Futurism logo

'Alita: Battle Angel' Is a Flawed, Yet Massively Entertaining Film with Incredible Action

No Spoilers!

By Jonathan SimPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Many months ago, I tried to attend a screening for two upcoming movies: One was Dark Phoenix, and the other was Alita: Battle Angel. I showed up early, but they filled up and I waited on line for an hour and a half for nothing.

So, today, I had to join the rest of you sorry peasants, PAYING to see a movie AFTER it was released. I felt disgusting breathing the same oxygen as you people.

I went to see this movie in IMAX 3D because I heard it would be breathtaking like that. I sat my fat ass down and I watched this movie. And now, here is my review.

Here we go!

Alita: Battle Angel is a cyberpunk action film written by James Cameron and Laeta Kalogridis and directed by Robert Rodriguez. The film is based on Yukito Kishiro's manga series, Gunnm.

The film stars Rosa Salazar as Alita, a cyborg who gets stitched up by Dr. Dyson Ido (Christoph Waltz), as she tries to learn about her past and soon discovers her incredible fighting ability.

Overall, I'd say this was a good movie. It's not a perfect film by any means because I did have a few problems with it, but I found this movie to be massively entertaining.

This film has some incredible CGI. It blends animation perfectly with live-action and it was a marvel to watch. The visual effects in this movie are worth the price of a ticket alone. This film had some incredible cinematography and visuals.

I can talk all day about how great this film looks, so I'm gonna cut this down. I just want to say this movie's world looks beautiful and it's an incredibly directed movie as well.

The action sequences were insane. My jaw was on the floor from how incredibly well-choreographed and how entertaining they all were. It wasn't just the fight scenes, either. There are some motor ball sequences in this movie that were just ridiculously fun to watch.

This movie also has some very strong performances. Salazar was the standout in the film. She put so much life into this mo-cap character, and she was terrific in both the dramatic scenes and the fight scenes.

All of the CGI characters in the film looked great, and it was really interesting to see Alita learn so much about herself and the world around her. I believe fans of the original manga series will enjoy this film a lot.

However, this film's issues generally lie with its story. Overall, I was invested in the story, but I think this film had some problems with pacing throughout and the third act of this movie just seemed a bit sloppily constructed.

The final 30 minutes of the movie had entertaining parts, but I just thought it was handled in a strange way. I don't want to spoil anything, but I just thought the ending is where the movie fell a little bit flat.

Also, the villain in this movie, Nova, wasn't a very scary presence. The villains that actually interact with the characters in the film are Nova's minions, and Nova himself doesn't actually feel like a very big threat as a result.

You can also tell that this movie is setting up a sequel. I know that they are planning to give Nova a bigger role in the sequel, kind of like how Thanos was in a few MCU movies before becoming the main villain in Infinity War, but I just felt like he could have been stronger in this film.

But overall, I'd say this is a well-directed movie with some incredible action sequences, a very strong, likable protagonist, and great performances. It just has a few problems with the narrative and the villain.

The first chance you get, you should watch this movie in IMAX 3D. The sound, the screen, and everything is worth the price for this movie.

I'm gonna give 'Alita: Battle Angel' an 8.6 out of 10.

Guys, thank you so much for reading, and I will see you guys soon with a new article. I plan to have reviews out for Fighting with My Family, How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, Happy Death Day 2U, and if I have time, Isn't It Romantic.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Jonathan Sim

Film critic. Lover of Pixar, Harry Potter, Star Wars, Marvel, DC, Back to the Future, and Lord of the Rings.

For business inquiries: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.