Futurism logo

Dear Mind, From A Fellow Heart

Protecting the Harmless from the Harmful

By John EverettPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Our Faith Is Not The Enemy

I had a chance to be censored, or should I say my right to have faith in anything openly denied me, and so I come to a quagmire. Can one possibly be allowed to freely write uncensored, about such censorship, on a platform that has censored him? Is this a multi dimensional thing where certain "Rules" of reality apply? I am one who believes the only impossibility is the concept of impossibility, and because we fail to realize this, we are the only thing rendering anything impossible. So, shall we give it a go?

Now we will skip the long explanation, and go straight to the policy I was referred to. It says, in their words;

We understand that that guideline in particular isn't for everyone or every piece of content that's created—however, we're committed to keeping Vocal a safe place, and other platforms have unfortunately seen over the past years how divisive and complicated gray areas like religion can make those spaces for all users. That's why our platform just isn't a home for that type of content—our policies don't allow for religious content of any sort in hopes that Vocal remains safe for everyone.

While I understand ones right to form such guidelines, I feel it would be an injustice not to challenge them on such a site as this, where free and open thought are the backbone of its very existence. Besides, we are not discussing tone, or intent, but subject. So, I will simply leave with my response, and no further commentary beyond that. "Just the facts, ma'am" as the old show so famously taught the American viewer.

Now, for clarity, this very article itself is the response. The email you are about to read was my original inquiry, for which I was directed to the policy stance quoted above. Take it for what it is, what it's worth, and do what you will with the information. I seek to sway no one, and I certainly do not seek conflict. I have "faith" that you understand.

Good afternoon,

I wanted to reach out to you to discuss this matter directly, as writing an article about the subtle discrimination overtaking our world against those who choose to follow a faith based idea seemed counterproductive, and even if it succeeded, it would feel underhanded. Besides, we just began this partnership, and first impressions work both ways. So, I will approach it as my chosen faith has taught me to. With an open mind, an open heart, and with the understanding that I must do unto others as they would do unto me. This is why I personally chose to vote against Donald Trump. Because despite what many think, in my opinion, he did not seem to represent that idea, and so I would not alienate those I don’t agree with based on the rhetoric of someone who claims we have much to agree on.

Now, I posted my article in Fact or Fiction for a reason. Because, truth be known, I don’t know any more than the Jewish community, the Muslim community, the Atheist community, etc. Thus, the title of “Faith”. I will not pretend to be self righteous because that too, goes against the teachings of my faith. But as I somewhat can surmise what the logic is behind not allowing pretexts of religion to be at the core of any article, it begs the question “What is religion?” “What is philosophy?” I am one who believes that fact is merely a majority consensus not yet disproven, and truth is what it is. And who knows WHAT truth is, for though we play a large part of creating it, we humans are terrible at recalling it. Fredrick Douglas once alluded to the idea that, just because the majority say something is right, does not make it so. I tend to agree.

Would an article about Greek mythology be more in line? How about an article regarding Jim Jones…, from a biographical view? Perhaps money or love? I ask because, for many, these are religions. I fear that as writers, readers, and thinkers, the only thing we are authors of when we begin limiting things not for tone or context, but for its general topic, is our own demise. And though you and I are both private entities, with the right to deny or approve anything in our domain, it is also true that we private entities must consider what our social contribution is. Is this ours?

That is all. Nothing more, nothing less. Just a friendly suggestion for your consideration. I wish you a happy……, well, a happy existence. May you be bl……, well, may you be well.

religion
Like

About the Creator

John Everett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.