Futurism logo

After Movie Series

How I feel about the series.

By Kimmiekins4Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you are a fan of One Direction, specifically Harry Styles, than you've probably known of the After series since it was a fan fiction on Wattpad. A friend of mine told me about the fanfiction being turned into a movie a few years before the movie came out. I never got a chance to read the story in its original version on Wattpad, but I wish I had. I didn't pay much attention to anything about the series until the first movie came out on Netflix in 2019.

First and for most I want to say that I love Anna Todd and her writing. I really enjoyed reading the book series and found that I related so much to the love story between Tessa and Hardin. When I watched the first film after reading the books, it felt like night and day. Back then I was pretty upset that the movie was so different from the book, but recently I've really began to apperciate the differences and have fallen in love with the movies for what they are.

With that being said there still are a few things that upset me about the movies, and wish could be different. One major difference is the drastic change from the first movie to the second movie. I know the first one was geared more toward a young audience so they toned it down. But they changed the reason of the bet completely, and I felt that was a huge part of the story. When I rewatched "After we Collided" Molly asks Tessa if she feels dumb for getting back with Hardin after he had sex with her for a bet which was in the original story, but not how they ended the first movie. If you've read the book then it made since, but if you've only seen the movies it may have caught you by surprise.

Next was the sex scenes in "After we Collided." I found some of them incredibly awkward. Nothing to do with the actors, I know this was their first time doing these type of scenes. I know for a fact I could never do anything like that so respect to them. I guess some of it could be pure shock as well, since the first movie was more on the innocent side. I watched an interview with Hero (who plays Hardin Scott) and he said on the third movie they had an initimacy coordinator.

Once I learned that it made since why "After we Fell" felt so different, and has now become my favorite movie of the series thus far. The sex scenes felt more put together, more natural, and more comfortable for the actors. I can also see that the actors are coming into their characters, and becoming more comfortable in their roles.

I am also curious how they are going to play out the storyline with Trevor. In the book Tessa was actually talking to Zed, and they had developed a sort of relationship. In the movie they had Trevor take over this roll, so I am wondering if Hardin is going to turn to Trevor for advice on Tessa or if they will write out the whole thing all together. Truthfully the book After We Fell was extremely long, so while the movie did end on a cliffhanger theres so many major details left out. I just wonder what details will choose to include in the final film. I do hope they choose to show Hardin separating from Tessa so he can better himself. I loved that was the route the story took, because its such a powerful message for us in real life as well.

Lastly would be all the actor changes for characters. While I know this can have a lot to do with scheduling conflict, health issue, or just sequels in general, but I feel like this was the most character changes I've seen within in movie series. I had already heard about the change for Landon, and his departure after the second movie. The one that really caught me off gaurd and I wasn't expecting was Vance. I really thought Charlie Weber was the perfect Christian Vance, especially considering we find out he is truly Hardins father in "After We Fell." But Stephen Moyer did a great job in his place.

All in all I love the movie series. I realize that these last two films were done during that pandemic and could have something to do all the chaos. I just really feel for Anna as she worked so hard on this series, and I just there could have been more of a consistency on the film making process to portray these stories. What are you thoughts of the series? Do you like it the way that it is, or do you wish things could have been different?

literature
Like

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.