Futurism logo

Arrows and Roses - Chapter 19

“I’m thinking of doing something so crazy it’s going to blow her mind.” - Thanatos.

By The Water LilyPublished 4 years ago 12 min read
Like

Thanatos pondered over what his mother had said. Maybe the idea would work. Maybe it wouldn’t. But you will never find out unless you tried. He ended up pacing in his bedroom while his brother sprawled lazily across his armchair.

“It’s a good idea. Better than the one Julian suggested.” Hypnos started, interrupting his thoughts.

“But will it work. These things can backfire.” Thanatos stopped and stared into the flames.

“Sure. if worse comes to worse, we can always go back to Julian’s plan.” Hypnos shrugged and summoned an apple.

“I don’t really like Julian’s plan. It’s weird and twisted.” Thanatos sat on the chest in front of his bed.

“Julian is weird and twisted. What did you expect?”

“I don’t know. Romance? Something simple?” He looked at his brother on the chair and had a thought.

“How would you react if someone proposed marriage to you?” He asked suddenly.

Hypnos choked and looked at his brother startled.

“I’ll tell you what I wouldn’t be. Happy. If you approach her parents without her permission, she’ll get angry.” Hypnos replied.

“No that sounds more like Amora-”

“-Hey!”

“Maybe I should go visit her. Propose to her myself.” Thanatos moved to get his coat and his brother sat up in curiosity.

“Than… what are you thinking?” Hypnos looked at his brother with uncertainty.

“I’m thinking of doing something so crazy it’s going to blow her mind.” Was the only answer he heard.

Thanatos summoned some more flowers from his mother’s garden knowing she wouldn’t mind if it was for Erosa.

He adjusted his tie and waist-coat before knocking on the temple doors.

It swung wide open and Thanatos stood there awestruck.

The temple was inlaid with gold and, the ceiling was high and open, allowing cupids and doves to fly in and out. The structure was strong and the design was elegant. Every bannister, every beam, painted with intricate golden leaves.

In the centre of the room, was a fountain with a large marble statue featuring three women. One in her old age, another one in her prime, and another one as a young girl. It occurred to Thanatos that this was the statue that took a hundred cupids to move from the earth. It was the statue of Aphrodite in three stages of her life.

It was said that the statue was created in her exact likeness and because of that mortal men could not resist her beauty.

Many were driven to madness by the statue. Other’s never left it’s side, dying of thirst and starvation. After years of pleading from the mortal women, Eros removed the statue and brought it into clouds where they built a temple around it. There it was safe from human eyes, and provided inspiration to his cupids.

Thanatos looked at the statue. She certainly was very beautiful regardless of her age. But he couldn’t see why it would have that effect on man. Maybe it was because he was already an immortal.

He didn’t wait for long until one of the messengers invited him.

He looked at the pearlescent dove as it hovered flew around him until he held out his hand.

“Greetings Prince Thanatos. We were not expecting your arrival. Do you have business with Lord Eros again?” It asked as it settled on his outstretched finger.

Thanatos shook his head. “No, I’m here for his daughter.”

Some of the cupids around him froze and their chatter hushed.

“Oh, Amora is not here at the moment, but we can leave a message.” The dove replied.

“Oh, no his other daughter. Erosa.” Thanatos corrected.

He tried to ignore the whisperings around him but it was difficult when in a temple of brightness he was the only spot of black to be seen. Every other cupid was wearing the signature shade of pink, their small fluffy wings poked out the back.

Thanatos did a double take. Their wings were small in comparison to Erosa and Amora’s. Their wings were large, quite literally the size of the women themselves, but these other cupids were half the size.

He made a mental note to ask about that later.

“Erosa is upstairs with a visitor, she won’t be long. Just head up those stairs and take the elevator up to the fifth floor. Her office is at the very end of the hallway.”

“You have an elevator?” He asked.

“Well, we had to put one in after the other gods complained that they had no way to get to the main office. We would have preferred to keep it that way, but Her Ladyship caved and had her husband build one.”

“Did Hephaestus build this temple?” Thanatos looked around at all the intricate art that decorated every space.

“No, but he overlooked the construction. His wife, Her ladyship put in a few words about the craftsmanship though.” The dove gave a small bow with their head before leaving Thanatos alone in the foyer. He followed the instructions and was surprised to see that they did indeed have an elevator.

After an awkward minute of terrible elevator music he exited and followed the end of the hall to where Erosa’s office was.

He didn’t knock for the door was wide open.

He stepped through and found himself in a large open room, that had a balcony for easy access. The walls were covered in books, a large desk waited in the middle of the room but the seat was empty. He looked around and could only see books. Shelves filled with books. He moved over to one of the walls and pulled out a random book.

‘A love story, naturally.’ he thought to himself. He reshelved it and went over to the other side. More romantic novels. Some of them were mixed in with different genres. But they all seemed to solely focused on romance. He smiled to himself as he thought about Erosa reading all these books. He could imagine her hiding behind a stack of books in a corner, off in fairyland or wherever the adventure had taken her. He looked to window and spotted her on the balcony with the visitor.

He edged near the window, where the shadows were. He melted into the shadow, disappearing from view as he eavesdropped.

“Are you doing anything on Wednesday?” I blurted.

The question just slipped out which surprised me. Apollo looks just as shocked.

“This Wednesday? No i don't think so.” He shook his head and I felt my heart plummet, I was hoping he’d say no. But he was the one I was fated to be with. Technically I should be excited. So why wasn’t I excited?

I nodded and stood awkwardly to the side.

“Would you like to go somewhere with me?” I tried to manage a smile but I felt so weird it was almost uncomfortable. But I had to try. For my parents sake. They wanted me to be with someone. So the fated one I will be with.

“Sure. Where would you like to go?” He turned his head to the side and grinned at me. His brilliant white teeth would’ve been blinding had I not been immortal.

“I like going to the beach. I find that’s a good place to do some thinking.” I rocked back and forth on my heel. I was starting to get a little restless.

“Okay, I’ll bring the food if you bring the beach umbrella.” His grin widened. We had gone plenty of times, by ourselves. This time should be no different. Well, I guess, this time, I am attempting to woo him.

“Done deal.” I smiled and we both turned back to the clouds.

We looked down over the balcony to the world below and I let out a wistful sigh. The view was amazing but it was even better at night, no offense to Apollo. As glorious as the day can be, I love the stars. There’s just something about the coolness of the night and the light of the moon that is just simply romantic.

“Well, I need to get going. The sun needs to rise somewhere else in this world.” Apollo cracked his knuckles and shot a lopsided grin at me.

I couldn’t help the eye roll.

“You still do that? I thought you were taking taking turns.” I said teasingly.

“We were, but the other guy is sick. So I’m filling in.” He lifted a shoulder before lifting his hand.

“Until Wednesday.” He said. I nodded and watched him disappear in his usual shower of gold. He always did like a good exit.

“He certainly loves his shower of gold.” A deep voice said out of nowhere. I whirled around and in the shadow or my curtain a figure emerged from darkness.

Thanatos strode forward, like a man with a purpose. He held out a bouquet of what I could only assume was more exotic flowers from Persephone’s garden. They had a pleasant aroma of pears and melons which was strange because they were bright purple, the petals were in the shape of a star with beautiful golden anthers emerging from the middle. It was incredibly exquisite.

“Thanatos! Another unexpected visit, I should start being prepared for your drop ins.” I managed a smile as best as I could. I seemed to be having a lot of trouble smiling lately. I took the flowers from him and held them up to my nose.

I immediately felt a pang in my chest as my heart tore into two. I should remain faithful to Apollo but my heart yearned for Thanatos. I'm beginning to get frustrated with this prophecy.

Sighing I placed the flowers on my table. If only I could just put my feelings aside. Thanatos needed help and so, I will help him, like a good little cupid...

I turned back around and I felt my heart jump in my throat.

Thanatos was down on one knee and holding out a ring.

"Goddess of Eternal Love, I am the god of death and I have chosen you to be my bride."

Judging by her reaction, Thanatos could tell that she was a little more than shocked. Although, it did sound a lot better in his head. Perhaps he should try again, maybe she didn't hear him correctly. Did he mumble? He didn't think he did.

"Erosa… daughter of Eros, Lord of Love. I ask that you accept my hand in marriage." He tried again.

He waited a few more heart beats before he heard a reply.

"Amora," She said softly.

Thanatos looked up and saw her eyes shining. "I'm sorry, I don't understand." He said.

"Amora, daughter of Eros. You said my name instead." She corrected. She smiled at him.

'damnit.' She completely misread him. Thanatos did not think this through. He came with the idea to completely blow her mind. But instead he only just confused himself. 'well done you idiot' he thought to himself.

"It's a very good start but it's a little soon to be asking for marriage don't you think?" She stepped forward and helped him to his feet, Thanatos too stunned for words, let her.

'She was meant to be the one shocked. Not me.' He thought to himself. He cursed inwardly.

Unable to think of anything to say he looked down at the ring in the box. He thought she would like it, but she didn't even properly see it.

He sighed and pocketed it before turning back to Erosa.

"I have been alone for quite some time now, my parents are urging me to marry, otherwise they will choose for me." He lied.

Erosa's eyes widened in surprise. "An arranged marriage? Those work when both parties haven't promised themselves to someone else. But now we have a time limit. Love should never be rushed." She tapped her finger on her chin.

"Yes, I believe they have a long list of suitable goddesses, if I do not have anyone by my side by the end of this month." He said. It was only a half truth, his parents did want him to marry, but they didn't need him marrying within a month.

She didn't look alarmed by this news.

"You're not worried about having enough time?" He asked. Erosa frowned and shook her head.

"I'm use to having a deadline. I'm sure I can manage." She said with a reassuring smile. Thanatos looked at her with worry. She seemed really calm.

I am not calm. I am most definitely not calm. I'm freaking out. I've got a month and then his parents force him to marry.

On the other hand. I shouldn't worry, perhaps I can help his parents find a good match for him. It'll break my heart. But i'm also meant for Apollo. So many thoughts, so many conflicting thoughts.

I inhaled deeply, hoping to clear my mind but with the new information on Thanato's relationship status, all the gears in my head were working overtime. Maybe I should talk to Amora, perhaps speed up the process. I don't normally push someone to consider another but I'm pretty sure this is an emergency. Argh why did this get more difficult. If I speak to her and she rejects him he'll be stuck in an arranged marriage forever.

I went and sat behind my desk and looked at him, wondering what my sister would like about him.

He looked back at me, worried.

"I'm sorry. I know this must be stressful." His shoulders dropped a little and he looked at the floor.

"no, i'm just wondering how to get my sister to see you." I hated the words the instant they left my mouth. But my fate was tied to Apollo. I need to remember that. I have to stay faithful to my fate.

Thanatos was in my charge, so I must ensure his happiness. If he ends up in marriage where neither party is happy, I won't have done my job as goddess of long lasting love and Thanatos would suffer for it.

The thought of him being with woman undeserving of him made my blood run cold. Surely, I can buy him more time. Surely, I can buy myself more time. I think I can do this. I will do this. Even if it hurts me.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

The Water Lily

I was given a prompt and now I give you another side to our world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.