Futurism logo

Fantasy/Reality

Finding Fulfillment

By Ethan WesterfieldPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

PROLOGUE

There they laid side by side, on some sandy beach in an unknown destination far away from the rest of the world. With not a cloud in sight, the sun hung overhead shining its scorching rays upon just the two of them. Light dazzled across the water as soft waves washed along the shore then bubbled back into the endless ocean only to return moments later. Gulls took to the air soaring through the clear blue sky without a sound. The stillness of the seaside was entrancing. At the heart of the boundless beachfront, a bold red umbrella shielded two cozy lounge chairs that rested atop the smooth golden sand. Untroubled by the failures of the past or the fortunes of the future, the chime of two champagne glasses echoed throughout the silence. There they laid side by side, just two unified souls under the sun.

ACT I

I lived a simple life. One not marred by the thrills of an ordinary lifestyle. I was an early riser. Woke up before the dawn chorus could even begin. Marked my calendar. Ate a grapefruit. Checked my empty inbox. Exercised in a monochromatic red room. Freshened up for the day. Sat at a cold desk for the next nine hours. Then ate my favorite dish; a kale salad with a side of black lentils. As the lights went down before the day was over, I took time to breathe. I listened to the sounds of silence. Saw through the kaleidoscope of time. Tasted the fruits of the world tree. I was alive, even if I had lost the feeling.

Every day was the same. A repetitious cycle that I saw no problem with. Having detached myself from the chaos of civilization, I became one with my work. No one to disturb me. No one to worry me, hurt me, abandon me. No one to touch. No one to love. I shed my concern for the troubles of the world. Yet, in doing so, I failed to realize that I had lost my humanity long ago. I tirelessly searched for the fulfillment I thought I no longer needed. Still, I refused to cross my boundaries.

That was until, one evening during my work hours, I received a holo message from my employer. Quickly rising to my feet, I connected to the mainframe afraid, yet excited.

“This is a direct automated message on behalf of Asteria from Director Monet for...Hanako Kadomatsu.”

“This is she.”

“Serial identification please.”

“JP-080645.”

“Thank you...Please step forward for biometric scan...Thank you. Message playback, initiate.”

“Bonjour, Ms. Kadomatsu, I hope all is treating you well. I am doing wonderful myself, thank you very much. In light of recent discoveries, it has come to my attention that you have worked for Asteria longer than me. I must say, you have been an excellent employee, merci. With that said, I see that in that time, you have never taken a sick day or even gone on holiday. As an international worker, I understand there may be...cultural differences between us. But no more! Twenty years of service can not go unrewarded. Because of your fantastic work, twenty thousand euros have been wired into your account. No need to worry about the conversion for that has already been taken care of. Additionally, with the expansion of our team, I have mandated that you will be taking a leave of absence for the next thirty days, which goes into effect à cette heure. Consider it a gift, from yours truly mademoiselle. With love, au revoir Ms. Kadomatsu.”

“Message playback concluded. Have a great day...Hanako Kadomatsu. And always remember, reach past the stars, and venture beyond the universe.”

With those final words, the holo powered off. Still in shock, I stood frozen. Time elapsed seemingly dozens of times around me before I awoke. Checking my monitor, this was no dream. What the Director promised was resting in my account. Still in shock, I thought the best course of action would be to suppress it. Forget about it. It was the final hour of my shift. I sat at the edge of my frigid seat and tried to refocus. Tragically, I was incapable of logging back into my work account. I tried countless passwords even though I knew I had it right the first time. Recognizing my fate, I withdrew. I did not take a breath that evening. Idle in a living room I never visited, sitting on a couch I never felt, staring at a screen I never turned on, I waited. Watching the balance. It never fluctuated. Just remained, watching me back.

ACT II

I woke up on the couch and saw that the world had already begun without me. Frightened by this revelation I stayed down. For the first thing I saw was the number. I stayed on that couch while the autonomous machines kept my home tidy, as they always did. An undisclosed period of time went by and all I could think of was who I used to be. Was I anything without work? If I ceased to exist, would the world skip a beat? Was I anything beyond the walls of my confinement...Was I even in the right skin? Rather than wallow in my own self-pity, I decided to distract myself. Exploring the depths of the home which I resided in, I found a great deal of new experiences. What I had seen for so long as a glass cage, was anything but. The property was my own personal wonderland to explore and so I did. Sadly, when the haze of amazement washed away from my vision, I became aware that only a few hours had passed. Only so much one can do when on their own.

That day, I had exhausted myself. Before I could rest for the night, I sluggishly returned to my icy desk. Seated in the chair with my hands glued to the console, I opened up the browser. To my surprise, that fulfillment I had been searching for was right before me, just beyond the digital glass.

“Are you tired of the same old Nostalgia Tablets? Wanna go back to the good ol’ days without the hassle of those pesky Memory Drives? Or do you long for the fantasies of the future? If you answered yes to any of those questions, then you’re in luck! Here at Miinos, we have developed the next step in cerebral reading technology. Introducing, the Ceron! Combining neural link tech with full-body reactive mesh, we at Miinos have constructed the most technologically advanced suit to date. Simply slip into the elastomeric bodysuit, apply the headgear, and imagine your wildest dreams. With no troublesome wires and cables, stepping into your dreams is now as easy as changing your clothes. Offering full sensory feedback, you’ll not only get your five senses stimulated, but you might just get that secret sixth one going as well. So what are you waiting for, hurry while supplies last! Order right now within the next twenty minutes and you’ll qualify for the founder’s price of only twenty thousand dollars with free shipping and handling. Because remember, it’s not just about seeing your fantasies, it’s about feeling your fantasies.”

Sometimes, it feels as though the universe gives us signs. Within five minutes I had placed my order. Going to sleep in my bed with a smile on my face, it was the first time in a long while that I felt happy. I had almost forgotten quite how nice that felt.

Filled to the brim with eagerness, I awaited my gift. Sitting on my glass floor balcony I overlooked the foggy landscape. Grey clouds filled the sky and tears of joy descended from the heavens. With a morning brew in my hand, I watched the droplets slide to the ground. All I did was wait patiently. Thinking of the infinite possibilities I was unsure of where I would start. Yet, my thoughts were derailed. Out from beyond the mist, a human figure dressed in all white from head to toe emerged. Carrying a black pack on its back it followed the trail of my front yard. Heading down, before I reached the bottom of the staircase I heard the doorbell ring. Catching my breath and fixing my hair I unlocked the sliding door. The tall figure in white looked forward, then down...directly at me. I was unable to see past the blackened mirror of their helmet. Opening its palm, a hologram appeared with the text, “HANAKO KADOMATSU”. Checking the box, the figure looked at its palm. Another message appeared, “CONFIRM YOUR ORDER FOR THE CERON”. I confirmed. “SHALL I BEGIN INSTALLATION”. I granted it. Lowering their head, the figure entered my home. Something no other being had ever done before. It stopped. Scanning my home, a blueprint of it appeared within its palm. Hardly moving a muscle, it stared at me, then pointed to my roof. I led the figure upstairs to my bedroom. Giving me a thumbs up, another message read, “OPTIMAL DESTINATION FOR BEST PERFORMANCE”. The figure removed the black pack from its back. Opening it up, I saw it...my salvation. “SUIT FIRST, HELM SECOND” “SHOULD I EXIT”. I told the figure to stand watch just in case. Stripping down to nothing, I slipped into the form-fitting bodysuit. With the helmet in my hands, I was one final step from my voyage. “POWER SWITCH LOCATED ON BACK OF HELM”. I understood. “SIT BACK AND HAVE FUN”. A red digital smiley face appeared on its visor. “I WILL SEE MYSELF OUT”. Placing the helmet over my head, I reached for the power button. Hesitation took hold. I stood at a crossroads and took one final breath.

ACT III

Pure. Sensory. Overload.

Shards of the past, present, and future flashed before my eyes. I had no control. My mind was scattered into millions of pieces across billions of spaces. I saw the depths of the ocean, heights beyond the exosphere, along with Heavens and Hells of the multiverse all at once. Trying to recover my spirit, I recentered myself and breathed.

Clarity.

With every breath, it became clear. Throughout my entire time on Earth, only one other soul had ever enraptured me. They were all I thought of. A tune began echoing through my ears. Our favorite song. A familiar voice. A warmth took hold of my body. Estrelar played for us to hear. I could tell it was almost time. I felt their soul touch mine. Their breath on my neck. The touch I longed for. Their words rose ever so slightly above the music. I needed them, as they needed me. Slowly opening my eyes, I saw them.

CLARITY.

The chorus began and in an instant, touching in a sweet embrace we flashed through endless lifetimes together as one. Counting the grains of sand across every known beach. We saw the beginning and the end. Time and space. Dying and resurrecting. Dancing along the stars and towering above the universe. Getting lost in each other’s eyes. Becoming one with the fabric of the cosmos, we were complete. For a brief moment in time, we felt like nothing and everything simultaneously. I found the fulfillment I thought I no longer needed.

Taking one final breath, everything stopped. I felt the radiance of the sun. I heard the waves of the ocean. I smelt the freshness of the air. I tasted the sweetness of the drink. Opening my eyes, I found the person I had lost. At the edge of reality, I write to you in this black-spinned notebook to tell you life is a series of fleeting moments. Seize the opportunity. Go forth into the horizon and never look back. Never lament on what should have, or what could have. Nothing is guaranteed. So live every second like there is no tomorrow. Live every second making your fantasies, a reality.

“Reach past the stars, and venture beyond the universe.”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Ethan Westerfield

21 y/o passionate Indigenous writer & aspiring filmmaker just searching to share stories with the world.

"Aspire to be the person of tomorrow, by being better than the person from yesterday"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.