Futurism logo

Apple U.S. lawsuit: Apple and Apple users under attack

The U.S. government has too much free time in its hands

By Susan FourtanéPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1
Apple’s iPhone: iPhone: The King of the smartphones — Concept created by Susan Fourtané using Ideogram.ai

The United States of America has filed an antitrust lawsuit against one of its most prodigious children: Apple. The U.S. is accusing the tech company of monopolising the smartphone market and thus crushing competition. I just can’t get my head around this utterly ridiculous statement. But then again, that’s the Biden administration for you all, right?

Allegedly, the U.S. government accuses the Cupertino-based company of maintaining a “broad, sustained, and illegal” monopoly over the smartphone market. Illegal? This must be a joke.

The Department of Justice (DOJ) accuses Apple of iPhone “monopoly power.” The DOJ and 16 state and district attorneys general have launched a major lawsuit against one of the country’s best globally recognised tech companies accusing it of harming consumers by limiting competition. You must be kidding me.

And it gets even more ridiculous. Reportedly, the DOJ’s problem is that only apps designed specifically for iPhones can be downloaded through the AppStore. Well, that’s why we like Apple to begin with.

That’s why we own Apple products, love the Apple ecosystem, and trust the Apple products we use.

That’s a business model. And now, all of a sudden, the old guys from the Biden administration think that’s a business model they don’t like and want to crash? Perhaps Apple has not given them enough money to support their lifestyle? I find the whole thing utterly ridiculous.

So the Biden administration says that Apple is setting its own rules. Isn’t that what you do in your own company? According to the complaint, Apple wields these rules as a sword to block apps that would “erode” its monopoly power. Not really.

Apple has a gated ecosystem and thanks to this is why users can work with our Apple devices the way we do. Apple is not forcing anyone to stay locked in the ecosystem. We stay because we want to stay. It’s a choice.

It’s my right as a consumer to choose where I want to put my money. It’s not the government’s business to try to control how we use technology.

Thank goodness I don’t live in the U.S.. And this brings me to the point that the U.S. government has zero jurisdiction and rights to tell me what products I should buy.

They have no right to force people to move away from buying and using Apple products when we, the consumers, don’t want to move away or have the Apple ecosystem infected. Yes, infected. Because Apple would lose control and we would lose the fundamentals of why we love the Apple ecosystems: It simply works and works across devices!

A member of the Biden administration angry at the iPhone, a technology he does not understand — Concept created by Susan Fourtané using Ideogram.ai

Ask users what they want

What about asking consumers what we want? We should be talking about freedom of choice. It’s my choice to buy and use Apple products. I love the Apple ecosystem. It makes my work easy. It makes my life easy. It’s my choice to stay in the Apple ecosystem.

No one is forcing me and I am definitely not interested in replacing or merging with anything else. I don’t want my Apple ecosystem infected, causing me problems.

According to the complaint, over many years, Apple has repeatedly responded to competitive threats by making it harder or more expensive for its users and developers to leave by making it more attractive for them to stay.

Well, it means that for the DOJ, a company that is constantly innovating and improving its products and services to keep its customers happy is a bad thing. Right.

The dangers that this lawsuit creates to businesses and consumers are more than what you think. Freedom of choice is under attack. Is the U.S. government trying to emulate a communist regime by taking control of the privately owned companies? Or is it just that they want to settle this lawsuit by forcing Apple to pay the government a few million dollars?

I chose Apple. I choose to stay in the Apple ecosystem. It’s my right to choose what I want and what works for me.

Where do you stand? Let me know in the comments below.

~~~~~~~

You might also like reading:

techopinion
1

About the Creator

Susan Fourtané

Susan Fourtané is a Science and Technology Journalist, a professional writer with 18 years experience writing for global media and industry publications. She's a member of the ABSW, WFSJ, Society of Authors, and London Press Club.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll30 days ago

    Thank you for writing about these topic. They are an eye opening. 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.