Futurism logo

Anime to Watch: Devilman Crybaby

More like, “Made me cry like a baby”

By SamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

This is an interesting anime recommendation. I say interesting because I can say for certain that this one is not for everybody. There's tons of violence and nudity going on in this show, so it's definitely for mature audiences only. I’m no stranger to violent anime, but I have to admit sometimes the nudity was a little much for me. It might make some viewers uncomfortable, so don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Have I scared you away yet? Disclaimers aside, I have to say that Devilman Crybaby is an awesome anime. I wasn't sure I'd like it when I started, but I ended up loving. The more I think about it, the more I appreciate it. It hits emotionally in the right spots, it’s cool to look at, and it’ll leave your jaw on the floor. As per usual, no spoilers here. The basic plot revolves around Akira and Ryo, two childhood friends now investigating the rise of demons in society. However, Akira finds himself quickly possessed by a demon in the process The catch is that Akira is able to control his demon, and uses his newfound powers to fight the demons and protect humanity. From there, the way the plot descends into darker and darker events that have to be seen to be believed.

Where do I start with this show? For me, it’s the tone that totally sets it apart. I can’t find another show to even compare this to. It’s not afraid to go to some twisted places at a breakneck speed, and confront some really awful things without flinching. Again, at times it can be gratuitous of course, but I at least admire that the show has a style and it sticks to it.

A whole chunk of this story also revolves around Akira and Ryo. The two friends have an amazing dynamic. They’re opposites: Akira cares more for others than himself, crying for others who are suffering. Ryo is cold and calculated, never letting his emotions rule what he does. They get along, they have conflicts, they’re all over the map. It feels like a real, complex relationship that only gets more complex as the story goes on. I enjoyed watching how they changed throughout the ten episodes, and it was some of the most interesting relationship drama I’ve seen in anime. Other characters are also exciting to watch, such as Miki, the kindest soul in the world, so the cast is very well rounded.

So, let’s get into the animation. This one is interesting. Something to note is that this is from the same studio that recently made Japan Sinks, so the style is a little similar. However, Devilman Crybaby is a little more, how do I say…insane. The colors are vibrant and bright, the character motions and expressions are exaggerated to unbelievable proportions at times, and it’s entirely unique. The running in particular for those infected by demons is an absolute meme.

However, the exaggerated style of it makes the violence seem a little more palatable. Of course there are times when it’s still hard to watch, but the blood is different colors, the creatures are inhuman, and it’s very easy to know this is a cartoon. I liked the style a lot. It emphasized just how brutal the demonic violence can be without making the whole thing a total cringe-fest. It’s a style you won’t see anywhere else, so I definitely recommend you watch at least part of it.

The last thing that impressed me that I wanted to touch on was the music. From the moment the opening started I was ready for the club. This show uses a mix of techno/electronic club beats and throws it together with everything from the piano to a choir. The songs are catchy, energetic, and emotional. I’ve been listening to the soundtrack on repeat for the past week. Pro tip: add “Devilman No Uta” to your playlist immediately.

While Devilman Crybaby is a very mature and graphic watch, it’s so well done and unapologetic that I really respect it. It put me through every emotion imaginable, and used so many great images and colors to make me think about symbolism and meanings, etc. I like a show that makes me think a little while I’m having fun. If you think you’ve got the stomach for it, give Devilman Crybaby a go.

anime
1

About the Creator

Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sam is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.