Futurism logo

Dreams Are Like Poetry

Sometimes They Make Sense, And Sometimes They Don't

By Rachael SpaffordPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Traveling to Dreamland...

Welcome to the world of dreams, where anything can happen!

Have you ever dreamed of flying? Falling? Teleporting? Looking through other people's eyes?

Come with me as we explore my personal world of dreams....you never know what we may find...

When I was a kid I had several reoccurring dreams...sometimes I would fly, other times I stood on top of a cliff, looked down at my family, closed my eyes, and jumped...which woke me up with the sensation that I was falling! Another reoccurring dream was of little fires burning in our backyard...and there was one dream where I saw my baby brother's eye sockets melt down...and another about walking out to the middle of the cul-de-sac where we were living at the time and looking up at the sky and seeing red and purple and pink swirls in the night sky...

When I got older, most of these dreams went away, or at least, I don't remember having them anymore.

I still had flying dreams on occasion, but I started having levitating dreams more often instead, which I still thought were pretty cool:)

Some of my favorite dreams are when I go to a whole different world, even though some of them are a little scary...like one reoccurring dream that I have in my adult life of going down to the basement in some building and having to make my way through the monster-infested space to climb back out the other side! Or sometimes I travel down dark corridors and go into different rooms, some good, some not, which I like to think is like walking through the mind...

I am sometimes looking through other people's eyes in dreams, how I know this is anyone's guess...and I even jump from one person's perspective to another's in the same dream! Sometimes I even know that I am in a dream and can even change what's going on, but that doesn't happen too often...

I've even woken up from a dream into another dream!

My most recent dream that occurred right before waking early this morning was quite fascinating...

I was getting ready to travel back home from some group tour, apparently somewhere in Europe...I got on a train to take us to the airport, or so I thought...other members of the group also boarded, and we were off. We entered into this big city, which at first I thought I recognized as Edinburgh, Scotland, with the castle up on a hill...however, when the clouds came apart I realized it was not a castle on top of the hill, and indeed it wasn't a hill either...it was a taller mountain with the biggest palace I had ever seen on it!

It reminded me of a mix of a middle eastern design and Russian architecture with great domed towers...the train pulled to a stop at the station and we all got out. I followed the group to what looked like a ticket counter and hoped we could get out of this place soon....I had a feeling it wasn't a good place to stick around in for long...

While the others were standing in line, I followed someone else down the aisle to another room...we passed by an information booth that had the word 'worship' typed on several signs, and I wondered who or what they worshiped here?

We came upon a crowd of people mulling around, and I saw a group of what looked like businessmen all dressed up in suits sitting in the corner....I thought to myself 'I don't want to walk by them and gain their attention'...so I turned around and walked another way...I came upon a freakish site of people being suspended in water, or some like substance, in the middle of the street, like they were on display...they were still moving around, which I thought was weird, since they didn't have heads, or the lower halves of their arms...

I had the feeling if anyone went against the status quo they would end up like that...

Then a clock chimed and everyone stopped what they were doing to look towards the palace and recite some kind of prayer or devotion to whoever it was who was in charge...sort of like 'the State' in Communism by the looks...I stood with them so I wouldn't stick out, but definitely knew I needed to get out...so I woke up!

I hope you enjoyed this little journey through my dreams! Isn't the mind a fascinating place?

I encourage you to start keeping a dream journal and writing down the dreams you remember, it makes a good read years later!

Dream on!

Floating Through Dreamland

#dream #fantasy #adventure #psychology #mind #explore #fly #discover #examine #question

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.