Futurism logo

Crystals I Don't Want Right Now

Crystals that are high maintenance and expensive.

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Crystals I Don't Want Right Now
Photo by Jeff W on Unsplash

There are some crystals that I don't plan on adding to my collection right now. Can you actually believe that this is a sentence being typed out write now? Don't get me wrong, I love crystals and collecting them. Truthfully, there are some crystals out there that aren't for everyone. Whether it be for pricing reasons or quality issues, there are some crystals that I don't see myself buying any time soon. If you have or want these crystals, you've got great taste. I hope they work out for you because I don't see it happening for me. Now, let's get into the crystals I will not be buying any time soon.

  • Blue Rose Quartz

My manager told me that we don't stock blue rose quartz because it's technically low-quality rose quartz. The price is soaring due to internet popularity. I know she's right, but still. I mean, lavender rose quartz is pretty, but the opaque blue is unique. I can't find a conclusive answer on what it is, exactly. Sometimes it's rare, and other times it's undesired rose quartz, one of the most readily available crystals in the world. I'm going to take my manager's word for it and sit this one out, but wow, it's pretty.

  • Agni Tektite

If the word tektite sounds familiar, it's because I've covered the term extensively in my moldavite post. I'll leave it linked here and here. To summarize, tektites are glass that forms when meteorites hit the earth. These formations are incredibly rare and extremely old. Moldavite is a tektite, and I would love to add Agni Tektite to my collection. The vendor I got my moldavite from is actually having a sale on these guys, so maybe it's in the stars for me (get it?)

  • Raw Malachite

The store I work in has these on display, and they are stunning. Doesn't raw malachite look completely different than its tumbled counterpart? It really looks more like a space rock than any tektite I've seen. Something about it spurs my creativity; I don't know. My biggest reservation on these guys is the safety involved. If you don't know, raw malachite has sulfur in it, and you need to handle it with care if you aren't wearing gloves. Of course, I know that I need to wash my hands after touching it, but I wouldn't want a pet or a neighbor to handle it accidentally without knowing. To keep me and the crystal safe, I would probably get a display to encase it. It's well worth it, but not right now.

  • Red Rutile Quartz

I am lucky to say that I have gold rutile quartz, but these red ones are a different story. I'm pretty sure that red rutile quartz is rarer and thus more expensive. When I tell you that these crystals are red, I mean it. The colors in these are so saturated and opaque. In my earlier posts, I talked a bit more about these guys. I'll leave it linked here and here.

  • Larimar

This one is EXPENSIVE! I'm lucky to say that I have a small tumble and a few chips of this crystal, but I'm holding back on getting a large piece due to the price. These crystals can only be found in the Dominican Republic, and they have been dubbed "the crystal of the ocean." We all know that I'm a sucker for all things beachy, so when I get my modern beach house, I'll pick one of these up (/j). In all seriousness, there are other crystals I have that mimic the likeness of these crystals. Caribbean blue calcite is one, along with blue arragonite. I talk about both of these pieces here and here.

  • Desert Rose Selenite

These are gorgeous crystals, but they are very fragile. I can't see myself storing these correctly. They need a lot of TCL, and I don't think I can do that. If you don't know, I keep my crystals stored in a clear plastic makeup container, so it's tricky to place delicate pieces inside.

Those were the crystals I do not want. They're beautiful, but not for me right now. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. It doesn't go unappreciated!

Here is my Vocal page

Here is my website

Here is my Instagram

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.