness reigns. Murder is paramount. "Wars and rumors of wars" (all fought for finance, capital, Money, Money, Money) abound; humans believe they will go on and on, day by day, and this world will NEVER END. In truth, this is a state of self-deception on a colossal scale, but probably necessary for each individuated monad to maintain its sanity. In truth, you can be snuffed out within the next few seconds. "Think of it Tom," said an old woman in my building who beat three forms of cancer, "when it happens, it's going to happen in the blink of an eye."

Yes. And as Nietzsche maintained, "Amor fati." Or, "love your fate."

Whatever that is. I'm going to embrace it. You can do as much destruction or creation as your mind can conceive in a life. You can be Oppenheimer, Hitler, Ted Bundy, Gandhi, or Martin Luther King Jr.-- or a great artist or a bullshit artist or everybody to everybody, or a nobody. Either and all avenues and byways are open. But are you guiding the hand that holds the pen, scalpel, or sword? I try and take my cues from Other Spaces.

"Death endeth all for every man, for every 'son of thunder'..."

One day, a vast cerebral hemorrhage will result in the cataclysmic destruction of perceived physical reality. This is no idle daydream; everything DIES, and everything that CAN be conceived, in the Ultimate Nightmare, will transpire. "You will live to see horrors beyond your comprehension," said Nikola Tesla, having said slogan engraved on a ring he wore. And he was so, so correct.

But not "live." The REAL horrors are still distant, I think, at least as far as the linear "time track" (to borrow a phrase from Scientology). They may be beyond your death and in the mists of what we BELIEVE to be, or consider, the "future." Speaking of which, I have to go. This essay is no longer flowing, amusing, or fun. and FUN IS THE LAW.

Forward the Kali Yuga. I want my Apocalypse, and I want it NOW!

Love your fate.

Love and napalm. Tom B.

quotesreligionopinionfutureextraterrestrialevolutionartificial intelligence
2

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    I know this continues to seem strange, & not that I might not dicker with a few of your assertions, but I thoroughly enjoy this, in large part because of who I am as a "man of the cloth" & the things I've seen both from myself & those around me. This was a fun screed. (And I think you could have gone on a long while without losing me.)

  • Incredibly thought provoking piece. Just subscribed to you. I was studying the Hermetica last night and yes, it seems things must get much worse before they heal at all. Great work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.