Futurism logo

Across Time

A Futuristic Love Story

By J.M. PowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Across Time
Photo by FLY:D on Unsplash

The year is 3246. The sunrise has just woken me. As I rise up in bed I look out at it. It’s such a masterpiece. From this angle, it looks like I am sitting on top of the ocean watching it because my bedroom in on the fifth floor deck area built out onto the first hundred feet of the ocean, similar to a pier. Much of the home is safely on shore adjacent to the pier. The entire wall is extremely thick and shatterproof, just like every bit of the outer walls of my home. Nobody can see inside because it is a two-way though. It looks like a mirror when standing outside.

My media drone about the size of a baseball comes to life displaying a video projection in the air of the morning news. It’s about the weather at the moment. I don’t care so I tell it to fly to its port and turn off.

My eyes find their way back to the black folder over on my glass desk, like they have every morning this week. My wife wants a divorce. I’ve never heard of any couple getting a divorce. That’s how rare it is. Everyone knows love is to be given the utmost respect and value here in Hexshire. I am surprised it is even legal to get a divorce but the government is good to us. They care immensely about our freedom.

Reluctantly, I start to get ready for work. As I shower, I wish I could stay there. The ocean around me just on the other side of the wall embraces me and gives me comfort.

Since so much has changed, it gives me the desire to wear clothes and accessories I rarely wear. I search for the miniAssist band my mom gave me twenty years ago when I finished school. While rummaging through my boxes in my closet, I find a book wedged between two boxes. When I open it, an old thin paper of an article slips out onto the floor.

“Genius Has Built a Time Travel Device” is displayed across the top as the title. A picture of my wife holding the device is below it. I have never seen articles written on paper. All news stories are digital. As I examine the piece some more, I find the date at the top right corner.

October 21, 2023

Every cell in my body freezes. Could this explain why divorce matters little to her? If she is really from the past, maybe they did not take marriage seriously back then.

I give up looking for the miniAssist I was searching for and put my usual one on my wrist. Every resource one needs for living is stored on them. Money, Identification, Passport, Insurances, etc. It’s all password protected so no one else can access it. It displays a small digital projection above it when given a verbal demand of what one wants to view. Password entry pops up first and can be typed in on the projection keyboard.

I head straight for my flying pod to go visit my wife immediately. Coming across this news was too important to wait.

I arrived at her new place and went to knock on her door. All I could do was hold up the article I had found when she opened the door. Shock and then fear appeared in her eyes.

“Is it true? You are a genius from the past?” I demanded.

“Yes. I couldn’t tell you because the technology in this time could easily send me back since I’m an intruder here. I’m in danger back in my time period and so is the rest of the time space continuum. People have no self-control in my time. If I had stayed and given them the chance to steal this device from me, who knows how many hands it would fall into and where they would go and what they would do with it. I left to protect people of all time periods and to protect myself.”

“I don’t know how to describe how upset I am but, at the same time, I understand how it could seem really scary to tell me the truth. Does this have something to do with the divorce you decided you wanted?”

“Yes. I have established a plan to return with a new identity. I continue to feel too out of place here.”

“Then I will go with you. I believe I am strong enough to handle the changes.”

“You won’t be able to change your mind. Once there I have to destroy the device for everyone’s protection.”

“I will manage even if it gets really difficult. Nothing would be harder than living without you.”

Her eyes glowed and melted. I knew then that I should kiss her so I did with gentle passion. In our kiss I could sense she knew my decision was final and she began melting under my hands, giving herself over to me like she never had before.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.