Futurism logo

Arrows and Roses - Chapter 14

I felt warm strong arms go around me before his voice spoke close in my ear.“Do you want to leave?” he whispered.

By The Water LilyPublished 5 years ago 10 min read
Like

And so Thanatos found himself the next day waiting outside the movie theatre with her. Her brothers had already assured him that they would be in the cinema with him and all he needed to do was watch for their cues.

She chose the movie, which to his surprise was one of horror, and so they ended up sitting incredibly close.

As the movie started, in the corner of his eye, he saw Erosa snuggle in closer, and he couldn’t help but smile.

Throughout the movie, whenever a scary part came on, Erosa would hide behind her hands, even squealing at the climax.

When Thanatos looked around he spotted Julian and Klaus in the corner, signaling to him to put his arm around Erosa.

He sent up a silent ‘thank you’ that it was dark because he could feel his cheeks burning with embarrassment.

Then he felt something hit the back of his head and when he turned, Julian and Klaus were closer, furiously signaling him to cuddle. Klaus was pretending to yawn, raising his arm and wrapping it around Julian, who batted his eyelashes and leaned into Klaus.

Thanatos mouthed that he couldn’t, becoming slightly more nervous by the second at the cupids’ encouragement.

Giving in, he waited for an opportunity to present itself and took a chance when it finally did. Erosa squealed again and covered his eyes. She hid her face in his shoulder and Thanatos nervously wrapped his arms around her.

I was on a date with Thanatos. I had been freaking out about it all day and now here I am on a date, with Thanatos. I know I was meant to be teaching him how to date, but he did everything naturally. I did ask him if he'd done this before, and he shook his head. His eyes sparkled when he turned to me after paying for food and tickets as he asked me, "Am I doing well so far?"

I smiled and nodded. "You didn't have to pay for my tickets and food though. A lot of women these days prefer to take care of themselves," I explained.

He pursed his lips as he thought about this. "Yes, but as a gentleman, I must prove that I am capable of looking after you," he replied. I grinned at his statement and felt both envious of the girl and proud of him at the same time.

Now I was sitting next to him, in a dark theatre, with very few people.

I felt warm strong arms go around me before his voice spoke close to in my ear.

“Do you want to leave?” he whispered. No of course not! Not when you're holding me like this!

I tried to ignore the screams of terror from the speakers overhead so I focused on the soothing presence beside me.

I shook my head at his question. “No, I’m alright, I’ll just keep my eyes closed,” I replied.

I heard him chuckle beside me.

“But if your eyes are closed, how will you watch the movie?” he whispered teasingly.

I peeked up at him to see his eyes laughing at me.

“I’ll watch by listening,” I hid my face in my hands again as I felt him laugh quietly.

“Well, what if I warn when the scary parts come on?” he suggested.

I froze. I turned to him, squinting in the darkness. “You’ve seen this movie before, haven’t you?” I said accusingly. He smiled and pulled me closer.

“No, I just watched the trailers and extended previews.” I felt him nuzzle my head, which drew a giggle out of me.

“Fine, promise you’ll warn me though.” I held up my pinky and he looked at me before taking it with his own.

I settled back into the crook of his shoulder and proceeded to watch the screen. As promised, he warned me when the scary parts came and even covered my eyes with his free hand. But most of the time he pulled me close into his own body, hiding my face in his chest.

Thanatos was feeling more confident by the end of it with the encouragement he received from her brothers. Throughout the movie, they kept giving him enthusiastic thumbs up and they disappeared when the credits rolled around.

As the two of them walked out of the movie, he was surprised to see Erosa in such good spirits after such a horrid movie. She was even laughing at the unrealistic effects of the gory scenes.

“I don’t understand something, could you please explain it to me Erosa?” he frowned as he pondered.

“Why do you watch these movies when it only makes you uncomfortable.” he asked.

Erosa turned to look at him with a grin.

“It gets the heart pumping I guess. And I honestly thought you would like it.” She bit her lip and gave a shy smile. He felt his heart do a backflip and he resisted the urge to rub his chest at the unexpected feeling.

She looked down at her stomach before beaming at him. “I’m feeling a little peckish. You up for a late-night snack?” She looked at him with hopeful eyes and he couldn’t help himself.

“Sure thing, I know a place that opens late.” He gestured to a cafe on the corner, lit up with fairy lights and lanterns. As they got closer, Erosa inhaled deeply.

“Mmm, coffee…” she moaned.

In his mind, he pumped his fist in triumph, allowing a satisfied smirk to come through.

The two of us spent the rest of the evening drinking good coffee and snacking on delicious home-baked pastries, just happily enjoying each other’s company, both of us forgetting the purpose of the evening in the first place.

Thanatos was a gentleman to the very end. He walked me to the front door and gave a slight bow with a goodbye. Then I remembered.

“Than?” my voice sounding small and timid.

He turned around, eyebrows raised.

“I’m sure that she would enjoy the date if you do exactly what you did tonight.” I gave my best smile of encouragement hoping it wouldn’t give away anything but that.

“Well, did you enjoy it?” he asked me.

I gave a nervous laugh.

“Yes, I enjoyed it. So I’m sure she will too,” I assured him.

He nodded, happy with this answer. “I’m glad.” He turned to leave mumbling something under his breath so quietly, I almost missed it. “Goodnight Erosa. Sweet dreams.”

I closed the door behind me gently. When I was sure he was gone, I slid down to the floor, letting out a forlorn sigh. Forlorn… That’s what this is. I smiled at the memory of his arms around, the way they tensed whenever he pulled me close.

I was thankful that it was dark, otherwise he would’ve seen me smiling like a silly goose whenever a scary part came on. The truth was, I wasn’t scared. I had seen countless scary movies on cute mortal dates. I loved watching the girls scream and the boys feeling heroic when their dates hid in their arms.

But then the reality crept in and the smile faded from my face. He liked someone else. The pain returned and I gripped my dress near my chest as if it would reduce the feeling.

Thanatos let out a groan as he buried his face in his hands. The date was fine, but she thought he was practicing for a real date. He let out a string of curses before banging his head against his desk just as the doors opened and his parents walked in.

He immediately jumped to his feet and bowed more deeply than required.

“Thanatos,” Hades greeted. Persephone smiled at him and he tried to return it.

All three of them sat down and waited in silence for the other to talk. When neither spoke up, they all jumped when Hypnos materialized in the middle of the room.

“Oh my god, this was more awkward than when Zeus was put on trial for the goat incident.” He leaned against his brother’s desk and grinned at everyone.

“Why is it, when something happens, it always involves a goat?” Thanatos frowned at his brother, genuinely confused as to why this particular species of animal always found themselves in the middle of every incident involving the gods.

“I don’t know. I’d ask the Satyrs but they’re a little touchy about their cousins.” Hypnos pursed his lips and pondered over this newfound development. He would ask his Satyr friend later if he was in a good mood.

“Never mind that. Sweetheart. How did your date go?” Persephone shifted forward in her seat as she awaited her son’s answer. Her face was practically glowing with her godliness at the excitement.

“It was great. She loved it,” Thanatos leaned back in his seat as he remembered the feel of her warm body in his arms.

“Perfect. So when’s the wedding?” Hades crossed his hands over his lap and relaxed.

“Lord Hades, I believe it is still too early to determine if there is going to be a wedding,” Thanatos answered.

“Yes, agreed. You are impatient husband—” Persephone shot Hades a look who held his hands up in question. “Thanatos needs to convince her that he would make the ideal husband.” She looked back at her son who smiled in appreciation.

“I am not impatient. I would just like to see one of my children marry," Hades pouted defensively.

Thanatos warmed at the sound of being called a son. It wasn’t often, and when it happened, it always made him feel quite happy.

“And you will. Just possibly not in this century,” Hypnos snorted.

Persephone glared at her other son. “Don’t be rude Hypnos. After Thanatos weds, you’re next.” She wagged a finger at him and he paled at the statement.

“Excuse me! When did I agree to this?” Hypnos paled and stared at their mother in wide-eyed shock.

“Oh please. Like you haven’t been eyeing that Cupid girl for a while now.” Persephone grinned like Cheshire cat and Hypnos cleared his throat, turning back around to face his brother.

“Brother… Take your time courting Erosa,” he leaned in closer to whisper. “Please,” his eyes pleading.

“At this rate, it really might take me a century to court her,” Thanatos let his head fall back on the armchair as he let out a frustrated breath.

“Why? I thought the date went swimmingly…” Hades brows pulled together as he tried to think if he had missed something.

“No it went well, it went fantastic actually. It’s just that…” Thanatos let his voice trailed off as he tried to think of how to tell his family.

His mother sat forward in anxiousness, trying to determine if this was good news or bad news.

“She’s hesitant in dating me. She gets this distant look in her eyes sometimes. And when the date finished she had this sad expression, she thought she hid it, but I saw it… I felt it.” Thanatos wanted to reach out to her, but he didn’t want to scare her by telling her that his reaper’s powers allowed him to feel the pain of someone else.

“She’s in pain? I thought Erosa wasn’t with anyone.” Hypnos joined his father by the guest lounge and mimicked his frown.

“She wasn’t. But her siblings told me that her last relationship didn’t end well and I guess that’s why she’s hesitant. It may take a while to convince her.” Thanatos shot his mother an apologetic look which she shrugged off.

“Then that’s fine son. Women who have been through a lot tend to build their walls much higher. It’s best you don’t push her,” she advised.

He nodded in understanding. “What should I do next? Should I wait for a response or should I ask her out again?” he asked. Naturally, his father remained silent at his wife’s warning expression and it was Hypnos who answered.

“I think you should wait, she might not say anything, but don’t you have something planned with Apollo tomorrow night?” he reminded. Thanatos nodded.

“Yes, he invited me out, with Julian. We’re going to have a boys' night. You’re welcome to join us.” He gave his brother a halfhearted smile and Hypnos nodded.

“Yes, I’m in. We can talk about it with the boys and see if there’s anything that we might’ve missed.” He rubbed his hands together. He grinned at his parents who looked at him with bemused expressions. “I love a boys' night.”

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

The Water Lily

I was given a prompt and now I give you another side to our world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.