Futurism logo

Emerald Oasis 17/18

Family United

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Emerald Oasis 17/18
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

"MUM!"

It was Maxine's voice echoing in her ear. Joyce opened her eyes and found her daughter's face pressed against her chest. "We've been so worried."

Joyce dug her nails onto the surface beneath her. Her head was pumped up and she was surrounded by blankets. Joyce bit her lip and banged her head against the white pillows. "I'm back in hospital again aren't I?"

Maxine shook her head, as she held her mother's hand. "No, you're home. You were in hospital, but they sent you back here yesterday."

Joyce examined the room further and found her entire family gathered around her bed.

"I must be dreaming."

"This is real," Cleo said with a smile.

"We were thinking," Maxine said. "Maybe you and Janine could go on a cruise."

"A cruise?"

Maxine nodded. "Janine is finishing University and she's leaving her job soon."

"So she's not a prostitute anymore?"

The family laughed. "Oh, so that's what it is?" Maxine laughed. "No wonder she never told me." She looked up at Janine and hugged her. "I won't hold it against you. You earned that money."

"What sort of cruise is it?" Joyce asked.

"A worldwide cruise," Maxine explained. "I found one that goes to all your favourite places. And also to places you've always wanted to go."

"But Cleo is paying for me to live here."

"We've had a talk with Mr Discord," Cleo explained. "He said that if you do choose to go, he'll be happy to keep your room for you."

"That's good," Joyce sad. "And what about the house at Cup-And-Saucer Street?"

"Janine is living there," Maxine said. "Cleo and I decided it was best not to seel the house. Too many memories to lose."

"I'm quite pleased about that," Joyce admitted with a smile. "I've had that house for years, I'm happy to pass it on to the family."

Cleo's eyes rolled to the floor. He gulped. "There is some bad news."

"Bad news?" Joyce asked.

"Cleo..." Maxine muttered. "I don't know if it's the right time to tell her."

"Tell me what?" Joyce asked. "You started now. You might as well finish."

"Rodger was arrested."

"WHY?" Joyce screeched.

"He was accused of a lot of things. Like theft and damage to property."

Joyce frowned. "Then I should have been arrested too."

"Because Rodger has full mental capacity, he's liable for his crimes," Cleo explained. "He admitted to beating up two gentlemen the other night. They might be moving here. Dorothy and Victoria are still here though: I think they miss his nagging."

"We should tell her everything," Janine said. "Stealing the car wasn't the only reason he was arrested." Janine spoke out, facing her grandmother. "Rodger's also been accused of murder."

"Murder?" Joyce gasped. "The old man hasn't got it in him."

"They found a skellington in his garden at his old house," Janine explained. "The skellington has been identified as Suzy Mill. She's been missing for over 50 years."

"Suzy Mill...could she be the mother of his children?" Joyce asked.

"How do you know?" Maxine asked.

"He told me about her, but he never told me her name. Wait, he told me he had a wife called Mavis who died not long after the children were born. But then he went on to say that he was never married"

"What did he tell you?" Cleo asked. "We'll have to pass this on to the police. Is that okay?"

Joyce nodded. "He told us that his girlfriend was... no it wasn't his girlfriend, he was dating Victoria at the time. This girl was kicked out of her parent's house for carrying Rodger's child. And he took her in. He said she died of childbirth. He said he forged the marriage certificate so he wouldn't lose the girls. He was love with them. Don't ask me about the details. I don't understand it either. That man confuses me."

Janine shook her head. "He's been telling you a pack of lies. Suzy Mill was brutally murdered after the triplets were born. He used the girls as a way to get away with it. Suzy Mill's parents never stopped looking for her."

"Come to think of it," Joyce said. "He did...hit on me many years ago. He was still with Victoria at the time. It was before any of you were born. I was unconscious and drugged up. I think that's why Oscar said I should never hang about with him anymore. My parents would never let me go out on my own. It's a shame to be honest."

"My parents never let me go out on my own either," Whitney said. "To be honest, what Granddad and your parents did was actually a good thing. They were looking out for you. Granddad always did that."

"He was," Joyce said. "And so do the fairies. I have the feeling that Oscar sent the fairies down to look after me whilst I'm at this place. I'm sure when I go on this cruise, they'll continue to look after me."

"Can you tell us more about the fairies?" Todd asked.

"Don't be silly," Kelly whined. "You should act your age."

Todd stuck out his tongue. "I should be saying the same thing about you."

Joyce told them everything that she knew about the fairies. Cleo's lad, Todd listened with great interest. Kelly paid more interest on her mobile phone. Whitney listened in awe. The rest of them listened, nodding as if they had already knew the story before. Giggles filled with room when Joyce tried to explain the political system of the fairies, and the kings and queens. Most of all, she spoke fondly of the friends she made in the garden.

Watching the faces of Cleo's children light up in we was fulfilling. Maxine's and Cleo's faces were baffled and Claire was holding back hysterical laughter. She carried on yacking, thinking to herself how good it felt to have her family back together..

After her family left, Joyce was on the move again. The carers asked if she needed any help, and she declined. She made her way down the dining room to see Victoria and Dorothy. They Hisashi sitting in Rodger's old seat. On the table next to them were Reese and Ronald in wheelchairs and bandages. They looked as if they wanted a strong drink.

"Evening ladies," Joyce said, sitting back in her seat.

Victoria looked up at her and smiled. "Hello Joyce!"

"We heard about you," Dorothy said, patting Joyce's back. "I'm so glad you're feeling better."

Victoria slammed a menu back on the table. "It looks like it's your favourite tonight: Fish & Chips or Chicken Katsu Curry."

"What's a Katsu curry?" Joyce asked.

"No idea," Dorothy admitted, pointing at the pictures on the menu. "But here's a picture of it."

"Oishii!" Hisashi said. "It's very yummy."

"I thought you couldn't speak English."

Hisashi nodded and tapped his head. "Ill brain: not remember English. Learn again."

"Oh that's good," Dorothy said. "You'll be able to join in with us more."

"I think I'll try the chicken katsu curry tonight," Victoria said, gleaming. "I feel like I must try something different. I've had a curry before."

"I want both to be honest," Joyce cackled. "I love curries and I love fish and chips."

"I'm sure if you ask, they'll let you have it."

"I've got an idea." Victoria helped herself to a glass of water. "If two of us have fish and chips and the other two have chicken katsu curry, we can all share."

"What a good idea," Dorothy said, picking up the piles of newspaper from her handbag and slapping them on the table."

Victoria rolled her eyes. "Put them away. We'll be eating soon."

"These are all about Rodger and Mr Mill," Dorothy said. "He's gone now."

Joyce leaned over the table. "Can I have a look at them?"

"Sure," Dorothy said. Joyce went through four issues of the Uddington-Crown Press, and found Rodger mentioned on every cover.

MASS ESCAPE FROM CARE HOME

A care home in Uddington-Crown has been heavily criticised for letting four residents escape from the premises in the middle of the night. The Care Quality Commission were called been in for an immediate inspection. They have asked the home to increase their security.

How the four residents escaped, it is not yet known. Home manager, Mr Discord says, "This is has come as a great shock, but I am glad that three of them were able to return safely whilst the other was found safe. We will be working together to make sure that this home is a safe environment for everybody."

CARE HOME RESIDENT ARRESTED

An Elderly man was arrested last night for stealing a nurse's car and money from the care home's safe. He is also facing other charges as remains were discovered buried in his garden. It is believed that these could be the remains of Suzy Mill who vanished sixty years ago.

SUZY MILL MYSTERY SOLVED

The remains of Suzy Mill were discovered in a back garden. Forensic tests have confirmed that she brutally murdered not long after giving birth to her triplets. Her parents, Maurice and Mildred Mill never gave up hope of finding Suzy, having seen three children that resembled their daughter. Mrs Mill passed away last year. Mr Mill is a resident of Emerald Oasis Nursing Home and it's reported that he still cries out his daughter's name.

After killing Suzy Mill, Rodger Bentley raised her three daughters, Olive, Maria and Olive under the false pretence that their mother was a Mavis Bentley whom he married. No records for a Mrs. Mavis Bentley exists.

Mr Mill has been informed of the news.

JOY AND HEARTBREAK

The mystery of missing woman, Suzy Mill has come to an end after sixty years. The remains of eighteen-year-old, Suzy Mill were discovered by her biological daughters. Suzy never got the chance to see her daughters grow up. She was stabbed to death after she gave birth to them at her assailant's home.

"No words can express how I feel right now," sobs Mr Mill, Suzy's father. "Whilst I'm happy to meet my grandchildren, I'm saddened I could not stop my daughter's horrific fate."

"You did a good job getting rid of him," Joyce told Victoria.

"I heard about you going away. How long are you going for?"

"Six months."

"That's a long time. I'll try and be here for you when you get back."

"And me," Dorothy said, smiling.

Hisashi raised his hand as well.

"Have fun with the fairies when I go," Joyce demanded.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.