Futurism logo

Brotherhood of Wolves

The Introduction

By Cory NoblePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Brotherhood of Wolves
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

So lets start with a little information about myself then I will tell you about my brothers and how we saved the world. My name is Cole I'm 25 and grew up in a small town just outside of Portland. Weird things started happening to me around my 16th birthday little did I know at the time it was my powers manifesting themselves. I slow learned that I had the power of manipulation and was able to convince anyone to do what I wanted them to do. However this power didn't seem to work on my history teacher Mr. Klein, I would soon figure out he had a lot more then history to teach me.

One day after class he asked me to meet him after school to discuss an extra credit project he had for me, when I showed up to his classroom he asked me to follow him down to the basement now at first I thought this was kind of creepy but at the same time I felt a weird connection to him. Once we got down there he open a door that looked like a vault door like the ones in the bank, we walked in and I saw stacks of books, scrolls, paintings and all kinds of artifacts that looked really old. He spoke first "I've been watching you since you walked into my class last year I had a feeling you were exactly who I've been waiting for and now I know it is true. You may have noticed that your gift doesn't affect me the way it does others, that's because I'm an immortal being that long ago was tasked to serve four brothers."

As he is speaking he walks over to one of the stacks and grabs a painting, "These four were like family to me there is the leader Igor, the middle boys Ivan and Ash and the youngest James." The painting looked to be 100 years old the four men were standing in what looked like a forest clearing and there shadows looked like wolves. Mr. Klein continued "About 300 years ago they were betrayed by their best friend and murdered, on the night they were killed they made a blood oath that one day when humanity needs them again they will be reborn. Their souls are bound with someone who is worthy of their power, The first being manipulation its said only someone who is pure of heart and truly charismatic is worthy of this." He paused and looked at me "That's you the soul of Igor has chosen you to inherit his power and everything that was his but I'll get to that in a minute. The next is strength now all for of them were inhumanly strong but Ivan had a different kind of strength fueled by emotion. The third was tactical knowledge you could give Ash any kind of situation or problem and he would instantly have the solution. Lastly the fourth is technical knowledge James was able to build anything they would need from weapons to vehicles he was at home in his workshop." He put the painting down and turn back to me I could feel myself just staring at him thinking what is this psycho talking about this like something right out of a fantasy novel that my sister reads but at the same time a part of me knew he was telling the truth.

I began to feel a little dizzy so I sat down right there in the middle of the floor and looked at him, "So let me get this straight your like a 300 hundred year old immortal and the soul of some long dead guy posses my body which is why I can make others do what I want?" He nodded, "All correct except I'm actually more like 1000. Now I know that this is a lot to handle but this just barely scratches the surface especially since it is Igor that chose you that means there is so much for you to do." Still sitting on the floor and staring at him I asked, "Like what and can I refuse I didn't ask for this..." he cut me off, "Unfortunately no you are stuck with it but I will be here to help you along the way and once we find the other three everything will get easier."

He walked over to a different stack and grabbed a leather bound book and handed it to me, "This is one of Igor's journals it should help you out a little and hopefully answer some questions." I took the journal and opened it and looked at him again, "Is this some kind of joke the pages are blank there is nothing here." He just stood there smiling at me, "No its not a joke the brothers had a special way of writing so that they were the only ones that could read it, unfortunately I have no idea what it was so you'll have to figure that out on your own." I tossed the book in my bag then stood up, "So where do we start you said there is a lot for me to do?" He looked back at me and gestured to my bag, "That is where you start once you figure out how to read what Igor wrote then we will be able to start our work. But whatever you do don't speak of this to anyone and don't let that book out of your sight."

As I'm walking home I keep running through everything and laugh at the fact he said don't let the book out of my sight like anyone can read it the pages are blank. When I get home I go straight to my room to start on my homework before dinner is ready. At dinner that night we are having our normal conversation talking about everyone's day. Josie (my little sister) looks at me, "Cole you are being oddly quiet tonight usually we can't get you to shut up." she giggles a little, "Oh I'm just not feeling good I think that I just need to lie down." Mom looks concerned and feels my forehead, "Well you do feel a little warm go on to bed and I'll come check on you in a bit."

I'm laying in bed when mom comes in with a cup of tea, "Here drink this it'll make you feel better." I grab the cup and noticed I can smell every ingredient that is something new. As mom is leaving my room she notices the journal on my desk and picks it up, "Oh this is a neat little book where did you get it?" as she is flipping through the pages I come up with a little lie, "It's part of a history project that I am working on for Mr. Klein's class its all about Lewis and Clark." She put the journal down and leaves.

After an hour I decide to go to bed so I go brush my teeth and change into my pajamas. After I turn off my bedroom light I go to open my window a bit because it gets stuffy in my room. When I turn back to my bed I noticed that the journal is laying open on my desk and there is a line of moonlight hitting it. I walk over and pick it up and drop it instantly right there on the first page there is writing that says Hello Cole My Name Is Igor!

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.