Futurism logo

Déjà vu

how can you tell the difference between what's real or imagination?

By Jen PhillipsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

What is the difference between a dream, a vivid imagination, and Déjà vu? The difference between each one is from the google definition of each word;

Imagination: the faculty or action of forming new ideas, or concepts of external objects not present to the senses.

Dream: a series of thoughts, images, and sensations occurring in a person's mind during sleep.

Déjà vu: a feeling of having already experienced the present situation.

Sometimes it's so hard to tell the difference when you come across, lets humor this and call it a 'memory.' This is because it is so vivid in the mind and so clear, so it can be confusing sometimes.

But you and try and ask the people about these certain ‘memories’ who are in them, they look at you like you have two heads and they never recall these. So, makes you think the only other explanation is that you are reincarnation, and these are your past life memories.

Is this even possible? Reincarnation? what is even reincarnation anyway? Reincarnation is the rebirth of a soul in a new body. I'm personally not religious or anything but there are some things I believe in. I think it's because these things are scientifically proven. Like ghosts for example.

I have had my fair share of ghosts. So, if a ghost is just someone's spirit, soul, stuck in between planes, why not reincarnation?

Even if this is a thing, is this where Déjà vu comes into play? Because your past self has lived this moment before.

I have about two to three 'memories' of this feeling of I've done this before in a past life or in my current life. It doesn't help, as I said before, the people in these 'memories' don't recall them. Then again in these 'memories,' I don't necessarily see their faces, I just know they are my parents.

This first memory I have is that I am with, my parents, I am about five years old. We park in this huge parking lot and when in say huge I mean oversized parking lot. It’s dark outside. It’s late. The parking lots of lamp lights are on. My dad walks ahead of us. My mom is holding my hand. I'm on my mom's left side and my dad on my left side but up ahead like 2-3 rows over but we are walking on an angle to the building.

My parents are talking to each other, but I am unsure of what they are talking about or referring to.

I'm not sure if this is the same night or a different time period because it seems like we are in the building that we were walking towards. I say this because then it is just my mom and I. I didn't realize till after but my dad was no longer with us. I am unsure of how we got to this long hallway but we were walking down this hallway or what seems like a factory path to this conference room and my mom has some sort of meeting.

This third and final odd 'memory' I have is: My mom and I eating Timbits at her work party. We were sitting in this little square, I think that's what it would be called? But basically, it's this little garden with a few benches and planters and there's a sliding door to go into the building and an archway to walk to the street. We did eventually go this way and once we get to the street there is this crosswalk that we did use.

To me, these feel like these events actually happened in real life. Maybe they did, but it sucks because the people who can confirm these events don't recall these events even happening. So, maybe it was a dream, something similar happened or maybe these events happened to me in a past life that I had.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.