Futurism logo

Arrows and Roses - Chapter 8

Will he keep her?

By The Water LilyPublished 5 years ago 8 min read
Like

Thanatos returned to the bedroom and Erosa was sitting up speaking to Persephone.

“Than, I need to go check on my plants, do you mind keeping Erosa company?” His mother looked at him cheekily.

“Um, no I don’t mind.” Thanatos stood by the door as his mother rose to leave.

“You should get her something to eat,” she said to him as she passed.

Thanatos nodded and remained by the door when silence settled between them.

“Are you feeling better? When I left you were looking very pale” He took a step closer, but the distance between them felt like a mile.

“Yes well, I did believe your reaper cloak was a monster coming to get me.” She gave a small smile, adjusting her position.

“I’m sorry about that. I forgot what it looks like when its completely covering me.” Thanatos finally walked over to the fireplace and took a seat in the arm chair.

“That’s okay.”

“Do you like sandwiches?”

“Sorry, what?”

“Sandwiches, do you like them?” Thanatos waved his hand and a tray materialised on her lap, with two sandwiches cut diagonally with the crusts cut off.

“You like your sandwiches with the crusts off?” She asked.

Thanatos nodded.

Aww, that is super cute. I made a mental note in my head for future references. Even though we have lived for thousands of years, I rarely see him and barely know much about him. Knowing things about someone and knowing someone completely are two very different things.

I looked at him and saw that another tray appeared in his lap and he was already taking a bite out of one of the sandwiches.

“What’s your favourite sandwich?” I winced at my poor choice of words.

“Well, last week it was, as some mortals say, PB&J. this week, it’s banana and peanut butter.” he answered.

I lifted one of the triangles and took a small bite. Peanut butter and Banana. And it was delicious. Both nutty, sweet, and creamy all at the same time.

“Are you going to let me go home?” I asked between bites.

Thanatos choked on his sandwich, going bright red at the same time.

“Um, excuse me?”

He looked at me completely baffled.

“You know, because of the kidnapping joke your father still gets? Sorry I thought it would be funny.” I felt my cheeks growing hot.

I wanted to disappear underneath the covers and never come out again.

Why on earth would I make a joke like that. What if he was offended about it, I mean, they are his parents. Damnit.

I sneaked a peek at him, to see if he was upset but he was looking into the fire seemingly deep in thought.

“I could keep you here.” He said quietly.

Wait what now? Is he being serious?

He turned to me, he placed the plate on the small table beside the chair and turned to look at me with his dark eyes.

“Do you think you’d like living here?” He continued.

“I...uh? What did you..I… we” I stammered like an idiot. Get it together.

“It’s dark all the time, but you’re welcome to visit home whenever you like.” He added.

I’m pretty sure I was having a stroke. But I couldn’t smell burnt toast… and this was a strange way to have a stroke. But I’m a god. Gods’ don’t get strokes. Okay… I'm confused.

I opened my mouth to ask what he was going on about when he smirked at me.

He was messing with me.

I felt both relieved and disappointed. But mainly relieved.

“If you were to keep me, would it be in a prison cell? Or a tower?” I teased.

“A pretty bird deserves a pretty cage.” He answered in suave manner. He crossed his ankle over his leg and crossed his fingers together, his elbows resting on the arm rests, his body completely relaxed into the chair.

“I’m a pretty bird now am I?” I put my plate on the bedside table and folded my arms across my chest. Two can play at this game.

“Of course. You are the prettiest bird.” The look he gave me sent shivers through my body. Behind me I could feel my wings quiver. Damnit calm down! His eyes were solely trained on me, although he was relaxed, I could sense that if I tried to make a run for it, he would no doubt catch me in no time.

It reminded me of a panther, although this panther enjoyed playing with his food.

“Why do I get the feeling that this is a game of cat and mouse?” I asked aloud. I wanted to know if I was the only one getting those vibes.

“Cat and mouse? More like cat and bird, you could fly away.” He pointed out.

“True.”

I lifted back the duvet and slipped one leg out the other side, his eyes never leaving mine.

I slid out of bed quickly, not taking my eyes off him for a second, but he remained seated, but very still. So still… too still.

I spread my wings and got ready for flight. Rolling back my shoulders, I crouched down before launching myself into the air.

His room was very spacious. With a high ceiling and a medium sized chandelier that hung in the centre of the room.

When I looked down, Thanatos was no longer in the seat.

He wasn’t near the bed either.

Could reapers fly?

“You should turn around.” His voice whispered in my ear.

I whirled at the sound of his voice and found him upside down, hanging on his ceiling. Well not really hanging.

He was coming out of the ceiling. I watched as the darkness moved around him, grasping at his body as he came out. The darkness remained around his lower legs, as if it were going to try swallowing him whole. I realised it was probably holding him there. Like Batman...

“That’s a nifty little trick.” I said.

“It comes in handy, I may not be able to fly, but seeming as there are shadows everywhere, I can travel around fast.” He shrugged and reached out with his left hand to where I hovered.

I wanted to reach out myself so I lifted my hand towards him. My wings carried me over to him slowly.

I felt the electricity in the air as we got closer. The space between us slowly falling away. Our fingers so close. His eyes, soft, and mysterious. Could he feel the electricity?

No… I pulled my hand away.

I couldn’t. Not when he had someone else in his heart. It wouldn’t be right by her. I’m a cupid. I have an unfair advantage.

“Erosa?” I felt the ache in my heart at my name on his lips.

“I’m okay. I just don’t feel well.” I glided back down to the floor and climbed back into bed, feeling a little sick to my stomach.

“I’ll have the servants prepare some things for you then.”

I closed my eyes as I listened for his footsteps. But when I opened them to look around, he was already gone.

It must be the Underworld. The Underworld was making her sick. He needed to get her back to the world above. She couldn’t stay much longer. He searched for the servants and had them bring her some tea. After ensuring that the servants understood she needed ginger tea and not rosemary tea or any other kind of tea, he left and made his way to his office.

“There must be something that could help me keep her here.” He walked over to the bookshelf and started searching for anything that would help.

His mother came into his office not too long after, frowning at him.

“Erosa’s still here” She said, sitting down in a guest chair.

“Send her home.” Thanatos waved his hand not looking up from the book.

“She’s asleep.”

Thanatos stopped.

“She can’t stay.” he frowned and continued pulling out more books.

“Why not?” His mother got up and placed a hand on his shoulder, stopping him in his tracks.

“She’ll die here. The underworld is making her sick.” He explained.

“What are you talking about?” Persephone looked at him in concern.

“She’s unwell. I believe the Underworld is draining her.” Thanatos rubbed his eyes.

“Someone go and check on her!” his mother commanded.

A servant dashed out of the office and down the stairs, they knew they were rushing when they heard multiple things crash and thumping down the staircase like a body had been tossed down it.

“I don’t understand. She was fine when I left her.”

“That’s what I’m trying to find out. Did you eat anything or bring anything from the mortal realm to here?” Thanatos turned to completely face his mother who shook her head slowly.

“No, you know the story better than I do, the pomegranate seeds were a metaphor.” She replied.

He pulled out book after book, flicking through the pages, before tossing it onto his desk. He used ladders and had servants bring him every book on the underworld.

“Not the Book of Funerals Gavin! She’s alive not dead!” He shouted.

The servant returned. News that Erosa was still alive.

“How was she? Her wings I mean? How did she look? Healthy? Pale? Deathly pale?” Thanatos pressed.

The servant answered in a hiss that Erosa looked normal. Her wings were pink and she was glowing.

Thanatos paced in his office, relieved that she still had time.

“I need to find a way for her to stay without killing her.” He straightened up. He felt himself spiralling out of control. A feeling he had not yet experienced until now. It frightened him.

His mother rushed to his side.

“We’ll find a way. In the meantime go and see her.” Persephone took her son’s face in her hands and looked him straight in the eyes.

“I will help you find a way.” She told him.

Thanatos nodded and took a deep breath. That was the most hectic time of his life. One he did not wish to repeat again.

“Now, pull yourself together. You’ve been crazy this past hour. Calm down, and go check on her yourself. She’s fine.” his mother continued.

He nodded and stood up straight. Fixing his tie, he walked over to the table and started picking up the pile of books strewn about.

“Leave them, they’ll sort themselves.” Persephone walked over to the door and held it open for him.

Thanatos sighed and felt himself walk forward, like in a dream. He drifted out the office, down the hallway, down the staircase and into the hallway where she stayed.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

The Water Lily

I was given a prompt and now I give you another side to our world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.