Futurism logo

Emerald Oasis 15/18

Where’s My Mum?

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Emerald Oasis 15/18
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Meanwhile over at the Emerald Oasis Nursing Home, a riot was about to take place. Maxine Patrick may come across as lazy due to her unemployment or uncaring, but she had a side to her that many rarely knew. Maxine had spent thirty minutes trying to look for her mother, but couldn’t see her. She searched everybody’s room, asked all the staf and even residents if they had seen her mum.

"Where's my mum?" Maxine asked the overtired receptionist.

The receptionist shrugged her shoulders. "She should be in the garden, my love. She's always there."

Maxine shook her head and slammed her fists against the desk. "She's not in there. I've spent half an hour trying to look for her."

"Have you tried her room?"

"I've looked everywhere."

"I can't find my dad either," a lady behind Maxine said.

She turned around. "Who's your dad?"

"Rodger Bentley. I'm Lisa: his daughter. I've come from Canada especially to see him."

"Calm down ladies, I will find out where they are for you."

"They're not in the building!" Gaston Discord, the home manager had announced as he strolled into the reception area. "I'm afraid we've had a breakout."

"A breakout?"

"What do you mean we had a breakout? They're our parents, not prisoners."

"Last night four of our residents somehow managed to escape the building. Joyce and Rodger were two of the residents that escaped the building."

"How?" Maxine shouted. "I thought this place was secure."

"We don't know how this happened," Gaston confessed. "Let me assure you that we will be doing a full investigation. I'm shocked. I don't know how this is possible."

"No good repeating yourself," Maxine roared. "Have you called the police?"

"...Not yet, but we will do."

"How long have you known she's been missing?" Maxine questioned. "You should have called the police straight away. Why wasn't I informed earlier? This is nowhere near good enough. This ain't right. My brother pays £900 a week for you lot to look after my mum and you let her down! What if she has another fall? What if she's dying out there."

"Mrs Patrick is a strong woman, she'll be fine."

"She would be fine if you guys looked after her properly." Nothing could stop Maxine's screaming and accelerating heartbeat. "I will be calling the police myself! And I'll be looking for her."

"DAD!" Lisa screamed, holding her jumper as she ran to the entrance. Gaston opened the door for Rodger, Victoria and Dorothy. Lisa grabbed her dad and help him as if he was made of diamonds. "I'm so glad you're safe."

"Of course I'm alright," Rodger said. "Apart from the nurse's car."

"You promised me you wouldn't do anything stupid while I was away." Tears rolled down her face. "Now come on, let's go back to your room. We're all waiting for you."

"Well, there's only one missing now," Gaston said. "Maybe they'll know where your mother is."

Maxine dashed in front of Dorothy and Victoria and her knees crumbled to the floor. "Do you know where my mum is?"

"She's still in Blackpool," Victoria replied. "She was walking to the beach when the bus drove off."

Maxine glared at Gaston and the receptionist. "Call my brother. I will be looking for my mum. I'm still angry about this. I will be ringing CQC about this as well." Maxine stormed out, on a mission to rescue her mother.

Dorothy asked Gaston, "Are they still doing breakfast?"

Victoria sighed. "Trust you to ask about food. That's something that Rodger would say."

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.