Futurism logo

Excellence is about being the best at what you do best.

Fields

By Dylan M ParkinPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I don't know if you've noticed, but in this world, being excellent is no longer enough, because excellent people abound, and the standard of measurement is never the same. So you have to be excellent, so excellent that everyone who sees you will give you a thumbs up.

And what is excellence? Excellence is to be the best at what you do best.

I have a good friend named "A Cat with a Swagger", who is a netizen and used to be an English teacher.

I met "A Swarthy Cat" at a dinner party, which our cultural circle in Beijing organizes whenever we have nothing to do. The first time we met, I concluded that he was an extreme person.

In a dinner party for six people, the average person thinks that six dishes are enough, and the best people order seven to eight dishes, but "Swarthy Cat" ordered ten dishes and added a soup.

At that time, I thought, "This friend is so extreme in ordering food, we should make friends.

Later, I paid the bill.

When I paid the bill, he came up to me and said, "Mr. Shanglong, I'm sure you're a friend, you're really an extreme person.

Then, we became friends.

Later I learned that he was a very extreme person, and that meal was the only time I paid for a meal with him.

He remembered everyone who paid the bill and would pay them back twice as much. He likes to pay the bill because he believes in one principle: making friends with and learning from cattle people is the only way out.

He was originally a school teacher who resigned from the school because he was dissatisfied with the institutionalized school management. Soon, he realized that learning knowledge is the most important and cheapest way to leap forward in the world.

So he began to study, read, and listen to others online every day. Once he saw online that a teacher he liked was having a talk in Shanghai, he immediately bought a ticket from Chongqing to Shanghai and asked the industry senior to meet him, with only $2,000 left in his pocket at the time.

When the senior came to the cafe, he handed him a cake and said, "I'm afraid you haven't eaten, so why don't you eat while I talk to you?

The senior smiled and said, "I really haven't eaten.

Today, he has become a "Big V" in the knowledge payment circle. Many of his fans are asking me how he went from obscurity to what he is now.

I said, "I don't know much about his business model, but I know that a person who respects knowledge will naturally be respected by knowledge as well.

I don't know if you've noticed, but in this world, being excellent is no longer enough, because excellent people abound, and the standard of measurement is never the same. So you have to be excellent, so excellent that everyone will give you a thumbs up when they see you.

And what is excellence? Excellence is to be the best in what you do well.

Only those who are the best deserve to live an exquisite life.

Both I and "Swarthy Cat" are English teachers who are now fighting in different industries. What you may not know is that China is the country with the most English teachers in the world.

So, in this industry, it's not enough to be good, you have to be the best to stand out.

The other day, CCTV host Liu Xin and American host Tracy Reagan were debating on TV. Many people marveled at Ms. Liu Xin's speaking skills, but no one knew that she was the first Chinese winner of the World English Speech Contest. In other words, her English and delivery surpasses that of many even native English speakers around the world.

I met her in 2010 at an English speech contest where she was a judge. To this day, I still remember her asking me what I wanted to be in the future. I said, "I want to be an English teacher." She sighed and said, "That might be a difficult career for you."

Until today, I was sure of two things: first, Ms. Liu Xin was right about the industry; second, Ms. Liu Xin was wrong about me.

In fact, in all industries with large numbers of people, a pyramid structure is presented: the

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.